Valmiki Nagar Assembly Elections 2015

Valmiki Nagar Assembly Election Candidates List and Results

Name of the Candidate Party Name Results
IRSHAD HUSSAINIndian National Congress 33280
SURENDRA PRASADRashtriya Lok Samta Party 32855
RAJESH SINGHSamajwadi Party 11472
ALTAF HUSSAINBahujan Samaj Party 11097
DIP NARAYAN MAHTOIndependent 8355
VIRENDRA YADAVIndependent 2477
SURENDRA SINGHIndependent 2037
MAHANTH CHAUDHARYSarvajan Kalyan Loktantrik Party 1973
VISHNUDEO PRASAD YADAVCommunist Party of India (Marxist-Leninist) (Liberation) 1466
RAJESH KUMAR KEWATGarib Janta Dal (Secular) 1173
None Of The AboveNOTA 6767

Valmiki Nagar Assembly Elections Schedule

AC No Category Poll Phases Last Date of Nominations Date of Polls Result
1 GEN Phase IV Oct 7th 2015 Nov 1st 2015 Nov 8th 2015

About Valmiki Nagar Assembly Elections Constituency

Valmiki Nagar, an assembly constituency is in western Champaran district and is a part of the Valmiki Nagar parliamentary constituency. This constituency comprises of : Piprasi, Thakrahan, Madhubani and Bhitaha community development blocks; and Valmiki Nagar, Mahuawa Katharawa, Santpur Soharia, ChampapurGonauli, Laxmipur Rampurwa, Naurangia Dardari, Belahawa Madanpur, Harnatand, Balua Chhatraul, Dewaria Taruanwa, Bharachhi, Bakuli Panchgwa, Mangalpur Ausani, Binwalia Bodhser, Nayagaon Rampur, Semra Katkuiya , Borawal Narawal, Yamunapur Tadwalia, Jimari Nautanawa and Dholbajwa Laxmipur gram panchayats of Sidhaw CD Block. The Valmiki Nagar assembly constituency has 2,67,580 eligible voters, out of which 1,45,532 are male and 1,22,046 are female.

Electoral History of Valmiki Nagar Constituency in Bihar

Valmiki Nagar , which came into being before the last general assembly elections in Bihar in 2010, is currently held by Rajesh Singh of Janata Dal (united) who had won the seat in 2010 by defeating Mukesh Kumar Kushwaha of the Lalu Yadav led Rashtirya Janata Dal (RJD) by a margin of 14671 votes. While Rajesh Singh who has acted in a Bhojpuri film 'Pyar Mohabbat Zindabad', polled 42289, Mukesh Kumar Kushwaha received 27618 votes and was followed by Dheerendra Pratap Singh of Mayawati led Bahujan Samaj Party (BSP) with 20886 votes.

The Congress had fielded Irshad Hussain to contest the Valmiki Nagar, One of the nine assembly segments located in the Paschim Champaran district of Bihar. Irshad Hussain was relegated to the fourth position by securing 17747 votes. The congress had won only four seats in 2010 assembly polls to Bihar. In 2010, the BJP which contested the elections in alliance with the JD(U) managed to claim 91 seats, while the latter emerged victorious from 115 constituencies. The RJD put up a dismal performance with only 22 seats.

The BJP did not nominate any candidate because it went to the polls in alliance with the Nitish Kumar's JD (U). As things stand today, the BJP and the JD (U) have parted ways and the Lok Janashakti Party (LJP), the ally of the RJD in the last assembly elections, is now a part of the BJP led NDA, the ruling dispensation at the Centre.

Valmiki Nagar is one of the six assembly constituencies that combine to form the parliamentary constituency of the same name which is currently represented by Satish Chandra Dubey of the BJP who won the seat by defeating his nearest Congress rival Purnmasi Ram by a margin of 117793 votes in the 2014 Lok Sabha elections. The sitting JD (U) MP Baidya Nath Prasad Mahato was relegated to the third place. While Satish Chandra Dubey was the winner of the Natkatiaganj assembly in 2005, Baidyanath Prasad Mahto was elected from the Nautan assembly constituency in 2000 and 2005.

Other five assembly constituencies are Ramnagar, Narkatiaganj, Bagaha, Lauriya and Sikta.

Valmiki Nagar Assembly Election News 2015

Three cornered contest here

Updated on : Oct-8,2015

Mohammed Irshad Hussain of Congress will take on JD(U) legislator Rajesh Singh who is standing on the Samajwadi Party ticket in Valmiki Nagar. RLSP has named Surendra Singh from Valmiki Nagar.Valmiki Nagar, an assembly constituency in Paschim Champaran district of Bihar. In the previous election held in November 2010, Rajesh Singh of JD(U) won the seat by defeating Mukesh Kumar Kushwaha of Rashtriya Janata Dal (RJD).
But the sitting MLA Rajesh Singh quit JD(U) after he was denied ticket by the party and joined Samajwadi Party of Mulayam Singh Yadav. Rajesh is now contesting the seat as SP nominee and takes on both the Grand Alliance and the saffron brigade.

Valmiki Nagar Assembly Election Videos 2015