Warisaliganj Assembly Elections 2015

Warisaliganj Assembly Election Candidates List and Results

Name of the Candidate Party Name Results
Aruna Devi BJP Won
Pradip Kumar JDU 66385
Ram Kishore Sharma CPI 3548
Rajiv Kumar JAP 3118
Sindhu Sharma Independent 2822
Saroj Kumar BSP 1185
None Of The Above NOTA 4851

Warisaliganj Assembly Elections Schedule

AC No Category Poll Phases Last Date of Nominations Date of Polls Result
239 GEN Phase I Sep 23rd 2015 Oct 12th 2015 Nov 8th 2015

About Warisaliganj Assembly Election Constituency

Pradip Mahto is the sitting Janata Dal (United) MLA from Warisaliganj which, since 2000, has been electing legislators known for their association with criminal activities. Pradip Mahto retained the seat in the last assembly elections to the state in 2010 by defeating his nearest rival Aruna Devi of the Congress by a margin of 5428 votes.

Electoral History of Warisaliganj Constituency in Bihar

In that election while Pradip Mahto polled 42381 votes, Aruna Devi, a former Warisaliganj MLA, received 36953 votes and was followed by Anjani Kumar of the Lok Janashakti Party (LJP) who received 11181 votes. Pradip Mahto had won the seat in November in 2005 as an Independent candidate by defeating Aruna Devi.

Aruna Devi, wife of notorious criminal Akhilesh Singh, had been elected from the Warisaliganj assembly constituency in 2000 and February election in 2005. In 2005 she had contested on the ticket of LJP and defeated Pradip Mahto, who had then entered the fray as an independent. In 2000, she had emerged victorious as an Independent.

Pradip Mahto is the nephew of Ashok Mahto who was engaged in fierce caste war against Akhilesh Singh, a Bhumihar, a Kurmi by caste Pradip Mahto and Ashok Mahto were allegedly involved in carnage in which 11 people, including Akhilesh's brother Ramlal, were done to death in 2000.

Former prominent Bihar politician Ramashray Prasad Singh was elected from the Warisaliganj assembly constituency in 1995 on the ticket of the Congress. He lost the next assembly election in 2000 from Konch Assembly constituency in Gaya district. However, he emerged victorious from Makhdumpur in the next assembly election held in February in 2005. He however, was defeated from Makhdumpur in the next assembly election as a JD (U) nominee held in November in that year.

Deo Nandan Prasad of the Communist Party of India (CPI) had also won the Warisaliganj assembly seat a number of times.

Warisaliganj is one of the six assembly segments the combination of which goes on to create the parliamentary constituency of Nawada currently held by Union minister Giriraj Singh of BJP who had won the seat in 2014 Lok Sabha elections by defeating Raj Ballabh Yadav of the RJD.

Warisaliganj Assembly Election News 2015

Lucky to escape scrunity

Updated on : Oct-2,2015

Lady luck seems to have given a lifeline to Pradip Mahto, the JD(U) candidate from Warisaliganj assembly segment in Nawada district. For, he 'escaped' scrutiny even as he didn't mention in his affidavit that he owed Rs 34,640 as dues to BSNL. The constituency's returning officer (RO) said the issue was not 'brought' to his notice during scrutiny by the rival candidates, else he could have brought the fact to the notice of Election Commission.
Nawada DM-cum-district election officer Manoj Kumar said, "it was a violation of the SC guidelines" and merited cancellation of his candidature. Pradip Mahto, aiming for a hat-trick this time, claimed he had no knowledge of the BSNL dues against him and added that he never received any bill to this effect. According to reports, Pradeep faces four charges of murder.
BJP candidate Aruna Devi's election agent, Shailendra Kumar, said he would seek legal opinion on the matter after the elections are over. Warisaliganj is one of the three seats that have the least number of candidates at eight each in the first phase of polling.

Warisaliganj Assembly Election Videos 2015