Raghopur Assembly Elections 2015

Raghopur Assembly Election Candidates List and Results

Name of the Candidate Party Name Result
TEJASHWI PRASAD YADAVRashtriya Janata Dal91236
SATISH KUMARBharatiya Janata Party68503
RAKESH RAUSHANSamajwadi Party5220
RIZWANUL AZAMJanta Dal Rashtravadi4800
RAMBABU BHAGATCommunist Party of India (Marxist-Leninist) (Liberation)2538
ARUN RAYIndependent2381
OM PRAKASH SINGHIndependent1373
SURESH YADAVBahujan Samaj Party1213
RAJESH RAUSHANAap Aur Hum Party992
KUMAR SAMEER RAJA YADAVJan Adhikar Party (Loktantrik)936
RAM SAWROOP RAYNational Janta Party (Indian)843
ANIL SINGHShivsena709
UMESH MAHTOSarvajan Kalyan Loktantrik Party642
GOVIND PANDITPraja Raj Party400
AKHILESH KUMARGareeb Aadmi Party378
PARAM HANS SINGHAkhil Bharat Hindu Mahasabha343
DURGA DEVIKrantikari Vikas Dal330
YUGESHWAR CHAURASIARashtriya Samanta Dal285
None of the AboveNone of the Above903

Raghopur Assembly Elections Schedule

AC No Category Poll Phases Last Date of Nominations Date of Polls Result
128 GEN Phase III Oct 1st 2015 Oct 28th 2015 Nov 8th 2015

About Raghopur Assembly Election Constituency

  Raghopur is a legislative assembly constituency in the Vaishali district is a part of the Hajipur Lok Sabha constituency. Raghopur has 2,91,668 eligible voters, amongst whom 1,59,199 are men and 1,32,468 are women. Raghopur assembly segment consists of Bidupur and Raghopur community development blocks.

Electoral History of Raghopur Constituency in Bihar

  Once represented by Lalu Prasad, Raghopur in the Vaishali district of Bihar is currently held by Satish Kumar of the Janata Dal (United) who came to the forefront of the national attention when he won the seat in the last general assembly elections to the state in 2010 by defeating Lalu Prasad’s wife and former Bihar Chief Minister Rabri Devi by a comfortable margin of 13006 votes in a direct contest.

   In that election to Raghopur, while Satish Kumar received 64222votes, Rabri Devi, who became the Bihar Chief Minister when Lalu got entangled in the infamous fodder scam, secured 51216 votes and was distantly followed by the independent candidate Rijwanul Azam who got just 3877 votes. The Congress nominee Chandra Devi was relegated to the fifth place with 3824 votes.

  In the previous Bihar general assembly elections held in the month of October/November in 2005, Raghopur was won by Indradeo Prasad who had earlier lost to Bhupendra Narayan Singh in the election held in February that year. The October/November polls were necessitated due to the hung assembly thrown by the February elections.

  In 2010, Rabri Devi had also lost the Sonepur in the Saran district to Vinay Kumar Singh of the BJP by a margin of 20685 votes. Rabri Devi had earlier claimed the Raghopur seat in both the elections in 2005. Lalu Prasad had emerged victorious from the seat in 1995 as a nominee of the Janata Dal. He had also won Sonepur seat in 1980 and 1985 on the tickets of Charan Singh led Janata party (secular) and Lok Dal respectively.

  Raghopur is one of the six assembly constituencies that combine to form the parliamentary constituency of Hajipur which is currently represented by Union minister Ram Vilas Paswan who won the seat in the 2014 Lok Sabha elections by defeating his nearest Congress rival Sanjeev Prasad Toni by a huge margin of 2,25,500 votes. The former Bihar Chief Minister and JD (U) sitting MP Ram Sundar Das was relegated to the third place. Ram Sundar Das who headed the Janata Party government in 1979. His son Sanjay Kumar is the JD(U) MLA from Raja Pakar reserved constituency in the Vaishali district of Bihar.

  Other five assembly constituencies that are parts of the Hajipur parliamentary seat are Mahua, Hajipur, Lalganj, Raja Pakar and Mahnar.

Raghopur Assembly Election News 2015

Lalu's younger son makes debut

Updated on : Sep-29,2015

  Once considered as the impregnable fortress of the RJD, Raghopur is witnessing an interesting battle.

  RJD chief Lalu Prasad’s younger son Tejaswi Yadav is locked in a tough contest with sitting MLA Satish Kumar Yadav.

  Satish joined the BJP after not being given the ticket by the Janata Dal (United).

  The Yadav-dominated Raghopur elected Lalu Prasad in 1995 and 2000 and Rabri Devi won the seat in the two assembly elections held in 2005.

  But the RJD fortress was swept away by the Nitish Kumar wave in the 2010 assembly polls when Rabri lost to the then JD(U) candidate Satish Kumar.

  The RJD is back again to reclaim this seat with Lalu Prasad kicking off his campaign in Raghopur although polling takes place only in the third phase of election.

Raghopur Assembly Election Videos 2015