Sherghati Assembly Elections 2015

Sherghati Assembly Election Candidates List and Results

Name of the Candidate Party Name Results
VINOD PRASAD YADAV Janata Dal (United) Won
MUKESH KUMAR YADAV Hindustani Awam Morcha (Secular) 39745
MANJU AGRAWAL Independent 29671
MD.RAZA KHAN Independent 5014
AKHILESH KUMAR Jharkhand Mukti Morcha 4113
MUKESH KUMAR Independent 3531
DINESH KUMAR DINBANDHU Bahujan Samaj Party 2997
MOHAMMAD SHAHID ALAM Nationalist Congress Party 2852
SHILA KUMARI Communist Party of India (Marxist-Leninist) (Liberation) 2673
BADHAN BHUIYAN Independent 2472
SUKHDEO YADAV Pragatisheel Magahi Samaj 1801
None of the Above None of the Above 6482

Sherghati Assembly Elections Schedule

AC No Category Poll Phases Last Date of Nominations Date of Polls Result
226 GEN Phase II Sep 21st 2015 Oct 16th 2015 Nov 8th 2015

About Sherghati Assembly Election Constituency

Sherghati legislative assembly segments is a part of the Gaya Lok Sabha constituency. A total of 2,32,999 people in the Sherghati assembly segment hold the right to vote, out of whom 1,21,853 are men and 1,11,133 women. Sherghati constituency comprises Dobhi, Sherghati and Amas community development blocks.

Electoral History of Sherghati Constituency in Bihar

In the last general assembly elections to Bihar in 2010, the Maoist-dominated Sherghati assembly constituency had sent Vinod Prasad Yadav of the Janata Dal (United) to the Bihar legislative assembly. In that election he had polled 25447 votes to trounce his nearest rival Sushama Devi by a margin of 6503 votes.

While 25447 votes were polled in favour of Vinod Prasad Yadav who had joined the JD (U) after quitting Rashtriya Janata Dal (RJD) barely some weeks before the elections, Sushama Devi, who entered the fray as an Independent and more commonly known as Manju Agrawal, received 18944 votes and was followed by the veteran (RJD) leader and former law minister of Bihar, Shakil Ahmad Khan, who secured 18623 votes.

Shakil Ahmad Khan had earlier won the Gurua assembly seat in Gaya in 2000 and 2005.

Surindra Kumar Suman, popularly known as Bhagat Yadav, who entered the fray as an Independent came fourth with 15007 votes. Though a criminal lawyer, Bhagat Yadav has many cases registered against him in different districts of Bihar and Jharkhand.

In the 2010 election to Sherghati, which was created before the 2010 assembly elections on the recommendations of the Delimitation Commission, Chandrika Prasad Yadav of the Congress was relegated to the ninth slot with just 2487 votes. The congress had won only four seats in 2010 assembly polls to Bihar. While the BJP, which contested the elections in alliance with the JD (U), managed to claim 91 seats, while the latter emerged victorious from 115 constituencies. The RJD put up a dismal performance with only 22 seats.

In 2010 Lok Janashakti Party (LJP) did not field its candidate because it was in alliance with the RJD in 2010 assembly polls. However, as things stand today, the BJP and the JD (U) have parted ways and the LJP is now a part of the BJP led NDA, the ruling dispensation at the Centre.

Sherghati is one of the seven assembly constituencies that combine to create the Gaya parliamentary constituency currently represented by Hari Manjhi of the BJP who retained the seat by defeating his nearest RJD rival Ramji Manjhi by a margin of 115504 votes in the last parliamentary elections in 2014. Jitan Ram Manjhi, who entered the fray on the ticket of the JD (U), was relegated to the third place.

Barachatti, Bodh Gaya, Gaya Town, Belaganj, Wazirganj and Guraru are the other six assembly constituencies falling under Gaya Lok Sabha seat reserved for candidates belonging to scheduled castes.

Sherghati Assembly Election News 2015

Clash of two Yadavs

Mukesh Kumar alias Krishan Yadav from HAM-S led by Jitan Ram Manji will face a stiff opposition from Vinod Prasad Yadav from JD(U) in this constituency. Caste and community affiliations are strong here. And people generally vote based on a candidate's background and his or her caste. Sherghati witnesses a direct fight between two Yadavs. Vinod Yadav, the sitting JD(U) MLA and panchayati raj minister, is being challenged by fellow casteman and HAM(S) candidate Krishna Yadav.

Kishanganj Assembly Election Videos 2015