Rupauli Assembly Elections 2015

Rupauli Assembly Election Candidates List and Results

Name of the Candidate Party Name Result
BIMA BHARTIJanata Dal (United)50945
PREM PRAKASH MANDALBharatiya Janata Party41273
SHANKAR SINGHIndependent34793
SAVAN KUMARCommunist Party of India10426
PARMANAND SINGHIndependent8497
VASDEV SHARMAIndependent4567
KIRAN DEVIJan Adhikar Party (Loktantrik)3639
KETAN KUMAR SINGHBahujan Samaj Party2757
BINDESHWARI SHARMACommunist Party of India (Marxist-Leninist) (Liberation)2587
SANJEEV JAISWALIndependent2402
SUND KANT BHAGATIndependent1906
MANOJ KR. ROYRashtriya Jankranti Party1531
BIRBAL KUMAR YADAVMithilanchal Vikas Morcha1194
ROSHAN KUMAR RAVISarvajan Kalyan Loktantrik Party1159
UDALI DEVIIndependent1087
None of the AboveNone of the Above2277

Rupauli Assembly Elections Schedule

AC No Category Poll Phases Last Date of Nominations Date of Polls Result
60 GEN Phase V Oct 8th 2015 Nov 5th 2015 Nov 8th 2015

About Rupauli Assembly Elections Constituency

Rupauli, the assembly segment, lies in the Purnia Lok Sabha constituency. It consists of Basudeopur, Aurlaha, Thari, Bhatsara, Arbanna Chakla, Laxmipur, Patraha and Nathpur of Barhara Kothi community development block, Bhawanipur and Rupauli CD blocks. There are 2,67,270 eligible voters, amongst them are 1,27,925 female and 1,39,339 are male.

Electoral History of Kishanganj Constituency in Bihar

Bima Bharti of the Janata Dal (United) is the sitting MLA from Rupauli assembly constituency located in the Purnea district of Bihar. In the last general assembly elections to the state, she retained the seat by defeating Shankar Singh of the Lok Janashakti Party (LJP) by a huge margin of 37716 votes. While 64887votes were polled in favour of Bima Bharti, Shankar Singh received 27171 votes. Asif Anwar, who contested on the ticket of the Congress, came third with 17745 votes and was followed by former Communist Party of India (CPI) MLA Bal Kishor Mandal with 7095 votes.

Earlier Bima Bharti, wife of muscleman Awdesh Mandal, had won the Rupauli assembly seat in 2000 and the November of 2005. She was defeated by Shankar Singh, who is known for his criminal activities, in February that year. it is pertinent to mention that Bihar went to the assembly polls twice in 2005 because the earlier one held in February threw hung assembly necessitating the holding of the second assembly polls in the month of November of the same year.

In 2000, Bima Bharti had emerged victorious from the Rupauli assembly seat as an Independent candidate by defeating her nearest rival Md. Alimuddin of the Samajwadi Party by a margin of 6308 votes.

Dinesh Kumar Singh of the Congress had claimed the Rupauli assembly seat in 1980 and 1985. In 1985 he had trounced Saryug Mandal of CPI who went on to win the next elections as an Independent in 1990. Rupauli has also been won by other Congress candidates including Dinesh Kumar Singh and Anandi Prasad Singh.

The very first assembly election to Rupauli seat held in 1951 went in favour of the Socialist Party whose nominee Mohit Lal Pandit trounced Basudeo Prasad of the Congress by a margin of 2331 votes.

Rupauli is one of the six five assembly segments that combine to form the parliamentary constituency of Purnia which is currently represented by Santosh Kumar Kushwaha of the JD (U) who won it by defeating his nearest rival and sitting BJP MP Uday Singh by a margin of 115669 votes in the last Lok Sabha general elections in 2014.

Rupauli Assembly Election News 2015

A close race indeed

Updated on : Oct-16,2015

The competition in Rupauli is very close and the seat can go either way. Sitting MLA Bima Bharti of the JD(U) is challenging Parmanand Mandal of the RLSP floated by Union minister Upendra Kushwaha. Both candidates are equally strong because they are Mandals by caste and the constituency has 50% population of Mandals and Rajputs. While Muslims constitute 10% of the total population in the constituency, Baniyas share stands at 8-10%. Bharti is a sitting MLA from here.

She had defeated her nearest rival Shankar Singh of the Lok Janshakti Party (LJP) in the 2010 assembly elections. She was defeated on February 2005 polls by LJP's Shankar Singh but the later could not retain the seat in the next election held in the same year in October. Bharti got hold of the seat representing the RJD. In 2000, she had defeated Mohammad Alimuddin of SP, contesting as an Independent candidate. The constituency has been represented by CPI's Bal Kishor Mandal who had defeated Ram Chandra Das of SP in 1995. In 1980 and 1985, Dinesh Kumar Singh of Congress had defeated Mandal. Rupauli is one of the seven assembly segments in Purnea district.

Rupauli Assembly Election Videos 2015