Vaishali Assembly Elections 2015

Vaishali Assembly Election Candidates List and Results

Name of the Candidate Party Name Results
RAJ KISHORE SINGH Janata Dal (United) Won
BRISHIN PATEL Hindustani Awam Morcha (Secular) 48225
VINAY PASWAN Independent 7975
MAHTAB AHMAD KHAN Jan Adhikar Party (Loktantrik) 4301
MUHAMAD ABAS Independent 2765
AMIYA BHUSHAN Independent 2009
MAHABIR PRASAD Independent 1959
KUNDAN SINGH Aap Aur Hum Party 1735
SUDHIR KU SHARMA Gareeb Aadmi Party 1556
RAJ KUMAR SINGH Bajjikanchal Vikas Party 1435
MANOHAR RAY National Janta Party (Indian) 1200
PAPPU KUMAR SAHU Garib Janta Dal (Secular) 899
None of the Above None of the Above 4275

Vaishali Assembly Elections Schedule

AC No Category Poll Phases Last Date of Nominations Date of Polls Result
125 GEN Phase III Oct 01st 2015 Oct 28th 2015 Nov 8th 2015

About Vaishali Assembly Elections Constituency

  Vaishali legislative assembly segment is part of Vaishali Lok Sabha constituency. It is home to a total of 2,76,423 eligible voters of whom there are 1,48,921 male voters and 1,27,491 female voters. Vaishali assembly constituency consists of Goraul, Paterhi and Vaishali community development blocks.

Electoral History of Vaishali Constituency in Bihar

  One of the eight assembly segments located in the Vaishali district of Bihar, Mahua is currently held by Brishin Patel of the Janata Dal (United) who won the seat in 2010 general assembly polls to the Bihar Legislative assembly by defeating his nearest rival Veena Shahi of the Rashtriya Janata Dal (RJD) by a margin of 12828 votes in a bipolar contest. In that election, while Brishin Patel, a former Bihar minister, polled 60950 votes, Veena Shahi received 48122 votes.

   Sanjay Kumar Mishra, who entered the fray as a candidate of the Congress, was relegated to the eighth place with just 2472 votes. A prominent politician of Bihar, Brishin Patel had thrown his weight behind Jitan Ram Majhi in the recent political drama of Bihar in which Nitish Kumar once again became the Chief Minister. Brishin Patel had won both the elections to the Vasihsali seat in 2005 as a nominee of the JD (U). On both the occasions his nearest rival was Veena Shahi, who entered the fray as a Congress candidate. As a Congress nominee Veena Shahi had won the seat in 2000 by trouncing Brishin Patel, then an RJD member.

  Veena Shahi, a former Bihar Minister, is the daughter-in-law of former Bihar Minister L P Shahi. L P Shahi’s daughter Ujjawala Shahi was relegated to the eighth place in the assembly election to Hajipur in 2010. L P Shahi had claimed the Vaishali seat in 1967, 169 and 1972.

  Earlier Brishin Patel had been elected from the Vaishali assembly seat in 1980, 1985 and 1990. He was elected to the Lok Sabha from Siwan parliamentary constituency in 1991 on the ticket of the Janata Dal. In the byepoll to Vaishali assembly seat in 1991 necessitated due to his resignation, the seat went in favour of Hemant Shahi of the Congress. Hemant Shahi was the husband of Veena Shahi who joined the BJP in 2014.

  Vaishali is one of the six assembly constituencies that combine to form the Lok Sabha constituency of Vaishali which is currently represented by Rama Kishore Singh of the Lok Janashakti Party (LJP) who won the seat by defeating his nearest rival and sitting RJD MP Raghuvansh Prasad Singh by a margin of 99267 votes in the 2014 parliamentary elections which resulted in the installation of Narendra Modi government at the centre. Earlier Raghuvansh Prasad, former Union Minister in the Manmohan Singh government, had won the Vaishali Lok Sabha seat five times in a row (1996, 1998, 1999, 2004 and 2009).

  Other five assembly constituencies that fall under the Vaishali Lok Sabha constituency are Minapur, Kanti, Baruraj, Paroo and Sahebganj.

Vaishali Assembly Election News 2015

Tough fight on cards

Updated on : Oct-4,2015

  Raj Kishor Singh (Raisa) from JD(U) is into tough fight against Brishin Patel fielded by HAM-Secular led by former Bihar CM Jitan Ram Manjhi.

  While Raj Kishore can count on the tradional voter base of JD(U) and RJD combine, Patel is assured of support from the dalits and mahadalits in the caste hierarchy.

Vaishali Assembly Election Videos 2015