Siwan Assembly Elections 2015

Siwan Assembly Election Candidates List and Results

Name of the Candidate Party Name Results
VYAS DEO PRASAD Bharatiya Janata Party Won
BABLU PRASAD Janata Dal (United) 51622
HARENDRA DUBEY Independent 4254
JAMIL AHMAD Communist Party of India (Marxist-Leninist) (Liberation) 1997
BIRENDRA SAH Independent 1542
SUMAN KUMAR Samajwadi Party 911
DEWAKANT MISHRA Independent 572
BINOD SINGH KUSWAHA Garib Janta Dal (Secular) 559
NAGENDRA TIWARI Loktantrik Janata Party (Secular) 494
MD. MOIN Independent 483
None of the Above None of the Above 5119

Siwan Assembly Elections Schedule

AC No Category Poll Phases Last Date of Nominations Date of Polls Result
105 SC Phase IV Oct 7th 2015 Nov 1st 2015 Nov 8th 2015

About Siwan Assembly Elections Constituency

Siwan is a district, a Lok Sabha constituency and a legislative assembly constituency in the state of Bihar. This legislative assembly segement is home to 2,61,581 voters amongst them there are 1,41,603 men and 1,19,976 women. It comprises of Hathigai, Lakri, Sunderpur, Pakri, Kailgarh Dakhin, Kailgarh Uttar, Aurae and Lakri Dargah gram panchayats of Barharia community development block; and Siwan community development block including Siwan Municipal Council.

Electoral History of Siwan Constituency in Bihar

One of the eight assembly constituencies located in the district of the same name in Bihar, Siwan is currently held by Vyasdeo Prasad of the BJP who retained the seat by defeating his nearest rival Awadh Bihari Choudhary of the Rashtriya Janata Dal (RJD) by a margin of 12541 votes in the last assembly elections to the state. In that election, while Vyasdeo Prasad polled 51637 votes, Awadh Bihari Choudhary, a former minister in the Lalu-Rabri rule, received 39096 votes.

Awadh Bihari Choudhary, who had represented the seat for five successive terms, was also defeated by Vyasdeo Prasad in the previous assembly election held in the month of November in 2005. He had won the seat in 1985, 1990, 1995, 2000 and the February election of 2005. He had left RJD and joined the Janata Dal (United).

Even in the heydays of the Congress, Siwan assembly constituency had elected Jansangh candidate Janardan Tiwari on three occasions. He had won the seat in 1962, 1969 and 1972. Janardan Tiwari, who also emerged victorious from the seat in 1980 on the ticket of the BJP, lost to Awadh Bihari Choudhary in 1985.

Former Bihar speaker and agriculture minister Ghulam sarvar had also represented the Siwan assembly constituency which he won in 1977 on the ticket of Janata Party. He was elected from the Keoti assembly seat in 1990, 1995 and 2000. While his wins in 1990 and 1995 came as a candidate of the Janata Dal, he won in 2000 on the ticket of RJD.

Siwan is one of the six assembly segments that combine to for the parliamentary constituency of the same name currently held by Om Prakash Yadav of the BJP who retained the seat for himself by defeating his nearest rival Hena Shahab of the RJD by a margin of 113784 votes in the last Lok Sabha general elections in 2014. While former CPIML MLA from Darauli, Amar Nath Yadav, came third with 81,006 votes, the JD (U) candidate Manoj Kumar Singh was relegated to the fourth place with 79,239 votes.

Om Prakash Yadav had won the seat in 2009 as an Independent candidate. He was defeated by Shahabuddin, the strongman of Siwan, in 2004 when he entered the fray on the ticket of the Janata Dal (United). Hena Shahab is the wife of Shahabuddin.

Siwan Assembly Election News 2015

Criminals have field day

Updated on : Oct-9,2015

Sitting BJP MLA Vyash Dev Prasad is pitted against Babloo Prasad of JD(U) in Siwan. For the people of Siwan, the one and only fear factor was a man named Mohammad Shahabuddin. No one dared to call him by his name. Everyone had to address him as Sahab.
It was also 'mandatory' to hang Sahab's photo appropriately in every shop in the town. A two-time MLA and four-time MP of Lalu Prasad's RJD, Shahabuddin with 56 criminal cases against him has been languishing in jail since 2005. Siwan is represented by BJP's Vyash Dev Prasad in the assembly. Prasad won the seat having accounted for 51,637 votes in the assembly elections held in November 2010. He defeated Awadhvihari Chaudhry of RJD by a margin of 12,541 votes.

Siwan Assembly Election Videos 2015