Raxaul Assembly Elections 2015

Raxaul Assembly Election Candidates List and Results

Name of the Candidate Party Name Result
AJAY KUMAR SINGHBharatiya Janata Party64731
SURESH KUMARRashtriya Janata Dal61562
KAPILDEV RAYSamajwadi Party3073
PARMANAND PRASADGarib Janta Dal (Secular)1952
CHANDRA KISHOR PALBahujan Samaj Party1681
MITHILESH YADAVIndependent1481
DHURENDRA KUMARIndependent1277
DR GAUTAM KUMARIndependent1205
NAIYAR ALAMBhartiya Lokmat Rashtrwadi Party613
None of the AboveNone of the Above3310

Raxaul Assembly Elections Schedule

AC No Category Poll Phases Last Date of Nominations Date of Polls Result
10 GEN Phase IV Oct 7th 2015 Nov 1st 2015 Nov 8th 2015

About Raxaul Assembly Elections Constituency

Raxaul assembly segment is situated in eastern Champaran district. It is a part of the western Champaran Lok Sabha constituency.Raxaul covers Raxaul and Adapur community development blocks. Raxaul has 2,38,405 eligible voters of whom there are 1,29,366 male and 1,09,034 female voters.

Electoral History of Raxaul Constituency in Bihar

A bastion of the Congress till 1990, Raxaul assembly constituency is being represented by Ajay Kumar Singh of the BJP since 2000. In the last assembly election to the seat in 2010, Ajay Kumar Singh had emerged victorious by defeating Raj Nandan Rai of the Lok Janashakti Party (LJP) by a margin of 10117 votes. In that election, whereas Ajay Kumar Singh polled 48686 votes, Raj Nandan Rai, who had won the seat in 1990 and 1995 as a candidate of the Janata Dal, received 38569 votes and was followed by Rambabu Prasad Yadav of the Congress with 9691 votes.

The Ramvilas Paswan headed LJP, which had contested the last assembly polls in Bihar in alliance with the Lalu led Rashtriya Janata Dal (RJD), is now a part of the BJP led NDA. On the other hand, the BJP and the JD (U) have parted ways. The RJD, the JD (U) and the Congress have come together to stop the Narendra Modi's winning spree in Bihar which will go to the polls this year.

In 2000, Ajay Kumar Singh had emerged victorious from the seat by defeating his nearest rival Sagir Ahmad of the Congress by a margin of 12951 votes. Raj Nandan Rai, then an RJD nominee, was relegated to the third place. Earlier Sagir Ahmad had won the seat four times in a row (1972, 1977, 1980 and 1985). Before that barring one election in 1967, Radha Pandey of the Congress had won all the elections to the seat since 1951.

Ajay Kumar Singh had also won in both the assembly elections to Raxaul in 2005, Bihar went to the assembly polls twice in 2005 because the earlier one held in February threw hung assembly necessitating the holding of the second assembly polls in the month of November of the same year.

One of the twelve assembly constituencies in the district of Purvi Champaran, Raxaul is one of the six assembly constituencies that combine to form the parliamentary constituency of Paschim Champaran which is currently represented by Sanjay Jaiswal of the BJP who won the seat by defeating his nearest JD (U) Prakash Jha by a margin of 1, 10,254 votes in the 2014 Lok Sabha elections. Raghunath Jha of Lalu Prasad's Rashtirya Janata Dal (RJD) was relegated to third place.

Raxaul Assembly Election News 2015

Madhesi issue rocks here

Updated on : Oct-7,2015

This border town with Nepal is witnessing protests and agitations from Madhesis who are upset with Nepal's new Constitution. Sitting MLA Dr Ajay Kumar Singh from BJP is contesting from here and is facing Suresh Kumar from RJD. The issue of blocking trade and fuel supply to Nepal by Madhesis has been taken up by the contesting parties. There is considerable support to BJP candidate as locals feel the Centre's has taken the righ action by stopping the trucks on the border due to protests in Nepal. In the November 2010 elections, Dr Ajay Kumar Singh won the seat with 48,686 votes as compared to 38,569 votes won by Raj Nandan Rai of LJP.

Raxaul Assembly Election Videos 2015