Sikti Assembly Elections 2015

Sikti Assembly Election Candidates List and Results

Name of the Candidate Party Name Results
VIJAY KUMAR MANDAL Bharatiya Janata Party Won
SHATRUGHAN PRASAD SUMAN Janata Dal (United) 68889
BAL KRISHNA JHA Jan Adhikar Party (Loktantrik) 4725
AZIMUDDIN Nationalist Congress Party 2192
HATIM Janta Dal Rashtravadi 2171
VINOD RISHIDEV Bahujan Samaj Party 1853
B. K. ANITA Communist Party of India (Marxist-Leninist) (Liberation) 979
LUKMAN Independent 946
JAI NARAYAN SADA Socialist Janata Party 728
ASHOK SAH New All India Congress Party 563
None of the Above None of the Above 4052

Sikti Assembly Elections Schedule

AC No Category Poll Phases Last Date of Nominations Date of Polls Result
122 SC Phase V Oct 18th 2015 Nov 5th 2015 Nov 8th 2015

About Sikti Assembly Elections Constituency

Sikti is a part of Araria Lok Sabha constituency. Sikti comprises Chahatpur, Balua Kaliyaganj, Pipra Bijwar, Baradbatta, Kankhudia, Chouri, Dighli, Dehti South, Dehti North and Dharamganj gram panchayats of Palasi community development block, Kursakanta and Sikti CD blocks. A total of 2,42,620 eligible electors are there in this constituency, amongst them are 1,27,492 male and 1,15,124 female.

Electoral History of Sikti Constituency in Bihar

One of the six assembly constituencies located in the Araria district in Bihar, Sikti assembly constituency is currently being represented in the Bihar Legislative assembly by Anandi Yadav of the BJP who won the seat in 2010 general assembly polls to the state by defeating his nearest rival Vijay Kumar Mandal of the Lok Janashakti Party (LJP) by a margin of 9874 votes. In that election, whereas Anandi Yadav, who had won the seat in 2000 as a BJP nominee, polled 42076 votes, Vijay Kumar Mandal received 32202 votes and was followed by Shagufta Azim of the Congress who managed to get 20280 votes.

The sitting MLA Murlidhar Mandal, who had won both the assembly elections in 2005, entered the fray as an Independent after the seat was allotted to the BJP under the seat sharing arrangement with the JD(U). He had won the November election in 2005 as a candidate of Janata Dal (United). He was relegated to the fifth place with 12496 votes.

Vijay Kumar Mandal had romped home from Araria assembly seat in 1995 and 2000. In 1995 he had entered the portals of the Bihar assembly on the ticket of Bihar Peoples Party (BPP) which was founded by Anand Mohan Singh who is now in jail for his involvement in the murder of an IAS officer. Vijay Kumar Mandal once again claimed the Araria seat in a byelection in 2009 as a LJP candidate. Shagufta Azim is the daughter-in-law of Md Azimuddin who had been elected from the Sikti in 1977 and 1990. Earlier Anandi Yadav had emerged victorious by defeating Md Azimuddin by a margin of 14183 votes. Anandi Yadav had unsuccessfully contested Sikti in 1995 on the ticket of Samajwadi Party.

Rameshwar Yadav had won the Sikti assembly seat for the Congress in 1985 and 1995.

Sikti is one of the six assembly segments that combine to form the parliamentary constituency of Araria currently represented by Tasilmuddin of the RJD who won it by defeating his nearest rival and sitting MP Pradeep Kumar Singh by a margin of 146506 votes in the last Lok Sabha general elections in 2014.

Sikti Assembly Election News 2015

Updated on : Oct-12,2015

JD(U) has fielded Shatrughan Mandal from Sikti. He will take on Vijay Mandal from BJP who was the runner-up in the 2010 assembly election. Vijay Mandal is a known face in Sikti. But he will face a tough contestant in Shatrughan Mandal this time. The hectic campaign by the BJP's central leadership and the sentiments of young voters will work to the advantage of the saffron candidate. BJP's Anandi Prasad Yadav represents Sikti segment in the assembly. Yadav won the seat in the 2010 assembly election by bagging 42,076 votes. He defeated Vijay Kumar Mandal of Lok Janshakti Party (LJP) who won 32,202 votes. Sikti is a part of Araria Lok Sabha constituency of Bihar.

Sikti Assembly Election Videos 2015