Thakurganj Assembly Elections 2015

Thakurganj Assembly Election Candidates List and Results

Name of the Candidate Party Name Results
GOPAL KUMAR AGRAWAL Lok Jan Shakti Party 66152
FAIYAZ ALAM Samajwadi Party 12136
AHMAD HUSSAIN Jharkhand Mukti Morcha 11176
CHITRANJAN SINGH Independent 3693
MUSTAK ALAM Independent 3137
PUNAM DEVI Jan Adhikar Party (Loktantrik) 1562
MD ISAMAIL Janta Dal Rashtravadi 1161
NAUSHAD ALAM (TELIBHITTA) Indian Union Muslim League 1041
HEMANT ROY Communist Party of India (Marxist-Leninist) (Liberation) 998
PRAMOD RAM Loktantrik Janata Party (Secular) 696
None Of The Above NOTA 2804

Thakurganj Assembly Elections Schedule

AC No Category Poll Phases Last Date of Nominations Date of Polls Result
53 GEN Phase V Oct 8th 2015 Nov 5th 2015 Nov 8th 2015

About Thakurganj Assembly Elections Constituency

Thakhurganj assembly segment lies in the Kishanganj Lok Sabha constituency. Tulshia, Singhimari, Atgachhia, Lohagarha, Dahibhat, Satkauwa, Ikra, Dighalbank, Dhantola, Tarabari Padampur, Jagir Padampur, Karuamani and Mangra gram panchayats of Dighalbank community development block and Thakurganj CD block came under the jurisdiction of the Thakurganj legislative assembly segment. This assembly constituency has 2,36,956 eligible voters, amongst whom 1,24,110 are men and 1,12,842 are women.

Electoral History of Thakurganj Constituency in Bihar

  Thakurganj assembly constituency is currently being represented by Naushad Alam who won the seat as a Lok Janashakti Party (LJP) candidate in the last Bihar assembly polls in 2010 by trouncing Gopal Kumar Agrawal of JD (U), who had earlier defeated the current MLA from this seat in November, 2005. Agrawal won that election as a Samajwadi Party nominee while Naushad contested as a member of NCP from this assembly seat.

   Naushad Alam, one of the three MLAs of LJP who got elected to the Bihar legislative assembly in 2010 polls which witnessed the landslide victory of JDU-BJP coalition, bade adieu to his party in 2011 and is now a JD (U) legislator. The other two legislators of the LJP have also joined the JD (U) bandwagon.

   As things stand today, the BJP and the JD (U) have parted ways and LJP is now a part of the NDA, the ruling dispensation at the Centre.

   Throughout the electoral politics, Thakurganj has been a bastion for the Congress whose candidate Muhammad Hussain Azad was elected a good number of times. He was elected from this constituency in 1967, 1972, 1980, and 1985. This Muslim dominated constituency in the Kishanganj district of Bihar also elected the BJP candidate when Sikander Singh won the seat in 1995 by defeating Md. Jawaid of Congress who, however, emerged victorious in the next assembly elections held in 2000 and 2005.

  It has to be borne in mind that Bihar went to the assembly polls twice in 2005 because the earlier one held in February threw hung assembly necessitating the holding of the second assembly polls in the month of November of the same year.

  Though in 2010 assembly polls in Bihar, the JD (U) - BJP combine secured won 206 seats of the total 243 assembly constituencies in the state, it became unsuccessful in grabbing a single seat out of four constituencies in the district that include Thakurganj Kishanganj, Kochadhaman and Bahadurganj. While as mentioned above Thakurganj assembly seat went to LJP, Kishanganj and Bahadurganj were won by the Congress candidates. Kochadhaman was retained by Akhtarul Imaan of Rashtirya Janata Dal (RJD) of Lalu Prasad.

Thakurganj Assembly Election News 2015

Updated on : Oct-12,2015

Naushad Alam from JD(U) will fight it out with the NDA candidate here. Last time sitting MLA Alam won on a LJP ticket in Thakurganj. CPI-ML too has fielded its candidate Hemant Rajbhar from Thakurganj. With candidates from Owaisi's MIM and CPI-ML in the fray, they will split the vote bank of JD(U) candidate, thus offer a clear winning chance to NDA candidate in Thakurganj.
Lok Jan Shakti (LJP) member Naushad Alam presently represents the Thakurganj constituency in the assembly. Alam emerged victorious in the 2010 election with 36,372 votes and defeated Gopal Kumar Agarwal of JD(U) who won 29,409 votes. Thakhurganj assembly segment lies in the Kishanganj Lok Sabha constituency.

Thakurganj Assembly Election Videos 2015