Sursand Assembly Elections 2015

Sursand Assembly Election Candidates List and Results

Name of the Candidate Party Name Results
SYED ABU DOJANA Rashtriya Janata Dal Won
AMIT KUMAR Independent 29623
SHAHID ALI KHAN Hindustani Awam Morcha (Secular) 13954
NAWAL KISHOR RAUT Communist Party of India 10342
VIJAY KUMAR Independent 6740
UMA SHANKAR GUPTA Independent 4119
NAWAL MANDAL Independent 3297
MAHESH KUMAR Independent 2310
GOBIND THAKUR Independent 2131
SATYANARAYAN THAKUR Bahujan Mukti Party 1978
MANOJ PURWE Samajwadi Party 1481
VIJAY KUMAR HATHI Independent 1473
BHARAT BHUSHAN SAHANI Garib Janta Dal (Secular) 1369
SANTOSH KUMAR Bahujan Nyay Dal 1099
SACHIN SHEKHAR Independent 1068
MUKESH KUMAR SINGH Bahujan Samaj Party 970
None of the Above None of the Above 1944

Sursand Assembly Elections Schedule

AC No Category Poll Phases Last Date of Nominations Date of Polls Result
26 GEN Phase IV Oct 7th 2015 Nov 1st 2015 Nov 8th 2015

About Sursand Assembly Elections Constituency

Sursand assembly constituency is in Sitamarhi district and comprises of Pupri, Charaut and Sursand community development blocks are covered by the Sursand assembly constituency. Sursand has a total of 2,68,833 eligible voters of whom 1,41,195 are men and 1,27,635 women.

Electoral History of Sursand Constituency in Bihar

Shahid Ali Khan of the Janata Dal (United) is the incumbent MLA from the Sursand assembly seat which he won in the last assembly elections in Bihar in 2010 by trouncing his nearest rival and the sitting Rashtriya Janata Dal (RJD) MLA Jainandan Prasad Yadav by a narrow margin of 1186 votes. In that election to the Sursand assembly constituency, while Shahid Ali Khan polled 38542 votes, Jainandan Prasad Yadav received 37356 votes and was followed by Vimal Shukla of the Congress who managed to 15158 votes. Anita Raut, who contested on the ticket of Communist Party of India (CPI), came fourth with 13173 votes.

Earlier Jainandan Prasad Yadav had won the Sursand assembly seat by defeating Baidyanath Prasad of the BJP in both the assembly elections held in 2005. It has to be noted that Bihar went to the assembly polls twice in 2005 because the earlier one held in February threw hung assembly necessitating the holding of the second assembly polls in the month of November of the same year.

In 2000, Jainandan Yadav, who had contested the seat as a nominee of JD (U), was elected from here by virtue of his victory over his nearest RJD rival and sitting MLA Nagendra Prasad Yadav by a margin of 17388 votes. Nagendra Prasad YADAV had won in 1995 by defeating the sitting Congress MLA Ravindra Prasad Sahi.

Sursand is one of the six assembly constituencies that combine to form the parliamentary constituency of Sitamarhi which is currently represented by Ram Kumar Sharma of the Rashtriya Lok Samata Party (RLSP) who won the seat by defeating his nearest rival Sitaram Yadav of the RJD by a margin of 147965 votes in the 2014 Lok Sabha elections which resulted in the formation of Narendra Modi government at the centre.

Sursand Assembly Election News 2015

Muslims, OBCs are dominant

Updated on : Oct-8,2015

Former JD(U) minister and sitting MLA Shahid Ali Khan is contesting in Sursand on HAM-S ticket after he quit Nitish Kumar's party. Syed Abu Dozena, one of the three outsiders in the RJD camp, will take on Shahid Ali in Sursand. Both the contestants are wooing Muslims, OBCs an Mahadalits to win the battle of the ballot. Shahid Ali Khan of JD (U) is the sitting MLA of the constituency. In the November 2010 assembly elections, Shahid Ali Khan defeated Jainandan Prasad Yadav of RJD with a slim margin of 1,186 votes. Khan grabbed 38,542 votes against 37,356 won by Yadav.

Sursand Assembly Election Videos 2015