Ramgarh Assembly Elections 2015

Ramgarh Assembly Election Candidates List and Results

Name of the Candidate Party Name Result
ASHOK KUMAR SINGHBharatiya Janata Party57501
AMBIKA SINGHRashtriya Janata Dal49490
HARI NARAYAN BINDJai Hind Samaj Party3641
YOGENDRA SINGHSamajwadi Party1407
SUBASH SINGHIndependent1015
BABAN SINGHCommunist Party of India (Marxist-Leninist) (Liberation)898
RAM SUDHAKAR TIWARIHind Congress Party608
RAJNATH SINGHJan Adhikar Party (Loktantrik)520
RAJNARAYAN RAOIndependent355
CHHOTE LALIndependent282
None of the AboveNone of the Above2067

Ramgarh Assembly Elections Schedule

AC No Category Poll Phases Last Date of Nominations Date of Polls Result
203 GEN Phase IV Sep 21st 2015 Oct 16th 2015 Nov 8th 2015

About Ramgarh Assembly Election Constituency

Ramgarh is a legislative assembly constituency in the Kaimur district and a part of the Buxar Lok Sabha constituency. There are a total of 2,38,294 eligible voters out of whom 1,26,361 are men and 1,11,906 are women. The Ramgarh assembly segment comprises Ramgarh, Nuaon and Durgawati community development blocks.

Electoral History of Ramgarh Constituency in Bihar

One of the four assembly segments in the Maoist hit Kaimur district of Bihar, Ramgarh is currently represented by Ambika Singh the Lalu led Rashtirya Janata Dal (RJD who retained the seat in the last general assembly elections in 2010 by defeating Ashok Kumar Singh by a simple margin of 2978 votes.

In the 2010 election, whereas Ambika Singh, who had earlier emerged from the seat in a byepoll in 2009 as an RJD candidate, polled 30787 votes, Narendra Kr.Singh received 22378 votes. BJP was relegated to the third place with its nominee Sudhakar Singh securing 18551 votes.

Prabhawati Devi, who entered the fray as a Bahujan Samaj Party (BSP) candidate, came fourth with 17334 votes and was followed by Parshuram Tiwari of the Congress with 9390 votes.

Sudhakar Singh is the son of former RJD Buxar MP Jagada Nand Singh who lost the seat by a margin of 1,32,338 votes in the last parliamentary elections in 2014. It was Jagada Nand Singh's resignation from the Ramgarh seat in 2009 after his election to the Lok Sabha which necessitated the byepoll in 2009 in which Ambika Singh came out with flying colours.

Jagada Nand Singh has claimed the Ramgarh assembly seat on the ticket of the RJD in 2000 and both the elections of 2005. He had also won the seat in 1990 and 1995 as a Janata Dal nominee.

In the previous assembly polls held in 1985 he was elected on the ticket of the Lok Dal. He was elected to the Lok Sabha from Buxar in 2009 by defeating the then BJP sitting MP Lal Muni Chowbe who was denied ticket by the party in 2014.

Ramgarh is one of the six assembly constituencies that combine to create the Buxar parliamentary constituency currently represented by Ashwani Kumar Choubey of the BJP who retained the seat for the BJP by defeating his nearest rival and sitting RJD MP Jagada Nand Singh by a margin of 1,32,338 votes in the last parliamentary elections in 2014.

Dinara, Brahampur, Buxar, Dumraon and Rajpur are the other six assembly constituencies falling under the Buxar Lok Sabha seat.

Ramgarh Assembly Election News 2015

BJP candidate has an edge

BJP's Ashok Singh is pitted against Ambika Singh from RJD in a constituency where caste arithmetic plays a critical role. However, BJP is mobilising its top rung leaders to canvas votes through rallies and public meetings. According to observers, the BJP candidate is having an edge against his RJD rival with rising populaty of PM Modi and his policies.

Ramgarh Assembly Election Videos 2015