Sugauli Assembly Elections 2015

Sugauli Assembly Election Candidates List and Results

Name of the Candidate Party Name Results
RAMCHANDRA SAHNI Bharatiya Janata Party Won
OM PRAKASH CHOUDHARY Rashtriya Janata Dal 54628
SHASHI BHUSHAN SINGH Independent 15004
RAM GOPAL Independent 6950
RADHA MOHAN SINGH Communist Party of India 4335
MADAN MOHAN YADAV Communist Party of India (Marxist) 2666
MD. HASNAIN 'AZAD' Rashtriya Jankranti Party 1239
ANURANJAN JHA Independent 1177
BAIRISTER BAITHA Independent 1020
OMPRAKASH GUPTA Bahujan Samaj Party 770
AWADHESH KUMAR Independent 733
ANITA DEVI Independent 617
ANGAD CHAUDHARY Independent 390
None of the Above None of the Above 2523

Sugauli Assembly Elections Schedule

AC No Category Poll Phases Last Date of Nominations Date of Polls Result
11 GEN Phase IV Oct 7th 2015 nov 1st 2015 Nov 8th 2015

About Sugauli Assembly Elections Constituency

Sugauli is assembly constituency is in eastern Champaran district and is a part of the western Lok Sabha constituency. Sugauli constituency covers the Sugauli and Ramgarhwa community development blocks. There are a total of 2,37,628 eligible voters of whom 1,28,028 men and 1,09,595 women.

Electoral History of Sugauli Constituency in Bihar

Once a stronghold of the Communist Party of India (Marxists), Sugauli assembly constituency is now held by Ramchandra Sahani of the BJP who had retained the seat in the last assembly elections to Bihar in 2010 by defeating Vijay Prasad Gupta of the Rashtirya Janata Dal (RJD) by a margin of 12379 votes. In that election, while Ramchandra Sahani, a former Bihar minister in the Nitish Kumar government, polled 39021 votes, Vijay Prasad Gupta, the winner of the seat in 2000 and 2005, received 26642 votes and was followed by Mahammed Umar Saifullah Khan of the Congress. Mahammed Umar Saifullah Khan, son of former Bihar assembly Speaker Hidayatullah Khan, secured 10922 votes in that election.

As things stand today, the BJP and the JD (U) have parted ways and the Lok Janashakti Party (LJP), the ally of the RJD in the last assembly elections, is now a part of the BJP led NDA, the ruling dispensation at the Centre. The RJD, the JD (U) and the Congress have come together to check the BJP.

In November assembly election to the Sugauli assembly seat in 2005, Ramchandra Sahani won the seat by defeating its sitting RJD MLA Vijay Prasad Gupta by a margin of 6605 votes. Vijay Prasad Gupta was elected in the previous assembly election held in February the same year. Bihar went to the assembly polls twice in 2005 because the earlier one held in February threw hung assembly necessitating the holding of the second assembly polls in the month of November of the same year. In 2000 too, Vijay Prasad Gupta was elected from the constituency by virtue of his victory over Ramashray Singh of the CPI (M) by a narrow margin of 506 votes.

Earlier Ramashray Singh had emerged victorious from Sugauli assembly constituency in 1977, 1980 and 1990. The CPIM had drawn blank in the last assembly elections in Bihar in which the party contested 30 seats. The seat was won in 1967 by Mohan Lal Modi of Bhartiya Jan Sangh, the earlier avatar of the BJP. One of the twelve assembly constituencies in the district of Purvi Champaran, Sugauli is one of the six assembly constituencies that combine to form the parliamentary constituency of Paschim Champaran which is currently represented by Sanjay Jaiswal of the BJP who won the seat in the 2014 Lok Sabha elections.

Sugauli Assembly Election News 2015

BJP candidate poised to win

Updated on : Oct-6,2015

Sitting BJP MLA Ram Chandra Sahni is contesting against with Om Prakash Chaudhary of RJD has the main opponent. In the assembly election in November 2010, Ramchandra Sahani won the seat with 39,021 votes and defeated RJD's Vijay Prasad Gupta who bagged 26,642 votes. The Madhesi agitation in Nepal is having its impact in Sugauli, a border town of Bihar, as people of both countries have centuries-old cultural and social relations. BJP MLA is tipped to win here comfortably as people are supportive of the strong action taken by the Central government to stop the flow of delivery trucks in Nepal.

Sugauli Assembly Election Videos 2015