Education In Tripura

Education of Tripura   The state has some premier educational institutes like Tripura University, ICFAI University, Agartala Government Medical College, Tripura Institute of Technology, National Institute of Technology, Tripura Institute of Technology and others.

   The department of education of the state is comprised of school education, higher education and social welfare and social education department. The state government introduced the free compulsory education policy for the students who are in the age group of 6 and 14 years.

   Education system of the state is divided into four stages. They are :

  • Classes 1 to 5 : Primary stage
  • Classes 6 to 8 : Middle stage
  • Classes 9 and 10 : Secondary stage
  • Classes 11 and 12 : Higher Secondary stage

   However, the state has less number of educational institutes compared to the population.

Tripura Schools

  • Bhavan's Tripura Vidya Mandir,
  • Holy Cross School (Agartala),
  • Khowai Government Higher Secondary School,
  • Netaji Subhash Vidyaniketan,
  • Ramakrishna Mission school,
  • Kendriya Vidyalaya

  are some of the prominent schools in the state.

   Tripura has the literacy rate of 87.8 % as per the figures of the census 2011.