Wazirganj Assembly Elections 2015

Wazirganj Assembly Election Candidates List and Results

Name of the Candidate Party Name Results
Awadhesh Kumar Singh INC WON
Birendra Singh BJP 67348
Krishan Dev Yadav CPI 4158
Sanjay Prasad Bharat Bhrashtachar Mitao Party 1774
Akhilesh Kumar PMS 1743
Jitendra Kumar Yadav JAP(L) 1738
Dipak Kumar IND 15416
Ram Sewak Prasad BSP 1509
Soni Devi Garib Janta Dal (Secular) 1090
Md. Mansur Ansari Sabjan Party 1007
Nandelal Yadav RMEP 693
Abhishek Kumar International Party 567
None Of The Above NOTA 5869

Wazirganj Assembly Elections Schedule

AC No Category Poll Phases Last Date of Nominations Date of Polls Result
234 GEN Phase II Sep 21st 2015 Oct 16th 2015 Nov 8th 2015

About Wazirganj Assembly Elections Constituency

Wazirganj legislative assembly segment is located in the Gaya district and belongs to the Gaya (SC) Lok Sabha constituency. The Wazirganj assembly constituency covers Ward Nos. 32 to 37 in Gaya Municipal Corporation; and Manpur and Wazirganj community development blocks. There are 2,57,059 eligible voters in the Wazirganj assembly constituency, out of whom 1,34,946 are males and 1,22,102 females.

Electoral History of Wazirganj Constituency in Bihar

One of the ten assembly constituencies located in the Gaya district of Bihar, Wazirganj was won by Virendra Singh of the BJP in the last assembly polls to Bihar in 2010. In that election, Virendra Singh had polled 38893 votes to trounce former minister and Congress leader Awadhesh Kumar Singh by a margin 17766 votes. Awadhesh Kumar Singh, the sitting Congress MLA from Gaya Mufassil, received 21127 votes and was followed by the independent candidate Kamlesh Kumar Verma who received 13693 votes.

Rajesh Kumar, who was nominated by the Rashtriya Janata Dal (RJD) to contest the Wazirganj assembly seat in 2010, was relegated to the fourth place with 10394 votes. The RJD and the Lok Janashakti Party (LJP) had jointly contested the 2010 assembly elections to Bihar.

Former MLA from Gaya Mufassil Vinod Kumar Yadavendu , who entered the fray as an independent, came sixth by managing to secure 7043 votes. Contesting the Gaya Mufassil seat in 2000 on the ticket of the RJD he had defeated Awadhesh Kumar Singh by a margin of 5761 votes. In the previous assembly election to Gaya Mufassi in 1995, too, Vinod Kumar Yadavendu, then a Janata Dal candidate, had defeated Awadhesh Kumar Singh who had earlier won in 1980, 1985 and 1990.

Awadhesh Kumar Singh had been elected five times from the Gaya Mufassil which ceased to exist before 2010 on the recommendation of the Delimitation Commission. In February 2005 assembly elections, Awadhesh Kumar Singh had won the erstwhile Gaya Mufassil seat as an independent by trouncing his nearest RJD nominee Vinod Kumar Yadvendu by an impressive margin of 25140 votes.

Wazirganj, which came into being before 2010 following the recommendations of the delimitation commission in place of Gaya Mufassil, is one of the seven assembly constituencies that combine to create the Gaya parliamentary constituency currently represented by Hari Manjhi of the BJP who retained the seat by defeating his nearest RJD rival Ramji Manjhi by a margin of 115504 votes in the last parliamentary elections in 2014. Jitan Ram Manjhi, who entered the fray on the ticket of the JD (U), was relegated to the third place.

Bodh Gaya, Barachatti, Sherghati, Belaganj, Wazirganj and Guraru are the other six assembly constituencies falling under Gaya Lok Sabha seat reserved for candidates belonging to scheduled castes.

Wazirganj Assembly Election News 2015

Candidate raises eyebrows

Updated on : Oct-2,2015

Congress candidate for Wazirganj and former minister Awadhesh Kumar Singh surprised one and all in the presence of his party chief Sonia Gandhi during a poll rally in this constituency. He raised full-throated slogans in favour of RJD chief Lalu Prasad and his wife Rabri Devi. As an afterthought, the candidate raised 'zindabad' slogans in favour of his party chief as well. But by that time, the cat was out of the bag leaving many raised eyebrows.
In order to register a sixth win, Awadhesh will have to get new votes as his traditional vote base has suffered erosion on account of the aggressive caste politics being played by Lalu Prasad, the Mahagathbandhan partner. In the 2010 assembly election, sitting MLA and BJP candidate Birendra Singh won the seat by a big margin of over 17,000 votes. Awadhesh Singh, the runner-up, polled 21,127 votes against the 38,893 polled by his BJP rival and winner.

Wazirganj Assembly Election Videos 2015