Sahebpur Kamal Assembly Elections 2015

Sahebpur Kamal Assembly Election Candidates List and Results

Name of the Candidate Party Name Symbol Allotted Results
SHREENARAYAN YADAV Rashtriya Janata Dal Won
M.D. ASLAM Lok Jan Shakti Party 32751
SURENDRA VIVEK Independent 12259
S.M. NOOR ALAM Communist Party of India (Marxist-Leninist) (Liberation) 2198
MAULANA KASIM Independent 1874
SARITA DEVI Bahujan Samaj Party 1804
RAJ KUMAR PRASAD Jan Adhikar Party (Loktantrik) 1013
DR. RAM UDAY SHARMA Shoshit Samaj Dal 819
MAKKHAN SAH Bhartiya Jantantrik Janata Dal 724
PRAVIN KUMAR Bahujan Mukti Party 685
MOBASSIR AHMAD Naya Daur Party 654
None of the Above None of the Above 3941

Sahebpur Kamal Assembly Elections Schedule

AC No Category Poll Phases Last Date of Nominations Date of Polls Result
145 GEN Phase I Sep 23rd 2015 Oct 12th 2015 Nov 8th 2015

About Sahebpur Kamal Assembly Elections Constituency

Sahebpur Kamal legislative assembly segment is part of Begusarai Lok Sabha constituency. It is composed of Sahebpur Kamal and Ballia community development blocks.

Electoral History of Sahebpur Kamal Constituency in Bihar

One of the seven assembly constituencies located in the Begusarai district in Bihar, Sahebpur Kamal Kamal is currently held by Shreenarayan Yadav of the Rashtirya Janata Dal (RJD) who wrested the seat from the BJP by defeating Shashi kant kumar of the BJP by a massive margin of 38,999 votes in a byepoll held to the seat which was held alongside the Lok Sabha polls in 2014.

The by-election was necessitated due to the resignation of its sitting Janata Dal (United) MLA and minister Parveen Amanullah who quit the JD (U) to join the Aam Aadmi Party (AAP). Parveen Amanullah unsuccessfully contested the Patna Sahib Lok Sabha seat in 2014 on the ticket of the AAP and was placed ninth with 16381 votes.

In 2010, Parveen Amanullah had won the Sahebpur Kamal Kamal assembly seat by defeating her nearest rival and RJD nominee Shreenarayan Yadav by a margin of 11111 votes. While 46391 votes were polled in favour of Parveen Amanullah, Shreenarayan Yadav, a former minister in the Lalu-Rabri regime, received 35280 votes and was followed by the Congress candidate Rakesh Singh who got 9578 votes. Vidyanand Yadav, who entered the fray as a member of the Communist Party of India (Marxists), came fourth with 4553 votes.

Daughter of former Lok Sabha MP Syed Shahabuddin , Parveen Amanullah was one of the two Muslim women MLAs who entered the Bihar legislative assembly in 2010. Rajiya Khatoon from Kalyanpur assembly seat in Purvi Champaran district is the other one. Since 1985, barring these two, no Muslim woman has been in the state assembly.

Under the seat sharing arrangement between the Janata Dal (United) and the BJP in 2010, the Sahebpur Kamal Kamal seat was allotted to the former. However, as things stand today, the BJP and the JD (U) have parted ways. The JD (U), the RJD and the Congress have joined forces to fight the BJP.

Sahebpur Kamal Kamal , which came into being before the Bihar 2010 assembly elections on the recommendations of the Delimitation Commission, is one of the seven assembly constituencies that combine to form the parliamentary constituency of Begusarai which is currently represented by Bhola Singh of the BJP who won the seat in the 2014 Lok Sabha elections that elected the Narendra Modi government at the centre.

Other six assembly constituencies that fall under the Begusarai Lok Sabha seat are Matihani. Begusarai , Bakhri, Bachhwara, Cheria Bariarpur and Teghra.

Sahebpur Kamal Assembly Election News 2015

JD(U) may find in difficult

Updated on : Sep-29,2015

Parveen Amanullah is one of the two Muslim women to be elected on a JD(U) ticket from Sahebpur-Kamal constituency in the last election. But she quit Kumar's cabinet before the last Lok Sabha polls and stood as an AAP candidate from Patna Saheb constituency. Amanullah while quitting the cabinet had claimed that her tenure as a Kumar cabinet minister had been stifling and the system had such limitations that it did not allow her to work around it.

LJP has given ticket to Mohammad Aslam in Sahebpur Kamal who has a fair chance of wresting this seat from JD(U) that is marred by dissensions. Parveen says Nitish's efforts to identity himself with AAP's spotless image is an attempt by him to show himself as Mr. Clean. "But that image is by far gone. Those who were glued to AAP via Anna Hazare's movement for Swaraj, will not have it, ever, she said.

Sahebpur Kamal Assembly Election Videos 2015