Pipra Assembly Elections 2015

Pipra Assembly Election Candidates List and Results

Name of the Candidate Party Name Result
SHYAMBABU PRASAD YADAVBharatiya Janata Party65552
KRISHAN CHANDRAJanata Dal (United)61622
RAJ MANGAL PRASADCommunist Party of India (Marxist)8366
ARUN KUMARIndependent7266
SUBHASH CHANDRA GUPTANationalist Congress Party3479
VIKRAM KUMARIndependent3126
SADHU YADAVGarib Janta Dal (Secular)2604
NAGENDRA SAHANIBahujan Samaj Party1847
RAMAYAN PASWANBahujan Kranti Party (Marxwad-Ambedkarwad)1661
RAMADHAR SAHSarvajan Kalyan Loktantrik Party1613
PAVAN KUMAR RAYJan Adhikar Party (Loktantrik)1542
ANKUSH KUMAR SINGHRashtravadi Janata Party1398
DAROGA SAHIndependent1344
NARESH PRASAD SAHAkhil Bharatiya Hind Kranti Party649
None of the AboveNone of the Above1454

Pipra Assembly Elections Schedule

AC No Category Poll Phases Last Date of Nominations Date of Polls Result
17 SC Phase IV Oct 7th 2015 Nov 1st 2015 Nov 8th 2015

About Pipra Assembly Elections Constituency

Pipra is located in the eastern Champaran district and part of the same Lok Sabha constituency. Pipra comprises Mehsi, Tetaria and Chakia (Pipra) community development blocks. The assembly segment of Pipra is inhabited by 2,39,810 eligible electors, out of which 1,23,953 are male and 1,15,857 are female

Electoral History of Pipra Constituency in Bihar

Located in the Purvi Champaran district of Bihar, Pipra assembly constituency, which was dereserved before the last general assembly elections to Bihar, is currently represented by Awadhesh Prasad Kushwaha of the Janata Dal (United) who emerged victorious from the seat in the last assembly elections in 2010 by defeating Subhodh Yadav of the Rashtirya Janata Dal (RJD) by a margin of 11887 votes. In that election, while 40099 votes were polled in favour of Awadhesh Prasad Kushwaha, Subhodh Yadav received 28212 votes and was distantly followed by Raj Mangal Prasad of the Communist party of India (Marxists) who received 9254 votes.

Sanjeev Kumar Singh, who contested on the ticket of the Congress, was relegated to the fourth position with 6348 votes.

Earlier Maheshwar Singh and Awadhesh Prasad Kushwaha had been slugging it out for the Harsidhi assembly seat since 1995. While Kushwaha defeated Maheshwar Singh to win the seat in 1995 only to be defeated by him in the next elections in 2000, in the next assembly election in the month of February in 2005, Awadhesh Kushwaha, then a LJP candidate, emerged victorious by defeating Maheshwar Singh, who contested on the ticket of the JD (U).

However, in the next assembly elections in November, necessitated due to the hung assembly thrown by the February polls, both exchanged their parties and Maheshwar Singh got the better of the two. Harsidhi was made a reserved seat before 2010. In the 2010 election to Harsidhi, Krishana Nandan Paswan of the BJP had emerged winner from the seat by defeating Satish Paswan of the RJD by 18064 votes.

In both the elections to the Pipra seat in 2005, then a SC reserved seat, Krishana Nandan Paswan had defeated Surendra Kumar Chandra of RJD who had earlier trounced him in 2000.

Sahdeo Paswan of Janata Dal was elected from Pipra in 1990 and 1995 by defeated Nandlal Chaudhary of Congress on both occasions. He had earlier lost to Nandlal Chaudhary in 1985. Nandlal Chaudhary had also defeated in 1980 the sitting CPI MLA Tulsi Ram who was elected from the seat by virtue of his victory over Brahmadeo Ram Shastri of Janata Party in 1977.

Pipra is one of the six assembly constituencies that combine to form the parliamentary constituency of Purvi Champaran which is currently represented by Union BJP minister Radha Mohan Singh of the BJP. Other five assembly constituencies are Govindganj, Kesaria, Harsidhi, Kalyanpur, and Motihari.

Pipra Assembly Election News 2015

Sting video against JD(U) MLA

Updated on : Oct-12,2015

A sting video released 12 hours before the first phase of polling depicts the sitting JD(U) MLA and minister in the present cabinet Awadhesh Prasad Kushwaha accepting Rs 4 lakh as an advance bribe from a ‘Bombay-based firm’ for favours. Kushwaha has promised the bribe-giving party favours on his return to power. Soon after the sting video went viral, CM and JD(U) boss Nitish Kumar asked him to resign. The party has decided to withdraw Kushwaha’s candidature and named a fresh candidate for Pipra constituency.
But the damage has been done to the JD(U) and the Mahagathbandhan. The development takes a heavy toll on Nitish’s 'sushashan’ (good governance) claim. He will have a difficult time in responding to the BJP’s charge that his prospective Jungle Raj II, if he wins, will have the twin components of criminality and corruption. Pipra is located in the Purvi Champaran district. Earlier, the Pipra assembly seat was reserved for candidates belonging to Scheduled Caste (SC) category, but now it is an open seat. Pipra is a part of the Purvi Champaran Lok Sabha constituency.

JD(U) faces stiff challenge

Updated on : Oct-6,2015

Sitting JD(U) MLA Awadesh Prasad Kushwaha is contesting in Pipra once again. He is facing a stiff challenge from Shyam Babu Prasad from BJP. Earlier, the Pipra assembly seat which is part of East Champaran district was reserved for candidates belonging to Scheduled Caste (SC) category, but now it is an open seat. In the assembly election held in November 2010, Awadhesh Prasad Kushwaha of JD(U) beat RJD's Subhodh Yadav to win the Pipra seat. Kushwaha was able to win 40,099 votes against 28,212 votes won by Subhodh Yadav.

Pipra Assembly Election Videos 2015