Shahpur Assembly Elections 2015

Shahpur Assembly Election Candidates List and Results

Name of the Candidate Party Name Results
RAHUL TIWARY Rashtriya Janata Dal Won
VISHESHWAR OJHA Bharatiya Janata Party 54745
KRISHNA BIHARI SINGH Jan Adhikar Party (Loktantrik) 3680
SACHIN KUMAR GUPTA Independent 2914
RADHA BIHARI OJHA Independent 2337
MITHILES CHOUBEY Bahujan Samaj Party 2129
BINOD KUMAR TIWARY Independent 1803
LAL BAHADUR MAHATO Samras Samaj Party 1310
BRINDA NAND SINGH Communist Party of India (Marxist-Leninist) (Liberation) 1138
GAUTTAM OJHA Independent 543
NANHAK SINGH Bahujan Mukti Party 429
None of the Above None of the Above 2641

Shahpur Assembly Elections Schedule

AC No Category Poll Phases Last Date of Nominations Date of Polls Result
198 GEN Phase III Oct 1st 2015 Oct 28th 2015 Nov 8th 2015

About Shahpur Assembly Elections Constituency

Shahpur is a legislative assembly segment s a part of the Arrah Lok Sabha constituency and is situated in the Bhojpur district of Bihar. . There are 2,65,171 eligible voters in the Shahpur legislative assembly segment, including 1,49,447 men and 1,15,712 women. The Shahpur constituency consists of Behea and Shahpur community development block.

Electoral History of Shahpur Constituency in Bihar

Shahpur, one of the seven assembly constituencies located in the district of Bhojpur in the state of Bihar, is currently represented by Munni Devi of the BJP who polled 44795 votes to defeat Dharmpal Singh of Rashtriya Janata Dal (RJD) by a comfortable margin of 82114 votes in the last assembly polls in 2010.

In that election, while Munni Devi, who had also emerged victorious from the seat in the previous assembly elections held in October/November in 2005, received 44795 votes, Dharmpal Singh, a former MLA, got 36584 votes and was followed by Krishna Bihari Singh of the Bahujan Samaj Party (BSP) with 11274 votes.

While Srishivajeet Mishra, who entered the fray as a candidate of the Deve Gowda led Janata Dal (Secular), the Congress nominee Malti Devi was relegated to a poor sixth place with just 2348 votes.

In 2005 October elections, Munni Devi had defeated the sitting RJD MLA Shivanand Tiwari who was elected in the previous assembly polls held in February that year by virtue of his win over Dharmpal Singh, then a Lok Janashakti Party (LJP) candidate.

Before that in 2000, Shivanand Tiwari, a former excise minister in the Rabri Devi government, had defeated the same opponent Dharmpal Singh, then a sitting Janata Dal legislator. Dharmpal Singh had entered the 2000 election as a nominee of the Samata Party, which was a spin off from the Janata Dal. Samata Party is the earlier incarnation of the JD (U).

Earlier Dharmpal Singh had defeated Shivanand Tiwari in 1990 and 1995. A prominent Bihar politician and a party hopper, Shivanand Tiwar was elected to the Rajya Sabha on the ticket of the JD (U) in 2008.

Shahpur is one of the seven assembly constituencies that unite to form the Arrah parliamentary constituency currently represented by Raj Kumar Singh of the BJP who won the seat by defeating his nearest RJD rival Sribhagwan Singh Kushwaha by a margin of 135870 votes in the last parliamentary elections in 2014.

The sitting JD (U) MP Meena Singh was relegated to the fourth place with CPIML nominee Raju Yadav claiming the third spot.

Sandesh, Barhara, Agiaon, Arrah, Tarari and Jagdishpur are the other six assembly segments located in the Arrah parliamentary constituency.

Shahpur Assembly Election News 2015

BJP hopes to retain seat

Updated on : Oct-4,2015

Vishveshwar Ojha (BJP) is locking horns with Rahul Tiwary (RJD) in Shahpur in Buxar district. In the last Assembly polls, the BJP - then in alliance with the JD(U) - fielded Munni Devi from Shahpur. She is a relative of a local don. She bagged a total of 44,795 votes in the assembly election held in November 2010 and beat Dharmpal Singh of RJD, who won 36,584 votes.

Shahpur Assembly Election Videos 2015