Warisnagar Assembly Election 2015

Warisnagar Assembly Election Candidates List and Results

Name of the Candidate Party Name Results
ASHOK KUMAR Janata Dal (United) Won
CHANDRASHEKHAR RAI Lok Jan Shakti Party 34114
B. K. SINGH Independent 9109
VIJAY KUMAR RAI Independent 7844
PREMNATH MISHRA Communist Party of India 2479
ARUN KUMAR Bahujan Mukti Party 1914
MD. ISHAKH Bahujan Samaj Party 1599
SHIV SHANKAR MAHTO Jharkhand Mukti Morcha 1546
ASHOK PRASAD VERMA Jan Adhikar Party (Loktantrik) 1539
DIGAMBER KUMAR RAY Garib Janta Dal (Secular) 1334
MANOJ KUMAR SINGH Rashtriya Pragati Party 975
RANVIR SINGH Sarvajan Kalyan Loktantrik Party 964
ARMAN AHMAD Rashtriya Jankranti Party 882
BASUDEO SAH Bharat Nirman Party 757
None of the Above None of the Above 9551

Warisnagar Assembly Elections Schedule

AC No Category Poll Phases Last Date of Nominations Date of Polls Result
132 GEN Phase I Sep 23rd 2015 Oct 12th 2015 Nov 8th 2015

About Warisnagar Assembly Election Constituency

Warisnagar is a legislative assembly segment. of Samastipur Lok Sabha constituency. The constituency has a total voter’s population of 2,62,561 of which 1,39,495 voters are men, the number of female voters is 1,23,064. Warisnagar assembly constituency comprises Dumra Mohan, Madhurapur, Bhataura, Rahtauli, Parsa and Dahiyar Ranna gram panchayats of the Shivaji Nagar community development block, as well as the Khanpur and Warisnagar community development blocks.

Electoral History of Warisnagar Constituency in Bihar

Located in the Samastipur district of Bihar, Warisnagar assembly constituency, which was dereserved before the last general assembly elections to Bihar, is currently represented by Ashok Kumar of the Janata Dal (United) who emerged victorious from the seat in the last assembly elections in 2010 by defeating Gajendra Prasad Singh of the Lalu led Rashtirya Janata Dal (RJD) by an impressive margin of 19500 votes. In that election, while 46245 votes were polled in favour of Ashok Kumar, Gajendra Prasad Singh received 26745 votes and was followed by independent candidate B.K.Singh who received 13195 votes.

   While Ram Chandra Mahto, who contested on the ticket of the Communist party of India (CPI), came fifth with 8481 votes, the Congress nominee Vijay Kumar Roy was reduced to the seventh position with 7059 votes.

  In a byepoll to the Warisnagar assembly constituency held in 2009, Bishwanah Paswan of the Ram Vilas Paswan headed Lok Janashakti Party (LJP) emerged victorious by defeating his nearest BJP rival Sanjay Paswan. The byepoll was necessitated due to the election of its sitting MLA Maheshwar Hazari to the Lok Sabh from Samastipir parliamentary constituency on the ticket of the Janata Dal (United). Maheshwar Hazari was relegated to the third place in the 2014 Lok Sabha elections which installed the Narendra Modi government at the centre.

  Earlier Maheshwar Hazari had won both the elections to the Warisnagar seat in 2005, then a SC reserved seat. His father and veteran socialist leader Ram Sevak Hazari was elected from the seat four times. Ram Sevak Hazari who died in 2012 entered the Bihar Assembly for the first time in 1967 from Warisnagar on the ticket of Sanyukta Socialist Party (SSP) . He later claimed the seat in 1969, 1985 and 2000. Ram Sevak Hazari had defeated Bishwanah Paswan in the 2010 election to Kalyanpur seat in Samastipur.

  Pitambar Paswan was defeated in 2010 in the Rosra assembly seat by Manju Hazari, who is the sister-in-law of Maheshwar Hazari. Manju Hazari is a BJP MLA. Warisnagar is one of the six assembly constituencies that combine to form the parliamentary constituency of Samastipur which is currently represented by Ram Chandra Paswan of the LJP who won the seat in the 2014 Lok Sabha elections by defeating his nearest Congress rival Ashok Kumar by a close margin of 6872 votes.

  Other six assembly constituencies that are parts of the Samastipur parliamentary seat are Rosera, Hayaghat, Kusheshwar Asthan, Kalyanpur and Samastipur.

Warisnagar Assembly Election News 2015

Young voters are crucial

Updated on : Sep-29,2015

JD(U)'s Ashok Kumar has been fielded at Warisnagar, one of the 10 constituencies that make up the Samastipur district.BJP leader B.K. Singh has filed nomination papers against the NDA's official nominee Chandeshwar Rai of LJP. Singh is angry over allotment of this seat to LJP.Though Warisnagar has been a traditional stronghold for the JD(U), this time the youth who form 35% of the population in this district may be swayed by the Modi's magic.However, JD(U) president Nitish Kumar during his campaign in Samastipur urged the youth and women not to fall trap to the BJP's promises as that party won't fulfill them.

Warisnagar Assembly Election Videos 2015