Madhya Pradesh Elections 2015

Madhya Pradesh: BJP Wins Two Seats, Congress One

The ruling BJP won two seats and the Congress one Monday in by-elections in Madhya Pradesh. The BJP wrested one of the seats from the Congress while the Congress snatched one from the BJP.

Madhya Pradesh by-election News

Bharatiya Janata Party candidates emerged victorious in Aagar and Vijayraghavgarh assembly constituencies. The Congress won from Bahoriband.

In Vijayraghavgarh, BJP's Sanjay Pathak defeated Brajendra Mishra of the Congress by over 50,000 votes. Pathak was the outgoing Congress lawmaker and joined the BJP before the polls.

In Aagar, BJP's Gopal Parmar trounced Rajkumar Gore of the Congress by over 27,000 votes. Manohar Untwal vacated this seat after being elected to the Lok Sabha from Ujjain.

The Congress hit back in Bahoriband.

Its candidate Sourabh Singh defeated BJP's Pranav Pandey by over 7,000 votes. The seat fell vacant following the death of Pranav Pandey's father and legislator Prabhat Pandey.



 Madhya Pradesh Election map


BJP leader Sushma Swaraj, set to win from Vidisha in Madhya Pradesh, Friday attributed the thumping victory of the party in the Lok Sabha election to the hard work of the millions of BJP workers and the "able leadership of Narendra Modi".

Sushma Swaraj, who is said to be no Modi camp follower, in a tweet said: "This victory is the result of hard labour of millions of BJP 'karyakartas', blessings of (Rashtriya Swayamsewak) Sangh and able leadership of Narendra Modi."

The opposition Congress was in the second spot, leading in 74 seats. The Bahujan Samaj Party tally stood at five seats and others were six.

The BJP's prime ministerial candidate Narendra Modi was quick to hail Chief Minister Shivraj Singh Chouhan, who now gets to continue in office for a third consecutive term.

"Called Shivraj ji to congratulate him for BJP's wonderful performance in the Madhya Pradesh Parliament Elections!," tweeted Modi after the BJP headed to a thumping victory in Madhya Pradesh.

Chouhan, 53, was first appointed chief minister in 2005. Before that, the BJP's Uma Bharati became the chief minister in 2003 and after she quit, Babulal Gaur became the chief minister for a short while.

"The chief minister, Shivraj Singh Chouhan, is heading for the hat-trick in the state," said state BJP leader Narendra Singh Tomar.

The vote count started across 51 districts at 8 a.m. Postal ballots were counted first and half an hour later, the counting of ballots cast through the electronic voting machines (EVMs) began.

As many as 2,583 candidates battled it out in the election for which polling took place Nov 25.

The electoral battle was primarily between the ruling Bharatiya Janata Party and the Congress, with the BJP trouncing the latter.

As the results began to pour in, the BJP workers began celebrating across the sprawling state.

They fire crackers, beat drums, distributed sweets and waved their party flag, celebrating the poll success.

In the last assembly, the BJP had 143 members and the Congress 71. The voting percentage this time was 70 percent of the total electorate of 4,64,57,724.

Andhrapradesh Elections | Arunachalpradesh Elections | Assam Elections | Bihar Elections | Chattisgarh Elections | Delhi Elections | Goa Election News | Gujarat Election Results | Haryana Elections | Himachal Pradesh Elections | Jammu And Kashmir Elections | Jharkhand Elections | Karnataka Elections | Kerala Elections | Madhya Pradesh Elections | Maharashtra Elections | Manipur Elections | Meghalaya Elections | Mizoram Elections | Nagaland Elections | Orissa Elections | Pondicherry Elections | Punjab Elections | Rajasthan Elections | Sikkim Elections | Tamil Nadu Elections | Tripura Elections | Uttaranchal Elections | Uttarakhand Elections | U.P. Elections | West Bengal Elections | Election News

Madhya Pradesh Elections News

NGT asks minister to reply on flouting green norms during Ujjain Kumbh

    Updated On : Jul 22,2016   3:56 pm
New Delhi, July 22 (IANS) The National Green Tribunal on Friday asked Environment Minister Anil Dave to file a reply to a petition alleging violation of environment norms during the 'Vaicharik Mahakumbh' held in May at Ujjain. View More..