Bihar Assembly Elections - Raghunathpur

Raghunathpur Assembly Election Candidates List and Results

Name of the Candidate Party Name Result
HARISHANKAR YADAVRashtriya Janata Dal61042
MANOJ KUMAR SINGHBharatiya Janata Party50420
AMARNATH YADAVCommunist Party of India (Marxist-Leninist) (Liberation)16714
PARWAR ALAMBahujan Samaj Party1881
PREM SAGAR PANDEYIndependent1799
MD. CHANDSamajwadi Party1656
ARIF JAMALNational Janta Party (Indian)820
PAWAN SINGHIndependent743
MAHESH SINGHHind Congress Party723
AON ALIGarib Janta Dal (Secular)453
None of the AboveNone of the Above4227

Raghunathpur Assembly Elections Schedule

AC No Category Poll Phases Last Date of Nominations Date of Polls Result
108 GEN Phase IV Oct 7th 2015 Nov 1st 2015 Nov 8th 2015

About Raghunathpur Assembly Elections Constituency

Raghunathpur is a legislative assembly segment located in the Siwan district and a part of the Siwan Lok Sabha constituency. The Raghunathpur assembly segment has a total of 2,47,758 eligible voters, out of whom 1,32,995 are men and 1,14,758 are women. Raghunathpur comprises Usari Bujurg, Shekpura, Gayghat, Piyaur and Aranda gram panchayats of Hasanpura community development block; Hussainganj community development block; and Raghunathpur community development block.

Electoral History of Raghunathpur Constituency in Bihar

One of the eight assembly constituencies located in the district of Siwan in Bihar, Raghunathpur was won by Vikram Kunwar of the BJP in the last assembly elections to the state in 2010 by defeating his nearest rival and sitting CPI (ML) MLA Amar Nath Yadav by a margin of 15112 votes. In that election while Vikram Kunwar, who had earlier won the seat in 1977 and 1995, polled 33474 votes, Amar Nath Yadav, who emerged victorious from Darauli assembly constituency in 1995 and both the elections in 2005, received 18362 votes and was followed by Hamidraza Khan of the Rashtriya Janata Dal (RJD) with 15557 votes.

A party hopper, Vikram Kunwar claimed the Raghunathpur assembly seat in 1977 as a candidate of the Janata Party. He contested the 1995 on the ticket of the Janata Dal. In 2000 he entered the fray as a nominee of the RJD and lost to Vijay Shankar Dubey of the Congress who had also won from here in 1980, 1985 and 1990.

Jagmato Devi, the winner of the Duraundha assembly seat in 2010, had emerged victorious from Raghunathpur in both the elections in 2005. It is worth mentioning that Bihar went to the assembly polls twice in 2005 because the earlier one held in February threw hung assembly necessitating the holding of the second assembly polls in the month of November of the same year. While her win in February came as an Independent candidate, she contested the November poll on the ticket of the Janata Dal (United).

Raghunathpur is one of the six assembly segments that combine to for the parliamentary constituency of Siwan currently represented by Om Prakash Yadav of the BJP who retained the seat for himself by defeating his nearest rival Hena Shahab of the RJD by a margin of 113784 votes in the last Lok Sabha general elections in 2014. While former CPIML MLA from Darauli, Amar Nath Yadav, came third with 81,006 votes, the JD (U) candidate Manoj Kumar Singh was relegated to the fourth place with 79,239 votes. Hena Shahab is the wife of Shahabuddin, a strongman of Siwan.

Raghunathpur Assembly Election News 2015

Charges against BJP leaders

Updated on : Oct-9,2015

BJP has fielded Manoj Singh to take on Harishankar Yadav of RJD in Raghunathpur. Sitting BJP MLA Vikram Kunwar has claimed that his party has sold the poll ticket to former strongman and RJD MP Mohammad Shahabuddin's shooter. Further, Kunwar charged that Manoj Singh runs a mafia racket and is involved in land grabbing from farmers. Claiming that he was a committed party worker, Kunwar said he was unhappy with the manner in which the party leadership denied ticket to him.
But added that he would continue to remain a BJP loyalist. BJP's Vikram Kunwar represents Raghunathpur in the assembly. He won the seat having bagged 33,474 votes in the 2010 assembly elections and defeated Amar Nath Yadav of CPI (ML) by a margin of 15,112 votes.

Raghunathpur Assembly Election Videos 2015