Phulwari Assembly Elections 2015

Phulwari Assembly Election Candidates List and Results

Name of the Candidate Party Name Result
SHYAM RAJAKJanata Dal (United)94094
RAJESHWAR MANJHIHindustani Awam Morcha (Secular)48381
JAY PRAKASH PASWANCommunist Party of India (Marxist-Leninist) (Liberation)11188
TRIBHUWAN RAVIDASBahujan Samaj Party3380
MANTI DASIndependent3326
BABITA DEVIIndependent3217
KAILASH PASWANRashtriya Jagriti Party2337
UJJAWAL KANT HUNKARSarvajan Kalyan Loktantrik Party2320
UDAY KUMARSamajwadi Party2312
MISHRI RAMIttehad-E-Millait Council2033
SHYAM CHAUDHARYIndependent2018
RAM TIRTH PASWANSamras Samaj Party2011
SHANKAR KUMARIndependent1506
DEEPAK KUMARGareeb Aadmi Party1401
KRISHNA PASWANBhartiya Kranti Vir Party1303
VIDHAN CHANDRA RANANational Jagaran Party1263
SAJAN KUMARIndependent1226
None of the AboveNone of the Above2253

Phulwari Assembly Elections Schedule

AC No Category Poll Phases Last Date of Nominations Date of Polls Result
188 SC Phase III Oct 7th 2015 Nov 1st 2015 Nov 8th 2015

About Phulwari Assembly Elections Constituency

Phulwari is a legislative assembly constituency in the Patna district of Bihar. It belongs to the Pataliputra Lok Sabha constituency. A total of 2,81,441 have right to vote, out of whom 1,53,255 are males and 1,28,179 are females. Phulwari constituency comprises Punpun and Phulwari Sharif community development blocks.The constituency is reserved for the candidates belonging to Scheduled Castes (SCs).

Electoral History of Phulwari Constituency in Bihar

The JD(U) minister in Nitish Kumar government, Shyam Rajak, who has been representing the seat since 1995 except for a brief period when he lost a bye poll in 2009, is the sitting MLA from Phulwari assembly constituency located in the Patna district of Bihar.

In the last assembly elections to Bihar in 2010, he had won the seat by defeating his nearest rival Uday Kumar of the Rashtriya Janata Dal (RJD) by a margin of 21180 votes.

In that election, while Shyam Rajak, once a close confidante of Lalu Prasad, secured 67390 votes, the RJD nominee received 46210 votes and was followed by CPIML candidate Jay Prakash Paswan who polled 8005 votes. Jitendra Paswan, who entered the contest on the ticket of the Congress, came fourth with 3178 votes.

Earlier Shyam Rajak had been elected from the Phulwari assembly constituency in 1995, 2000, and in both the elections in 2005. While his win in 1995 came as a candidate of the Janata Dal, he won in 2000, and February and October elections in 2005 on the ticket of the RJD.

While he had trounced Uday Kumar, then a JD (U) nominee, in 2005 February, his win in October came against Arun Manjhi of the JD(U) who is currently the JD(U) MLA from Masaurhi assembly seat.

Shyam Rajak resigned from Phulwari assembly constituency after quitting the RJD in 2009 and joined the JD (U). In the byepoll to Phulwari assembly seat necessitated due to his resignation, he was defeated by Uday Kumar of the RJD by a margin of 1274 votes.

Sanjeev Prasad Toni of the Congress was elected three times in a row in 1980, 1985 and 1990 from Phulwari assembly constituency which has elected Ram Prit Paswan of the Janata Party in 1977.

In 2014 Lok Sabha elections the BJP had taken a lead in the Phulwari assembly constituency which is one of the six assembly constituencies that combine to form the parliamentary constituency of Pataliputra which is currently held by Union minister Ram Kripal Yadav who had defeated Misa Bharti, daughter of Lalu Yadav, by 40,322 votes in the last general Lok Sabha elections in 2014. The sitting JD (U) MP Ranjan Prasad Yadav, who had defeated Lalu in 2009, was relegated to the third place.

Other five assembly segments that are part of Pataliputra parliamentary constituency are Danapur, Bikram, Maner, Masaurhi and Paliganj.

Phulwari Assembly Election News 2015

Candidate nurtures constituency

Updated on : Oct-3,2015

Four-time winner from Phulwari Sharif, Shyam Rajak from JD(U) says his constituency is prospering. A seasoned politician and current food minister Shyam Rajak entered the political scene of Bihar in 1974. Now contesting from his native place Phulwarisharif, Rajak has been pitted against NDA's Rajeshwar Manjhi from HAM-Secular in the electoral battle. Four-time MLA from Phulwari Sharif says development is his sole agenda and he has done all that he could for the people of his constituency.

Phulwari Assembly Election Videos 2015