Ramnagar Assembly Elections 2015

Ramnagar Assembly Election Candidates List and Results

Name of the Candidate Party Name Result
BHAGIRATHI DEVIBharatiya Janata Party82166
PURNMASI RAMIndian National Congress64178
SUBODH KUMARNationalist Congress Party9488
RAMKESHWAR RAMCommunist Party of India (Marxist-Leninist) (Liberation)3158
MANJAY LAL SATYAMIndependent2769
NARESH RAMBahujan Samaj Party2531
SHANKAR MUSAHARIndependent1363
UDAY RAMJan Adhikar Party (Loktantrik)870
None of the AboveNone of the Above3195

Ramnagar Assembly Elections Schedule

AC No Category Poll Phases Last Date of Nominations Date of Polls Result
2 SC Phase IV Oct 7th 2015 Nov 1st 2015 Nov 8th 2015

About Ramnagar Assembly Elections Constituency

Ramnagar assembly constituency falls in the western Champaran district nd is a part of the Valmiki Nagar Lok Sabha constituency. The major areas that are a part of the constituency are Ramnagar and Guanaha community blocks. A total of 2,36,317 eligible voters of them 1,24,885 male and 1,11,431 female voters.

Electoral History of Ramnagar Constituency in Bihar

Reserved for the candidates belonging to the scheduled castes, Ramnagar is currently represented by Bhagirathi Devi of the BJP who emerged victorious from the seat in the last assembly elections in 2010 by defeating Naresh Ram of the Congress by a huge margin of 29782 votes While 51993 votes were polled in favour of Bhagirathi Devi, the Congress candidate received 22211 votes and was followed by Subodh Kumar of the Nationalist Congress Party (NCP) who received 20095 votes. Shambhu Ram, who entered the fray as a nominee of the Rashtirya Janata Dal (RJD), came fourth with 9080 votes.

As things stand today, the BJP and the JD (U) have parted ways and LJP is now a part of the NDA, the ruling dispensation at the Centre. The JD (U) and the RJD have come together to check the BJP.

Earlier, Subodh Kumar was the runner up from the erstwhile assembly seat of Shikarpur in November 2005 when he lost to Bhagirathi Devi by a margin of 5254 votes. He however defeated her in February elections in 2005. Bihar went to the assembly polls twice in 2005 because the earlier one held in February threw hung assembly necessitating the holding of the second assembly polls in the month of November of the same year.

A stronghold of the BJP, Ramnagar was won by Chander Mohan Rai of the BJP in 1990, 2000 and in both the elections in 2005. In 2010 Chander Mohan Rai shifted to the Chanpatia assembly seat which he won by defeating Ejaj Hussain of the Bahujan Samaj party (BSP) by a margin of 23412 votes.

In the past, Ramnagar assembly had elected Arjun Vikram Sah of the Congress in 1977, 1980 and 1985. Before that Narayan Vikram Shah had been elected from the seat four times in a row.

Located in the Paschim Champaran district of Bihar, Ramnagar is one of the six assembly constituencies that combine to form the parliamentary constituency of Valmiki Nagar which is currently represented by Satish Chandra Dubey of the BJP who won the seat by defeating his nearest Congress rival Purnmasi Ram by a margin of 117793 votes in the last Lok Sabha elections in 2014.

Other five assembly constituencies are Lauriya, Valmiki Nagar, Sikta, Narkatiaganj and Bagaha.

Ramnagar Assembly Election News 2015

Dwindling support for Congress

Updated on : Oct-8,2015

Congress has staked its claim to this SC reserved seat in West Champaran district on the plea that its candidate Naresh Ram was the runner-up in the 2010 assembly poll. In fact, Naresh had lost to BJP's Bhagirathi Devi by a huge margin of 29,782 votes. But this time, Congress has nominated Purnmasi Ram to contest in Ramnagar constituency.
The BJP has again fielded Bhagirathi Devi. However, Congress vice-president Rahul Gandhi kick-started the party's election campaign from Ramnagar without naming the candidate for the seat.

Ramnagar Assembly Election Videos 2015