Sikandra Assembly Elections 2015

Sikandra Assembly Election Candidates List and Results

Name of the Candidate Party Name Results
SUBHASH CHANDRA BOSH Lok Jan Shakti Party 51102
GIRJA CHOUDHRY Communist Party of India 8026
GOLDEN KUMAR Garib Janta Dal (Secular) 4431
RAVISHANKAR PASWAN Samras Samaj Party 3350
JAGDISH PRASAD DAS Bahujan Mukti Party 3213
REKHA DAS Bahujan Samaj Party 2021
None of the Above None of the Above 3924

Sikandra Assembly Elections Schedule

AC No Category Poll Phases Last Date of Nominations Date of Polls Result
240 SC Phase I Sep 23rd 2015 Oct 12th 2015 Nov 8th 2015

About Sikandra Assembly Elections Constituency

Sikandra is part of the Jamui (SC) Lok Sabha (parliamentary) constituency. It has a total of 2,56,645 people amongst all the voters in the constituency, 1,35,592 are men and 1,20,047 are women. The assembly segment of Sikandra comprises Bishanpur, Harkhar, Gopalpur, Arnamawabank, Nim Nawada, Harni, Bhimain, Garhi, Goli, Raipura, Amari and Khaira gram panchayats of Khaira community development block; Sikandra community development block; and Islamnagar Aliganj community development block. The constituency is reserved for the candidates belonging to Scheduled Castes (SCs).

Electoral History of Sikandra Constituency in Bihar

One of the six assembly constituencies located in the Jamui district of Bihar, Sikandra is currently represented by Rameshwar Paswan of the Janata Dal (United) who had won it a number of times. He had retained the seat in the last assembly elections to the state in 2010 by defeating his nearest rival Subhash Chandra Bosh of the Ramvilas Paswan led Lok Janashakti Party (LJP) by a margin of 12361 votes.

In that election while Rameshwar Paswan polled 39829 votes, Subhash Chandra Bosh alias Subhas Paswan received 27468 votes and was followed by Mahadeo Prasad of the Communist Party of India (CPI) who received 8888 votes. Sindhu Paswan, who entered the fray on the ticket of the Congress, had to be satisfied with 7499 votes and was followed by former CPI MLA Prayag Chaudhary who got 3704 votes.

Earlier Rameshwar Paswan had won both the elections to the Sikandra seat in 2005. In both the elections, his nearest rival was Prayag Chaudhary who had entered the fray on the ticket of the Rashtriya Janata Dal (RJD). It won’t be out of the context to mention that Bihar went to the assembly polls twice in 2005 because the earlier one held in February threw hung assembly necessitating the holding of the second assembly polls in the month of November of the same year. While Rameshwar Paswan claimed the seat in the November elections as a candidate of the JD (U), he emerged victorious in February on the ticket of the LJP.

Rameshwar Paswan had also won the seat for the Congress in 1969, 1972, 1985. He won from the seat also as an Independent in 1980.

Prayag Chaudhary had claimed the Sikandra assembly seat three times in a row (1990, 1995 and 2000). While his first two wins came as a candidate of the CPI, he claimed the seat in 2000 on the ticket of the Kosal Party (KSP) which had won two seats in that year.

Sikandra was made a reserved seat for candidates being to scheduled castes from 1967. In 1962, the constituency had elected Mushtaque Ahmed Shah, father of NCP leader Tariq Anwar who broke from the Congress along with Sharad Pawar on the issue of Sonia Gandhi’s foreign origin.

Sikandra is one of the six assembly segments the combination of which goes on to create the parliamentary constituency of Jamui which is currently represented by Chirag Paswan of the LJP who won it by defeating his nearest RJD rival Sudhansu Shekhar Bhaskar in 2014 Lok Sabha elections. The JDU nominee and Bihar Assembly Speaker Uday Narayan Choudhary was relegated to the third place.

Chakai, Tarapur, Sheikhpura, Jamui and Jhajha are other five assembly segments located in the Lok Sabha constituency of Jamui, reserved for candidates belonging to scheduled castes.

Sikandra Assembly Election News 2015

A JD(U) citadel

Updated on : Sep 29,2015

This constituency along with Jamui, Jhajha and Chakai form Jamui district that was carved out of Munger district in 1991. Sikandra has been the stronghold of JD(U). However, JD(U) has given this seat to its partner Congress in the election. Banti Chaudhary from Congress will take on the NDA candidate in this constituency. LJP candidate Subhash Chandra Bose will lock horns with Congress in the first phase of election.

Sikandra Assembly Election Videos 2015