Sheohar Assembly Elections 2015

Sheohar Assembly Election Candidates List and Results

Name of the Candidate Party Name Results
SHARFUDDIN Janata Dal (United) Won
LABHALI ANAND Hindustani Awam Morcha (Secular) 44115
THAKUR RATNAKAR Independent 22309
AJIT KUMAR JHA Samajwadi Party 15891
MANOJ KUMAR Socialist Party (India) 3684
MANOJ UPADHYAY Independent 3418
MO IMAMUDIN Bahujan Samaj Party 2906
SANJAY KUMAR Independent 2834
QUAMRUZZAMA Garib Janta Dal (Secular) 2370
MANISHA DEVI Independent 2028
AKHILESH KUMAR SINGH All India Forward Bloc 1535
None of the Above None of the Above 4383

Sheohar Assembly Elections Schedule

AC No Category Poll Phases Last Date of Nominations Date of Polls Result
22 GEN Phase IV Oct 7th 2015 Nov 1st 2015 Nov 8th 2015

About Sheohar Assembly Elections Constituency

Sheohar assembly constituency is located in the Sheohar district and is part of the Sheohar Lok Sabha constituency, It has 2,56,209 eligible voters of whom there are 1,36,613 men and 1,19,591 women voters. Sheohar assembly constituency comprises Purnahiya, Dumri Katsari, Piprarhi and Sheohar community development blocks.

Electoral History of Sheohar Constituency in Bihar

Located in the district of the same name in Bihar, Sheohar assembly constituency had elected in the last general assembly polls in Bihar in 2010 Sharfuddin of the Janata Dal (United) who won the seat by defeating his nearest rival Pratima Devi of the Bahujan Samaj Party (BSP) by a narrow margin of 1631 votes. While 40447 votes were polled in favour of Sharfuddin, the BSP candidate secured 38816 votes.

In that election, the sitting Rashtirya Janata Dal (RJD) MLA Ajit Kumar Jha was relegated to the third position with 24838 votes. He had won the seat in both the February and November polls to the Bihar legislative assembly in 2005. It may be noted that Bihar went to the assembly polls twice in 2005 because the earlier one held in February threw hung assembly necessitating the holding of the second assembly polls in the month of November of the same year.

Earlier Raghunath Jha, father of Ajit Kumar Jha, had been elected from the Sheohar assembly seat six times in a row from 1972. He had won the seat in 1972, 1977, 1980, 1985, 1990 and 1995. While his first three wins came as a candidate of the Congress, he won the seat in 1985 as a member Janata Party. In 1990 and 1995 he emerged victorious on the ticket of the Janata Dal. In 1995 he had defeated Anand Mohan Singh, the founder of the Bihar Peoples Party, who is now cooling his heels in the jail for murdering a district Magistrate. Raghunath Jha had unsuccessfully contested the Paschim Champaran parliamentary constituency in the 2014 Lok Sabha elections on the ticket of the RJD.

In 2000, Sheohar was won by the RJD candidate Sataya Nr. Prasad who had trounced Ajit Kumar Jha by a margin of 5019 votes. Ajit Kumar Jha was in the fray as a candidate of Samata Party, the earlier avatar of Janata Dal (United). Sheohar is one of the six assembly constituencies that combine to form the parliamentary constituency of the same name which is currently represented by Rama Devi of the BJP who retained the seat by defeating former Sheohar MP and candidate Mohammad Anwarul Haque in the 2014 Lok Sabha elections.

Other five assembly constituencies are Madhuban, Chiraiya, Dhaka, Riga and Belsand.

Sheohar Assembly Election News 2015

JD(U) candidate has an edge

Updated on : Oct-8,2015

Hindustani Awam Morcha-Secular (HAM-S) has fielded Lovely Anand in Sheohar. Sharfuddin from JD(U) has a clear edge given the caste matrix and the development works of CM Nitish Kumar Sharfuddin of JD(U) is the sitting MLA of the constituency. Sharfuddin defeated Bahujan Samaj Party's (BSP) Pratima Devi in the assembly elections held in November 2010. In that election, Sharfuddin bagged 40,447 votes against 38,816 votes of Pratima Devi.

Sheohar Assembly Election Videos 2015