Rafiganj Assembly Elections 2015

Rafiganj Assembly Election Candidates List and Results

Name of the Candidate Party Name Result
ASHOK KUMAR SINGHJanata Dal (United)62897
PRAMOD KUMAR SINGHLok Jan Shakti Party53372
ALAUDDIN MOHAMMADBahujan Samaj Party11530
ASHOK SAWIndependent5607
NIRAJ KUMARIndependent3687
AQUEEL AKHATAR ANSARIGarib Janta Dal (Secular)3260
KASIMCommunist Party of India3161
TULSI YADAVIndependent3078
ARJUN YADAVIndependent1543
SURESH MEHTAJan Adhikar Party (Loktantrik)1442
USHA DEVIShoshit Samaj Dal1260
SURESH VISHWKARMAAkhil Hind Forward Bloc (Krantikari)1240
PRAMOD KUMARPragatisheel Magahi Samaj832
MANHAR GUNJANSamajwadi Party765
None of the AboveNone of the Above1553

Rafiganj Assembly Elections Schedule

AC No Category Poll Phases Last Date of Nominations Date of Polls Result
224 GEN Phase II Sep 21st 2015 Oct 28th 2015 Nov 8th 2015

About Rafiganj Assembly Election Constituency

Rafiganj lislative assembly segment is part of the Aurangabad Lok Sabha constituency. It lies in the Aurangabad district of the state. The Rafiganj assembly constituency has around 2,80,567 eligible voters, out of whom 1,51,601 are males and 1,28,955 are females. This assembly segment comprises Kajhapa, Pogar, Kotwara, Baur, Bhadwa, Bhetaniya, Baligaon, Baghaura, Bhadukikala, Arthua, Dhosila, Dugul, Charkawan, Balar, Kerap, Chew, Chaubra, Lohra and Gordiha gram panchayats and Rafiganj Notified Area of Rafiganj community development block; and Madanpur community development block.

Electoral History of Rafiganj Constituency in Bihar

One of the six assembly constituencies in the Aurangabad district of Bihar, Rafiganj, a hotbed of Maoists activities, is currently represented by Ashok Kumar Singh of the Janata Dal (United) who won it in the last assembly elections by defeating sitting Rashtriya Janata Dal (RJD) Md. Nehaluddin by an impressive margin of 23685 votes in a bipolar contest.

In that election, whereas Ashok Kumar Singh polled 58501 votes, Nehaluddin received 34816 votes and was distantly followed by Madhwi Singh of the Congress who managed to secure 6273 votes.

While Ashok Kumar is the son of former Independent MLA from Gurua, Ramadhar Singh, who had won it in 1990, Madhwi Singh is the daughter-in-law of former Rafiganj MLA and Bihar minister Vijay Kumar Singh who had been elected thrice from the seat in 1977, 1980 and 1985.

Vijay Kumar Singh is the grandson of Anugrah Narain Sinha a top Congress leader of Bihar. Anugrah Narain Sinha’s son Satyendra Narayan Sinha, popularly known as S N Sinha, was the chief minister of Bihar. S N Sinha’s son Nikhil Kumar is a former Delhi police commissioner and governor of Nagaland and Kerala. Nikhil Kumar unsuccessfully contested the Aurangabad parliamentary seat in 2014 to Sushil Singh of the BJP who had switched his loyalty from the JD (U) before the elections. Sushil Singh had won the Rafiganj assembly seat in 2000 on the ticket of the Samata Party, the earlier incarnation of JD (U), by defeating Nehaluddin.

Md Nehaluddin, who was abducted by the Maoists when he was the MLA, has emerged victorious from Rafiganj twice, first in February 2005 and again in the October/November 2005 assembly elections.

In 1995 Rafiganj went in favour the Communist Party of India (CPI) when its candidate Ram Chandra Singh trounced the sitting MLA Vijay Kumar Singh.

Rafiganj is one of the six assembly segments the combination of which goes on to create the parliamentary constituency of Aurangabad currently held by Sushil Kumar Singh of the BJP who had won the seat in 2014 Lok Sabha elections by defeating Nikhil Kumar of the Congress by a margin of 66347 votes.

Nikhil Kumar is a former Delhi police commissioner and governor of Nagaland and Kerala.

Rafiganj Assembly Election News 2015

Rafiganj Assembly Election Videos 2015

It will be a close call

Ashok Kumar Singh from JD(U) is locked in a fiery battle with Pramod Singh of Lok Janshakti Party (LJP) of Ram Vilas Paswan. Jan Adhikar Party (JAP) has given ticket to former MLA Suresh Mahto in Rafiganj. While the Third Front as very little chance to win here, it will be a close call between the JD(U) and LJP whose candidates have supporters cutting across caste and community.