List Of Indian States

India is the world's largest democracy with 1.2 billion people and a total land area of 3.2 croresq km representing one-sixth of the humanity.

Bounded by the Indian Ocean on the south, the Arabian Sea on the south-west, and the Bay of Bengal on the south-east, it shares land borders with Pakistan to the north-west;China, Nepal, and Bhutan to the north-east; and Burma (Myanmar) and Bangladesh to the east.

In the Indian Ocean, India is in the vicinity of Sri Lanka and the Maldives; in addition, India's Andaman and Nicobar Islands share a maritime border with Thailand and Indonesia.

Located in southern Asia, India is a democratic republic with a federal constitution and a parliamentary system consisting of 29 states and 7 union territories.

All states as well as the union territories of Puducherry and the National Capital Territory of Delhi, have elected legislatures and governments, both patterned on the Westminster model.

The remaining five union territories are directly ruled by the centre through appointed administrators.

» Read More

List of Indian Union Territories

Here is a List Of States and we provide about the Culture of Indian States, Economy, Education, Tourism Places, Festival Of the States and more.

Indian States

Assam, India


Andhra Pradesh, India

Andhra Pradesh

Telangana, India


Arunchal Pradesh, India

Arunachal Pradesh

Bihar, India


Chhattisgarh, India


Gujarat, India


Himachal Pradesh, India

Himachal Pradesh

Jharkhand, India


Kerala, India


Nagaland, India


Madhya Pradesh, India

Madhya Pradesh

Maharashtra, India


Manipur, India


Karnataka, India

karnataka palace

orissa, India


Punjab, India


Rajasthan, India


Sikkim, India


Tamil Nadu, India

Tamil Nadu

Uttarakhand, India


Uttarpradesh, India


Tripura, India


Jammu and Kashmir, India

Jammu & Kashmir

Meghalaya, India


Mizoram, India


West Bengal, India

West Bengal

Union Territories of India

Delhi, India

About Delhi

Lakshadweep, India


States formed under linguistic basis

In 1956, under the States Reorganisation Act, states were reorganised on a linguistic basis. Since then, their structure has remained largely unchanged. Each state or union territory is further divided into administrative districts.

The Constitution distributes the sovereign powers exercisable with respect to the territory of any state between the Union and that state.

Article 73 provides that the executive power of the Union shall extend to the matters with respect to which Parliament has power to make laws.

Article 162 similarly provides that the executive power of a state shall extend to the matters with respect to which the legislature of a state has power to make laws.

The Supreme Court has reiterated this balance of equation betweenthe Centre and states when it ruled in the Ramanaiah case that the executive power of the Union or of the state broadly speaking, is coextensive and coterminous with its respective legislative power.

India is a pluralistic, multilingual, and a multi-ethnic societywith Constitution according equal importance to all religions.

The second most populous country in the world is home to diverse species of flora and fauna with rich cultural heritage dating back to centuries before the advent of Christian era (BCE).

The subcontinent has been ruled by many different ethnic groups throughout its history, each instituting their own policies of administrative division in the region.

During the colonial period till 1947, the original administrative structure was mostly kept, and India was divided into provinces that were directly governed by the British and princely states which were nominally controlled by a local prince or raja loyalto the British Empire, who held de facto sovereignty over theprincely states.

Post-1956 states reorganisation

A number of new states and union territories have been created out of existing states since 1956.

Bombay state was split into the linguistic states of Gujarat andMaharashtra on 1 May 1960 by the Bombay Reorganisation Act.

Nagaland was made a state on 1 December 1963. The Punjab Reorganisation Act of 1966 divided the Punjab based onlinguistic lines. It created a new Hindi-speaking state of Haryana on 1 Novemberand transferred the northern districts of Punjab to Himachal Pradesh.

Further, Chandigarh, a union territory, was designated the shared capital of Punjab and Haryana. Statehood was conferred upon Himachal Pradesh on 25 January 1971; Manipur, Meghalaya and Tripura on 21 January 1972.

The Kingdom of Sikkim joined the Indian Union as a state on 26 April 1975. In 1987, Arunachal Pradesh and Mizoram became states on 20 February, followed by Goa on 30 May. While Goa's northern enclaves of Daman and Diu became a separate union territory.

In 2000 three new states were created -- Chhattisgarh (1 November2000) was created out of eastern Madhya Pradesh; Uttaranchal (9 November 2000), which was renamed Uttarakhand in 2007, was created out of the hilly regions of northwest Uttar Pradesh; and Jharkhand (15 November 2000) was created out of the southern districts of Bihar.

In 2014, the new state of Telangana was carved out from the North-Western regions of the state of Andhra Pradesh. Hyderabad became the joint capital of the two states for the period not exceeding 10 years.

What does India mean?

The name of the country is derived from the Indus River that flows across Ladakh and Pakistan. Even here, Indus originates from the OldPersian word 'Hindus' which has a Sanskrit root called'Sindhu'.

In fact, the Indus River is historically referred to as Sindhu River. The ancient Greeks referred to Indians as Indoi which translates as "the people of the Indus".

The geographical term Bharat which is recognised by the Constitution as an official name for the country, is used by many Indian languages in its variations.

The eponym of Bharat is King Bharata, the younger brother of Lord Rama. According to legend, he ruled the subcontinent with the sandals of Lord Rama as the latter was banished to live in forests before his eventual return to rule Ayodhya.

Hindustan was originally a Persian word that meant "Land of the Hindus". Prior to 1947, it referred to a region that encompassed northern India and Pakistan.

Sometimes, 'Hindustan' is occasionally used to denote India in its entirety.