Sakra Assembly Elections 2015

Sakra Assembly Election Candidates List and Results

Name of the Candidate Party Name Results
LAL BABU RAM Rashtriya Janata Dal Won
ARJUN RAM Bharatiya Janata Party 61998
BARUN KUMAR Communist Party of India 1766
UMESH KUMAR RAM Independent 1678
MUKESH PASWAN Sarvajan Kalyan Loktantrik Party 1205
DR. ABHAY KUMAR Aap Aur Hum Party 1058
SATISH KUMAR Samajwadi Party 796
SAMATA PRAKASH BHARATI Bahujan Mukti Party 728
RAGHUNATH RAM Rashtriya Samanta Dal 592
RANDHIR KUMAR RAM Bajjikanchal Vikas Party 531
SHANKAR RAM Bahujan Samaj Party 469
BHOLA PASWAN Bharat Nirman Party 379
PREM KUMAR Garib Janta Dal (Secular) 336
None of the Above None of the Above 4804

Sakra Assembly Elections Schedule

AC No Category Poll Phases Last Date of Nominations Date of Polls Result
92 SC Phase IV Oct 7th 2015 Nov 1st 2015 Nov 8th 2015

About Sakra Assembly Elections Constituency

The Sakra assembly constituency is in Muzaffarpur district and reserved for Scheduled Casts (SC). Sakra comprises the Dholi Muraul and Sakra community development blocks. There are a total of 2,25,874 voters of these, 1,19,553 are males, while 1,06,319 are female.

Electoral History of Sakra Constituency in Bihar

  Located in the Mujaffarpur district of Bihar, SaKra assembly constituency had elected in the last assembly polls to Bihar in 2010 Suresh Chanchal of the Janata Dal (united) who had defeated his nearest Rashtriya Janata Dal rival Lal Babu Ram by a margin of 13045 votes in a direct fight. Suresh Chanchal’s membership of the Bihar Assembly has been suspended by the Bihar assembly Speaker Udai Narain Choudhury.

   In that assembly election to the Maoist-hit Sakra constituency, while Suresh Chanchal had polled 55486 votes, the RJD candidate received 42441 votes was followed the Congress nominee Umesh Kumar Ram who got 6242 votes. The sitting JD (U) MLA Bilat Paswan, who was denied ticket by the party, entered the contest as an independent and was placed fourth with 3065 votes.

  The BJP had not fielded its candidate from the Sakra seat as it had jointly contested the 2010 assembly elections to Bihar with the JD (U). In 2010 the RJD and the Lok Janashakti Party (LJP) went to the polls together. Equations have changed now. The JD (U), the RJD and the Congress have come together to fight the forthcoming assembly elections.

  Earlier Bilat Paswan had emerged victorious from the Sakra assembly constituency in both the elections in 2005. In 2005 February elections he had trounced the sitting RJD legislator Shital Ram. Kamal Paswan was elected from the seat in 1990 and 1995 on the ticket of Janata Dal which later disintegrated into several splinter groups including RJD and JD(U)

  Sakra is one of the six assembly constituencies that combine to form the parliamentary constituency of Muzaffarpur which is currently represented by Ajay Nishad of the BJP who won the seat by defeating his nearest Congress rival Akhilesh Prasad Singh by a massive margin of 2, 22,422 votes in the 2014 Lok Sabha elections that elected the Narendra Modi government at the centre. Vijendra Chaudhary of the JD (U) came third in 2014 parliamentary elections to the Muzaffarpur. Vijendra Chaudhary has won the Muzaffarpur assembly seat four times (1995, 2000 and February as well as October/November 2005). Bijendra Chaudhary, who contested the Kurhani assembly seat in 2010 on the ticket of the LJP, was defeated by Manoj Kumar Singh of the Janata Dal (United) by a close margin of 1570 votes.

  Other five assembly constituencies that fall under the Muzaffarpur Lok Sabha seat are Kurhani, Aurai, Gaighat, Bochahan, and Muzaffarpur.

Sakra Assembly Election News 2015

RJD will give a good fight

Updated on : Oct-9,2015

Arjun Ram from BJP is contesting here facing a stiff oppoistion from Lalbabu Ram from RJD. Lalbabu Ram was the runner-up in the last assembly election held in 2010. Sitting JD(U) MLA Suresh Chanchal has joined BJP along with three of his colleagues revolting against the Nitish leadership in August 2015. Sakra assembly is in Muzaffarpur district. Only candidates belonging to the Scheduled Casts (SC) are eligible to contest the Sakra assembly seat. At present, Sakra is represented by Suresh Chanchal of JD(U) in the state legislative assembly. Chanchal won 55,486 votes in the 2010 assembly election. He defeated RJD's Lal Babu Ram by a margin of 13,045 votes.

Sakra Assembly Election Videos 2015