Pranpur Assembly Elections 2015

Pranpur Assembly Election Candidates List and Results

Name of the Candidate Party Name Result
BINOD KUMAR SINGHBharatiya Janata Party47924
ISRAT PARWEENNationalist Congress Party39823
TAUQUIR ALAMIndian National Congress39653
MD SALAUDDINIndependent2197
SARKAR MARANDIJharkhand Disom Party1916
SHAIYAD ALAMJan Adhikar Party (Loktantrik)1850
MD MERAJGarib Janta Dal (Secular)1598
ABDUS SALAMBahujan Samaj Party1503
SHAHIDA QURESHIIttehad-E-Millait Council1445
ISRAILShoshit Samaj Dal1345
JAWED RAHIIndependent1169
KALI CHARAN DASJanta Dal Rashtravadi1166
SURESH RAYRashtravadi Janata Party1110
GANGA KEWATSarvajan Kalyan Loktantrik Party1050
PRADIP KUMAR RAYCommunist Party of India (Marxist-Leninist) (Liberation)873
SHAMBHU BUBNAIndependent838
CHANDRA MOHAN MANDALBharat Nirman Party765
LAKHAN YADAVBahujan Kranti Party (Marxwad-Ambedkarwad)748
None of the AboveNone of the Above1487

Pranpur Assembly Elections Schedule

AC No Category Poll Phases Last Date of Nominations Date of Polls Result
66 GEN Phase V Oct 8th 2015 Nov 5th 2015 Nov 8th 2015

About Pranpur Assembly Elections Constituency

The Pranpur legislative assembly segment is a part of the Katihar Lok Sabha constituency, which lies in Katihar district. Pranpur assembly constituency comprises Azamnagar and Pranpur community development blocks. A total of 2,39,276 eligible voters tre are 1,25,853 male and 1,13,422 female electorates in Pranpur.

Electoral History of Pranpur Constituency in Bihar

  One of the seven assembly constituencies located in the district of Katihar in Bihar, Pranpur had elected Binod Kumar Singh who had won the seat by defeating his nearest rival Israt Parween of the of the Nationalist Congress Party (NCP) by a close margin of 716 votes in the last general assembly elections to Bihar in 2010. The NCP has a slight influence in the Kathiar district thanks to Bihar prominent former Congress leader Tariq Anwar who along with Sharad Pawar and P A Sangma split from the Congress over the origin of Sonia Gandhi’s foreign origin and founded the NCP.

   In that election, while Binod Kumar Singh received 43660 votes, got 42944 votes and Israt Parween received 42944 votes and was followed by Abdul Jalil of the Congress with 13925 votes. The sitting Rashtirya Janata Dal (RJD) MLA Mahendra Narayan Yadav was relegated to the fourth place with 12915 votes.

  Abdul Jalil had won both the elections to the Kadwa assembly seat in Katihar in 2005 as a nominee of the NCP. He had won the seat in 1990 as an independent.

  Earlier Mahendra Narayan Yadav had been elected from the Pranpur assembly seat in 1977, 1990, 1995 and both the elections in 2005. While his win in 1977 came as a Janata Party candidate, he won the 1990 and 1995 polls on the ticket of the Janata Dal which later disintegrated into several splinter groups. Mahendra Narayan Yadav was defeated by Binod Kumar Singh in 2000.

  The Congress had won the Pranpur assembly seat last time in 1985 when its candidate Mangan Insan emerged victorious by defeating Abdul Jalil who was in the fray as an Independent candidate.

  Pranpur is one of the seven assembly constituencies that combine to form the parliamentary constituency of Katihar which is currently represented by Tariq Anwar of the NCP who won the seat in the 2014 Lok Sabha elections that elected the Narendra Modi government at the centre.

  Other five assembly constituencies that fall under the Katihar Lok Sabha seat are Korha, Balrampur, Katihar, Kadwa, Barari and Manihari.

Pranpur Assembly Election News 2015

Congress faces uphill task

Updated on : Oct-18,2015

Taqir Alam is the Congress candidate from Pranpur assembly segment of Katihar Lok Sabha constituency. Taqir Alam will take on the sitting MLA Binod Kumar Singh from BJP. While the sitting MLA is pinning hopes on his past works and the help he had rendered to the people here, Alam is hopeful that the visits of high-profile leadership including Rajiv Gandhi to Pranpur will fetch him more votes. Katihar is one of the four Seemanchal districts. Taqir is the son of Mansoor Alam, a RJD leader and three-times MLA from Barari (Katihar) and ex-Minister in the Bihar government.

The Congress candidate is a deregistered Ph.D. student of Jawaharlal Nehru University (JNU) in Delhi He is also an alumnus of Jamia Millia Islamia, Delhi. Alam is a product of student politics (NSUI) and unsuccessfully contested JNUSU president election in 2007. Binod Singh captured the Pranpur seat by winning 43,660 votes in the 2010 assembly election. Israt Parween of NCP ended up as the runner-up with 42,944 votes.

Pranpur Assembly Election Videos 2015