Raniganj Assembly Elections 2015

Raniganj Assembly Election Candidates List and Results

Name of the Candidate Party Name Result
ACHMIT RISHIDEVJanata Dal (United)77717
RAMJI DAS RISHIDEVBharatiya Janata Party62787
BASANT PASWANIndependent2976
SUNIL PASWANJan Adhikar Party (Loktantrik)2342
JAY RAM RISHIDEVBahujan Samaj Party1935
DR. AMIT KUMARAll India Majlis-E-Ittehadul Muslimeen1669
KAILASH RISHIDEVCommunist Party of India (Marxist-Leninist) (Liberation)773
FUDAN PASWANJanta Dal Rashtravadi744
RAGHUNATH RAMRashtriya mahan Gantantra Party707
PARSURAM DHARKARLoktantrik Janata Party (Secular)688
DAYANAND PASWANJharkhand Mukti Morcha588
None of the AboveNone of the Above6351

Raniganj Assembly Elections Schedule

AC No Category Poll Phases Last Date of Nominations Date of Polls Result
47 SC Phase V Oct 8th 2015 Nov 5th 2015 Nov 8th 2015

About Raniganj Assembly Elections Constituency

Raniganj assembly constituency is in Araria district of the state and a part of the Araria Lok Sabha constituency. Only candidates from scheduled castes can contest for the assembly seat of Raniganj. Raniganj assembly segment consists of Vishaharia, Birnagar West, Birnagar East, Naya Bhargama, Dhaneshwari, Khutha Baijnathpur and Haripur Kala gram panchayats of Bhargama community development block and Raniganj CD block. This assembly segment 2,65,457 eligible voters of whom 1,39,696 men and 1,25,748 women.

Electoral History of Raniganj Constituency in Bihar

Reserved for the candidates belonging to the scheduled castes, Raniganj, one of the six assembly constituencies located in the district of Araria in the state of Bihar is currently held by Parmanand Rishideo of the BJP who received 65111 votes to defeat former Raniganj MLA Rashtriya Janata Dal (RJD) candidate Shanti Devi by a margin of 23653 votes in the last assembly polls in 2010. In that election, Shanti Devi received 41458 votes and was remotely followed by Hari Prasad Baishantree of the Congress who secured 9955 votes.

In the previous assembly elections to Bihar held in the month of November in 2005, Raniganj assembly seat was won by former Bihar environment and forest minister Ramji Rishideo who had defeated Shanti Devi in that election by a margin of 4106 votes. However, in the previous assembly election in February Parmanand Rishideo emerged victorious from the seat by defeating Ashok Paswan of Lok Janshakti Party (LJP) by a margin of 7288 votes. Ramji Rishideo was denied ticket by the BJP to contest the seat in 2010. He was defeated by Yamuna Prasad Ram of the RJD in 2000. Ramji Rishideo had joined the Janata Dal before the Lok Sabha elections in 2014.

It is worth mentioning that Bihar went to the assembly polls twice in 2005 because the earlier one held in February threw hung assembly necessitating the holding of the second assembly polls in the month of November of the same year.

Earlier Raniganj assembly sent had elected Shanti Devi who had won on the ticket of the Janata Dal in 1990 and 1995. In both the elections she had defeated Yamuna Prasad Ram, then a Congress nominee. Before that Yamuna Prasad Ram had won the seat for the Congress in 1980 and 1985.

Raniganj is one of the six assembly segments that combine to form the parliamentary constituency of Araria currently represented by Tasilmuddin of the RJD who won it by defeating his nearest rival and sitting MP Pradeep Kumar Singh by a margin of 146506 votes in the last Lok Sabha general elections in 2014 that marked the return of the NDA dispensation at the Centre.

Raniganj Assembly Election News 2015

Updated on : Oct-12,2015

Ramji from BJP will have a tough fight with Achamit Rishidev of JD(U). Both the contestants are being fielded for the first time in Raniganj and it will be an interest electoral battle here. Apart from the caste factor, the mood of the youth and women in this segment will play a crucial role in deciding the winner in Raniganj. BJP's Parmanand Rishideo is the sitting MLA from the constituency.
He defeated Shanti Devi of RJD in the assembly election held in November 2010. Rishideo won 65,111 votes while Shanti Devi got 41,458 votes in her favour.This assembly segment is in Araria district.

Raniganj Assembly Election Videos 2015