Teghra Assembly Elections 2015

Teghra Assembly Election Candidates List and Results

Name of the Candidate Party Name Results
BIRENDRA KUMAR Rashtriya Janata Dal Won
RAM LAKHAN SINGH Bharatiya Janata Party 53364
RAM RATAN SINGH Communist Party of India 25818
DEEPAK KUMAR SINGH Independent 1946
SHAMSHER ALAM Samajwadi Party 1384
ANIL KUMAR Independent 1114
None of the Above None of the Above 2804

Teghra Assembly Elections Schedule

AC No Category Poll Phases Last Date of Nominations Date of Polls Result
143 GEN Phase I Sep 23rd 2015 Oct 12th 2015 Nov 8th 2015

About Tegjra Assembly Elections Constituency

Teghra egislative assembly constituency is part of Lok Sabha constituency. It is composed of the Teghra community development block; Bihat I to IV, Malhipur (North), Malhipur (South), Papraur, Garahara I & II, Simaria I & II, Rajwara, Amarpur, Peepra Dewas and Hajipur gram panchayats of Barauni CD Block.

Electroal History of Teghra Constituency in Bihar

A citadel of the Communist Party of India(CPI), Teghra had elected Lallan Kunwar of the BJP in the last general assembly elections in Bihar thereby ending the dominance of the CPI who has been uninterruptedly representing the seat since 1962. The CPI had won only one seat in Bihar in 2010- Bachhwara.

In that election Lallan Kunwar had polled 38694 votes to defeat his nearest CPI rival Ram Ratan Singh by a simple margin of 5846 votes. Ram Ratan Singh who received 32848 was followed by the Congress candidate Jamshaid Ashraf who got 21581 votes. Pradip Ray who entered the fray as a nominee of the Lok Janashakti Party (LJP), an ally of the Lalu led Rashtriya Janata Dal (RJD) in 2010, was relegated to the fourth place with 19767 votes.

Located in the Begusarai district of Bihar, Teghra has the distinction of sending Chandrashekhar Singh, the first Communist to the Bihar Assembly in 1962. After that its name was changed to Barauni. He went on to win the Barauni seat in 1967, 1969 and 1972. Chandrashekhar’s father Ramcharitar Singh was also previously elected twice from the Teghra seat.

CPI legislator Rajendra Prasad Singh who had won the four successive polls to the Barauni assembly seat was denied ticket by the party in 2010 and in his place Ram Ratan Singh was nominated to take on Lallan Kunwar who as mentioned above won the elections riding on the popularity of Nitish Kumar.

Teghra is one of the seven assembly constituencies that combine to form the parliamentary constituency of Begusarai which is currently represented by Bhola Singh of the BJP who won the seat in the 2014 Lok Sabha elections that elected the Narendra Modi government at the centre.

Other six assembly constituencies that fall under the Begusarai Lok Sabha seat are Matihani. Begusarai , Bakhri, Bachhwara, Cheria Bariarpur and Sahebpur Kamal .

Teghra Assembly Election News 2015

CPI's prestige at stake

Updated on : Sep-29,2015

The CPI had never had lost the prestigious Teghra seat before the 2010 Assembly election. The Left Front is leaving no stone unturned this time to regain Teghra, a communist stronghold in Begusarai district. The party has fielded Ram Ratan Singh as its candidate who had lost to BJP's Lallan Kunwar in the last assembly election (2010). The BJP, however, this time has denied ticket to Lallan and fielded Ram Lakhan Singh as its candidate. Singh has been associated with BJP since very early stage.
The biggest drawback with the BJP nominee is that he carries the tag of a loser since he has lost all the elections. Incidentally, both Ram Ratan and Ram Lakhan belong to Bihat village which remained the epicenter of Left movement here.

Teghra Assembly Election Videos 2015