Sultanganj Assembly Elections 2015

Sultanganj Assembly Election Candidates List and Results

Name of the Candidate Party Name Results
SUBODH ROY Janata Dal (United) Won
HIMANSHU PRASAD Rashtriya Lok Samta Party 49312
LALAN KUMAR Independent 14073
RAKESH KUMAR SAH Independent 4041
CHAKRAPANI HIMANSHU Jan Adhikar Party (Loktantrik) 3186
DR. DINESH CHANDRA DIWAKAR Communist Party of India 2732
GOBIND BHAIYA Bahujan Samaj Party 2140
AMAR JEET KUMAR SINGH Samajwadi Party 1914
KIRAN MISHRA Independent 1884
ARUN KUMAR SINGH Independent 1843
SUMAN KUMAR Sarvajan Kalyan Loktantrik Party 1203
RUMEE KHAN Bahujan Mukti Party 888
None of the Above None of the Above 8165

Sultanganj Assembly Elections Schedule

AC No Category Poll Phases Last Date of Nominations Date of Polls Result
157 GEN Phase I Sep 23rd 2015 Oct 12th 2015 Nov 8th 2015

About Sultanganj Assembly Election Constituency

One of the five assembly segments located in the Bhagalpur district of Bihar, Sultanganj assembly constituency is currently held by Subodh Rai of the Janata Dal (United) who won the seat in 2010 general assembly polls to the Bihar Legislative assembly by defeating Ramavatar Mandal of the Rashtriya Janata Dal (RJD) by a simple margin of 4845 votes.

While Subodh Rai , former CPIM MP from Bhagalpur, polled 34652 votes, the RJD nominee received 29807 votes. Suresh Mohan Jha of the Congress was relegated to the fourth place with 8045 votes.

Electoral History of Sultanganj Constituency in Bihar

Sultanganj assembly seat has never been won by the RJD.

The BJP had claimed 91 seats in the last assembly polls in Bihar in 2010 and its ally at that time Janata Dal (United) emerged victorious from 115 assembly constituencies.

Sultanganj is one of the six assembly segments the combination of which goes on to create the parliamentary constituency of Banka which is currently represented by of Jay Prakash Narayan Yadav of the RJD who won it by defeating the sitting MP Putul Kumari in 2014 Lok Sabha elections by a margin of 10144 votes.

Putul Kumari, who joined the BJP before 2014 general parliamentary elections, had won the Banka seat as an Independent in a bye poll in 2010 necessitated due to the death of her husband and former Union minister Digvijay Singh who had also won the seat in 2009 as an independent.

Other assembly segments located in the Lok Sabha constituency of Banka are Amarpur, Dhoraiya, Banka, Katoria and Belhar.

Sultanganj Assembly Election News 2015

Voters under perceptible threat

Updated on : Oct-4,2015

As many as 36 polling booths in Sahkund and Sultanganj in Bhagalpur district have been marked as sensitive as they fall in Maoist-hit areas known for rigging and booth capturing. Hence these booths require intense patrolling and monitoring by security forces. Out of 76,350 voters under perceptible threat, the maximum are in Sultanganj assembly segment with 21,403 voters under threat, according to district election officials. Bhagalpur DM-cum-district election officer Adesh Titarmere said stringent measure were being taken against anti-social elements and criminals in the district to ensure peaceful and fair poll.

Sultanganj Assembly Election Videos 2015