Sandesh Assembly Elections 2015

Sandesh Assembly Election Candidates List and Results

Name of the Candidate Party Name Results
ARUN KUMAR Rashtriya Janata Dal Won
SANJAY SINGH (TIGER) Bharatiya Janata Party 48879
RAJU YADAV Communist Party of India (Marxist-Leninist) (Liberation) 15879
BABAN KUMAR Jan Adhikar Party (Loktantrik) 1350
RAMDEV SINGH Independent 1207
SANTOSH KUMAR SINGH Bahujan Samaj Party 844
RANJIT KUMAR Samajwadi Party 689
RAMJI SINGH Bahujan Mukti Party 622
RAJ KUMAR CHAUDHARI Hindustan Vikas Dal 600
MOBARAK HUSSAIN Janta Dal Rashtravadi 588
MITHILESH KUMAR Independent 568
None of the Above None of the Above 3713

Sandesh Assembly Elections Schedule

AC No Category Poll Phases Last Date of Nominations Date of Polls Result
192 GEN Phase III Oct 1st 2015 Oct 28th 2015 Nov 8th 2015

About Sandesh Assembly Elections Constituency

Sandesh is located in the Bhojpur district of Bihar. The Sandesh assembly segment is home to 2,40,141 people amongst them, there are 1,30,172 men and 1,09,871 women. The Sandesh assembly segment comprises Koilwar (Nagar Panchayat), Sakaddi, Jokta, Kulharia, Jalpura, Dhandiha, Gopalpur, Bhadwar, Khangaon and Narbirpur gram panchayats of Koilwar community development block; Udwant Nagar community development block; and Sandesh community development block.

Electoral History of Sandesh Constituency in Bihar

One of the seven assembly constituencies located in the district of Bhojpur in the state of Bihar, Sandesh assembly constituency had elected Sanjay Singh (Tiger) of the BJP in the last general assembly elections to Bihar held in 2010.

In that election, Sanjay Singh polled 29988 votes to defeat his nearest rival Arun Kumar by a margin of 6822 votes. Arun Kumar who received 23166 votes was followed by the sitting Rahstirya Janata Dal (RJD) MLA Vijendra Kumar Yadav who secured 16779 votes. Former MLA Rameshwar Prasad of the CPIML came fourth with 15095 votes. He had won the Arrah Lok Sabha seat as a nominee of the Indian People's Front in 1989. Shashi Kumar Singh, who entered the fray on the ticket of the Congress, was relegated to the seventh place with just 2067 votes.

In the previous October/November assembly elections held in 2005, Vijendra Kumar Yadav had claimed the seat for the RJD by defeating Sanjay Singh (Tiger) of the BJP by 11493 votes though he lost to Rameshwar Prasad in the election held in February.

It is worth mentioning that Bihar went to the assembly polls twice in that year because the earlier one held in February threw hung assembly necessitating the holding of the second assembly polls in October /November of the same year.

In 2000, Sandesh had elected Vijendra Kumar Yadav who had defeated his nearest rival Sonadhari Singh, the winner of the seat in 1985 and 1990. While Vijendra Kumar Yadav polled 47393 votes, Sonadhari Singh, then a Samata Party nominee, secured 32356 votes and was followed by the sitting CPIML MLA Rameshwar Prasad who polled 28776 votes.

Rameshwar Prasad had emerged victorious from the seat in the previous assembly elections held in 1995 by defeating his nearest rival Sidhnath Roy of the Congress who had won in 1980. Sonadhari Singh, the sitting Janata Dal MLA, was relegated to the third place.

Bhartiya Jana Sangh, the earlier avatar of the BJP, had claimed the Sandesh assembly seat in 1969 and 1972 when it candidate Ramji Prasad Singh had emerged winner.

Sandesh is one of the seven assembly constituencies that unite to form the Arrah parliamentary constituency currently represented by Raj Kumar Singh of the BJP who won the seat by defeating his nearest RJD rival Sribhagwan Singh Kushwaha by a margin of 135870 votes in the last parliamentary elections in 2014. The sitting JD (U) MP Meena Singh was relegated to the fourth place with CPIML nominee Raju Yadav claiming the third spot.

Barhara, Agiaon, Arrah, Tarari, Jagdishpur and Shahpur are the other six assembly segments located in the Arrah parliamentary constituency.

Sandesh Assembly Election News 2015

Caste factor may turn either way

Updated on : Oct-3,2015

BJP has fielded Sanjay Singh Tiger from Sandesh constituency. Sitting MLA Sanjay Singh has defeated Arun Kumar representing Congress then in 2010 assembly election by a margin of over 6,000 votes. While Arun Kumar from RJD is amassing his cadres to give a tough fight to the BJP candidate. Caste equations and development issues will be two key factors that will determine the outcome here in Sandesh.

Sandesh Assembly Election Videos 2015