Sasaram Assembly Elections 2015

Sasaram Assembly Election Candidates List and Results

Name of the Candidate Party Name Results
ASHOK KUMAR Rashtriya Janata Dal Won
JAWAHAR PRASAD Bharatiya Janata Party 63154
KRISHNA KUMAR SINGH Independent 9247
DINESHWAR SINGH Bahujan Samaj Party 3793
SATENDRA SAH Samajwadi Party 2646
JYOTI RASHMI Rashtra Sewa Dal 1475
SATYANAND KUMAR Independent 1442
CHANDRAMA DAS Independent 1248
DAYA SHANKAR PANDEY Independent 1245
DIPAK KUMAR SINGH Independent 1112
DEEN DAYAL SINGH Independent 755
ARJUN KUMAR SINGH Independent 712
PARMANAND SINGH KUSHWAHA Rashtriya Samanta Dal 610
MOHAMMAD SATAR ANSARI Communist Party of India (Marxist) 577
None of the Above None of the Above 3248

Sasaram Assembly Elections Schedule

AC No Category Poll Phases Last Date of Nominations Date of Polls Result
208 GEN Phase II Sep 21st 2015 Oct 16th 2015 Nov 8th 2015

About Sasaram Assembly Elections Constituency

Sasaram is a Lok Sabha constituency as well as a legislative assembly segment. It is located in the Rohtas district of the state. The Sasaram legislative assembly segment has a electorate of around 3,08,078 eligible voters, out of whom 1,66,002 are males and 1,42,075 are females. The Sasaram legislative assembly segment comprises Tilouthu and Sasaram community development blocks.

Electoral History of Sasaram Constituency in Bihar

One of the seven assembly constituencies located in the Rohtas district of Bihar, Sasaram is currently held by Jawahar Prasad who won the seat for the fifth time for the BJP by defeating his nearest Rashtriya Janata Dal (RJD) candidate Ashok Kumar by a simple margin of 5411 votes in a bipolar fight in the last general assembly elections to Bihar in 2010.

In that election while Jawahar Prasad polled 50856 votes, Ashok Kumar , former RJD MLA, received 45445 votes and was remotely followed by Sarwar Ali Khan of the Mayawati led Bahujan Samaj Party (BSP) who got 9990 votes.

Jawahar Prasad had emerged victorious from the Sasaram assembly seat in both the elections in 2005. He was defeated by Ashok Kumar in 2000. Before that he had won in 1990 and 1995.

The Congress has won the Sasaram assembly seat last time way back in 1967 when its nominee Binod Behari Singh was elected by virtue of his victory over Bipin Behari Singh.

Sasaram assembly seat in favour of Ramsevak Singh who was elected in 1972, 1980 and 1985.

Sasaram is one of the six assembly segments the combination of which goes on to create the parliamentary constituency of Sasaram which is currently represented by Chhedi Paswan of the BJP who won it by defeating the sitting Congress MP and former Speaker Meira Kumar by margin of 63327 votes in 2014 Lok Sabha elections. The JD(U) nominee Karra Parasu Ramaiah was relegated to the third place.

Other assembly segments located in the Lok Sabha constituency of Sasaram are Bhabua, Mohania, Chainpur, Chenari and Kargahar.

Sasaram Assembly Election News 2015

Arch rivals slug it out

In Sasaram assembly seat, the two main contenders have been facing each other for the last six elections. Jawahar Prasad (BJP) and Dr Ashok Kumar Singh (RJD) have been fighting the assembly election from Sasaram since 1995. In 2000 election, Dr Ashok reached the assembly for the first time defeating the sitting BJP MLA Jawahar Prasad. The RJD candidate is trying to wrest the seat for the second time from his political rival of 20 years and BJP candidate Jawahar Prasad. The Rohtas district goes to polls in the second phase on October 16.

Sasaram Assembly Election Videos 2015