Singheshwar Assembly Elections 2015

Singheshwar Assembly Election Candidates List and Results

Name of the Candidate Party Name Results
RAMESH RISHIDEV Janata Dal (United) Won
MANJU DEVI Hindustani Awam Morcha (Secular) 32873
AMIT KUMAR BHARTI Jan Adhikar Party (Loktantrik) 15106
RAJKISHOR SARDAR Communist Party of India (Marxist) 6924
INDO DEVI Bahujan Samaj Party 4098
JAGDEV RAM Independent 3498
LALAN PASWAN Janta Dal Rashtravadi 3220
ACHHE LAL SHARMA Independent 3048
SANJAY PASWAN Bharatiya Jan Kranti Dal (Democratic) 2767
AGAMLAL RISHIDEV Independent 2583
DINESH RISHI DEV The National Road Map Party of India 2080
UPENDRA RAM Garib Janta Dal (Secular) 1784
None of the Above None of the Above 6928

Singheshwar Assembly Elections Schedule

AC No Category Poll Phases Last Date of Nominations Date of Polls Result
72 SC Phase V Oct 8th 2015 Nov 5th 2015 Nov 8th 2015

About Singheshwar Assembly Elections Constituency

Singheshwar assembly segment is a part of the Supaul Lok Sabha constituency in Madhepura district. Singheshwar is reserved for the candidates belonging to the Scheduled Castes (SC). Singheshwar consists of Kumarkhand, Shankarpur and Singheshwar community development blocks. The Singheshwar assembly segment accommodates a total of 2,70,494 eligible voters of whom thre are 1,40,854 male and 1,29,631 female voters in this constituency.

Electoral History of Singheshwar Constituency in Bihar

  Once represented by Rajesh Ranjan, more famously known as Pappu Yadav, Singheshwar, one of the four assembly segments located in the Madhepura district in Bihar, Singheshwar is currently being represented by Ramesh Rishidev who won the seat for the Janata Dal (United) in the last assembly elections to the state in 2010 by defeating his nearest Rashtrirya Janata Dal (RJD) rival Amit Kumar Bharti by a margin of 15196 votes in a bipolar contest.

   In 2010, while Ramesh Rishidev polled 72282 votes, the RJD nominee received 57086 votes and was distantly followed by Ganesh Paswan of the Congress who secured 5969 votes. A total of seven candidates were in the fray. Except the winner and the runner-up all other contestants forfeited their deposit.

  In the October/November 2005 Bihar assembly elections, Ramesh Rishidev had defeated Amit Kumar Bharti from the erstwhile Kumarkhaand assembly seat in the Madhepura distrct.

  Singheshwar which became a reserved seat for the scheduled castes candidates before 2010, was won by Rameshwar Prasad Yadav of the JD (U) in both the elections in 2005.

  Earlier Singheshwar had elected Pappu Yadav in 1990 as an Independent. In 1995 he was defeated from the Purnia assembly constituency by Ajit Sarkar for whose murder Pappu Yadav was convicted of by a lower court. Pappu Yadav was later acquitted of the charges by the higher court. Pappu Yadav is the currently RJD MP from Madhepura. His wife Ranjita Ranjan is the currently Congress MP from Supaul parliamentary constituency.

  Singheshwar is one of the six assembly constituencies that combine to form the parliamentary constituency of Supaul which is currently represented by Ranjita Ranjan of the Congress who won the seat by defeating his nearest rival Dileshwar Kamait of the JD (U) in the 2014 Lok Sabha elections. Kameshwar Choupal of the BJP came third. Ranjita Ranjan is the wife of Pappu Yadav who was elected on the ticket of the RJD from Madhepura in 2014.

  Other assembly constituencies located in the Supaul Lok Sabha constituency are Pipra, Nirmali, Supaul, Triveniganj, and Singheshwar.

Singheshwar Assembly Election News 2015

HAM-S is ready for battle

Updated on : Oct-19,2015

Hindustani Awam Mocha-Secular (HAM-S) has fielded Manju Devi in this constituency. She will take on the challenge from the sitting MLA Ramesh Rishidev of JD(U). Voters are polarised between two main fronts here in this constituency which is part of Madhepura district. Moreover, Singheshwar is one of the 62 constituencies identified by the Election Commission for the high probability of the use of money and muscle power to woo voters by political parties. Ramesh Rishidev of JD (U) captured the seat having won 72,282 votes in the 2010 assembly election. RJD's Amit Kumar Bharti ended up as the runner-up with 57,086 votes. The Singheshwar assembly segment is a part of the Supaul Lok Sabha constituency, but falls in Madhepura district.

Singheshwar Assembly Election Videos 2015