Saharsa Assembly Elections 2015

Saharsa Assembly Election Candidates List and Results

Name of the Candidate Party Name Results
ARUN KUMAR Rashtriya Janata Dal Won
ALOK RANJAN Bharatiya Janata Party 63644
SANJANA DEVI Jan Adhikar Party (Loktantrik) 6618
RAMESH KUMAR SHARMA Independent 3853
VINOD KUMAR Communist Party of India (Marxist) 3253
RANVEER KUMAR Independent 1878
NIRMAL MISHRA Akhil Bhartiya Mithila Party 1125
MADHAV PRASAD MUKHIYA Sarvajan Kalyan Loktantrik Party 938
RAM SHANKAR KUMAR Garib Janta Dal (Secular) 891
BADRI SHARMA Bahujan Kranti Party (Marxwad-Ambedkarwad) 869
SHAMBHU SAH Bahujan Samaj Party 809
NARESH PRASAD SAH Bahujan Mukti Party 579
DHIRENDRA KUMAR National Janta Party (Indian) 563
None of the Above None of the Above 5211

Saharsa Assembly Elections Schedule

AC No Category Poll Phases Last Date of Nominations Date of Polls Result
75 GEN Phase V Oct 8th 2015 nov 5th 2015 Nov 8th 2015

About Saharsa Assembly Elections Constituency

The assembly segment of Saharsa is a part of the Madhepura Lok Sabha constituency It is in Saharsa district of the state. The Sau Bazaar Kahara community blocks, with Saharsa nagar parishad, is covered by the Saharsa assembly constituency as per the orders of the Saharsa assembly constituency. It has 3,18,057 eligible voters, among those are 1,66,892 men and 1,51,159 women.

Electoral History of Saharsa Constituency in Bihar

  One of the four assembly constituencies located in the district of the same name in Bihar, Saharsa is currently held by Mohammad Jawaid of the Congress who had defeated his nearest BJP rival Sweety Singh by a narrow margin of 264 votes in the last general assembly elections to Bihar.

  Other three assembly constituencies located in the Saharsa district are Sonbarsha, Simri Bakhtiarpur and Mahishi. While the first tow went in favour of the JD (U), Mahish was won by the RJD in 2010.

  Sanjiv Kumar Jha, who was denied ticket by the BJP to contest the Saharsa assembly seat in 2010, had won both the elections in 2005 on the ticket of the BJP. While he had defeated Surya Narayan Yadav of the RJD in the February election in 2005, his nearest rival in the next assembly elections in October/November in the same year was Abdul Gafoor of the RJD who had been elected from the Mahishi assembly seat in 2010.

  In 2000, the seat went in favour of Shankar Prasad Tekriwal of the RJD who trounced Lovely Anand, who contested as a nominee of the now defunct Bihar Peoples Party floated by her husband Anand Mohan, who was convicted for murder and is in jail. Lovely Anand had won the famed Vaishali Lok Sabha bypoll in 1994 by defeating Kishori Sinha, wife of a Congress Chief Minister Satyendra Narain Sinha. In February 2005, she had won the Barh assembly seat on the ticket of the JD (U). She had also won the Nabinagar assembly seat in a byepoll in 1996. She unsuccessfully contested the 2014 Lok Sabha elections from Sheohar Lok Sabha seat on a Samajwadi Party ticket.

  Shankar Prasad Tekriwal had also claimed the Saharsa assembly seat in 1990 and 1995 as a nominee of the Janata Dal.

  Saharsa is one of the six assembly constituencies that combine to form the parliamentary constituency of Madhepura which is currently represented by Rajesh Ranjan, popularly known as Pappu Yadav of the RJD who won the seat by defeating the sitting JD (U) MP Sharad Yadav by a margin of 56,209 votes in the 2014 Lok Sabha elections.

  Other five assembly constituencies that fall under the Madhepura Lok Sabha seat are Alamnagar. Bihariganj, Madhepura, Sonbarsha and Mahishi.

Saharsa Assembly Election News 2015

Old rivals clash again

Updated on : Oct-19,2015

Arun Kumar of RJD is locking horns with the sitting MLA Alok Ranjan of BJP here. Both are old rivals and they will go all out to corner the majority of caste votes from each community. Despite the importance of caste matrix, the last minute mood swings of votes and the changing attitude of young electorate willd decide the fate of candidates in Saharsa. In the assembly election held in November 2010, the Saharsa seat was captured by BJP's Alok Ranjan with 55,687 votes. Ranjan defeated Arun Kumar of RJD by 7,979 votes. Arun Kumar managed to win 47,708 votes in the elections. The assembly segment of Saharsa is a part of the Madhepura Lok Sabha constituency.

Saharsa Assembly Election Videos 2015