Taraiya Assembly Elections 2015

Taraiya Assembly Election Candidates List and Results

Name of the Candidate Party Name Results
MUDRIKA PRASAD ROY Rashtriya Janata Dal Won
JANAK SINGH Bharatiya Janata Party 48572
BRAJ BIHARI SINGH Independent 3980
NAZARE IMAM KHAN Independent 3747
HEMANT KUMAR SINGH Independent 3195
GEETA SAGAR RAM Communist Party of India (Marxist) 2840
SABHA RAY Communist Party of India (Marxist-Leninist) (Liberation) 2069
SATYENDRA KUMAR SINGH Public Mission Party 1929
ABHIMANYU KUMAR "MANISH" Akhil Bharat Hindu Mahasabha 1824
RANVIJAY KR. SINGH Samajwadi Party 1121
RADHA KANT Akhil Bharatiya Rajarya Sabha 736
LALAN SAH Bhartiya New Sanskar Krantikari Party 611
NAND KISHOR SINGH Sarvajan Kalyan Loktantrik Party 571
None of the Above None of the Above 3921

Taraiya Assembly Elections Schedule

AC No Category Poll Phases Last Date of Nominations Date of Polls Result
116 GEN Phase III Oct 1st 2015 Oct 28th 2015 Nov 8th 2015

About Taraiya Assembly Elections Constituency

  Taraiya is a legislative assembly segment lies in the Saran district and is a part of the Maharajganj Lok Sabha constituency. Taraiya has a total of 2,56,443 eligible voters in the Taraiya assembly segment, out of which 1,36,528 are men and 1,19,913 are women. The Taraiya assembly constituency comprises Ishuapur, Panapur and Taraiya community development blocks.

Electoral History of Taraiya Constituency in Bihar

  Part of the erstwhile Chhapra parliamentary constituency before the 2010 assembly elections, the Rajput dominated Taraiya assembly now falls in the Maharajganj Lok Sabha seat.

  Currently Taraiya is represented by Janak Singh of the BJP who won the seat in 2010 general assembly polls to the Bihar Legislative assembly by defeating his nearest rival Tarkeshwar Singh of the Congress by a margin of 6970 votes.

  In that election, while Janak Singh, the winner of the February elections in 2005 as a Lok Janashakti Party (LJP) nominee, polled 26600 votes, Tarkeshwar Singh received 19630 votes and was followed by independent candidate Mudrika Prasad Roy with 16338 votes.

   Ram Pravesh Ray, who entered the fray as a candidate of the Rashtriya Janata Dal (RJD), was relegated to the fourth place with 13368 votes. Ram Pravesh Ray had quit the RJD and joined the Janata Dal (United). He was elected from the Chhapra twice and had earlier quit the JD (U) to join the RJD. He had won both the elections in 2005 to Chapra assembly seat on the ticket of the JD (U).

  Earlier Taraiya assembly constituency has been represented by Ramdas Rai who had won in 1985, 1995, 2000 and 2005 October/November elections. While his win in 1985 came on the ticket of the BJP, he won the 1995 elections on the ticket of the Janata Dal. His next two victories were achieved as nominee of the RJD. He died in 2010 in a road accident.

  Taraiya has also been represented by Prabhu Nath Singh, a strongman and former Maharajganj MP. He failed to retain the Maharajganj Lok Sabha on the ticket of the RJD in 2014 due to the Modi wave sweeping Bihar at that time. Taraiya is one of the six assembly segments that unite to create the parliamentary constituency of Maharajganj.

  Maharajganj is currently represented by Janardan Singh Sigriwal of the BJP who won the seat by defeating the sitting RJD MP Prabhunath Singh in the 2014 Lok Sabha elections that paved the way for the Narendra Modi government at the centre. Manoranjan Singh of the JD (U) was relegated to the third place.

  Other five assembly constituencies that fall under the Maharajganj Lok Sabha seat are Manjhi, Ekma, Baniapur, Goriakothi and Maharajganji.

Taraiya Assembly Election News 2015

  Sitting BJP MLA Janak Singh will take on RJD's Mudrika Prasad Roy in Taraiya.

  This constituency is one of the 62 seats identified by the Election Commission for being vulnerable to money and muscle power which may dictate terms on the polling day.

  While caste plays its own card, the lack of development along with poor infrastructure agitates the electorate here.

Taraiya Assembly Election Videos 2015