Phulparas Assembly Elections 2015

Phulparas Assembly Election Candidates List and Results

Name of the Candidate Party Name Result
GULJAR DEVIJanata Dal (United)64368
RAM SUNDAR YADAVBharatiya Janata Party50953
JYOTI JHAIndependent10861
UMESH KUMAR ROYCommunist Party of India (Marxist)7431
GAURI SHANKAR YADAVJan Adhikar Party (Loktantrik)4970
RAM KUMAR YADAVSamajwadi Party3785
DURGANAND MANDALBahujan Samaj Party2626
SHAMBHU NATH MISHRAHind Congress Party2111
ARUNA NAND SINGHIndependent2065
VIJAY KUMAR JHAAadarsh Mithila Party1493
LAXAMAN PRASAD YADAVBhartiya Mitra Party1109
RAM PRASAD CHAUPALJammu & Kashmir National Panthers Party1005
None of the AboveNone of the Above5778

Phulparas Assembly Elections Schedule

AC No Category Poll Phases Last Date of Nominations Date of Polls Result
39 GEN Phase V Oct 8th 2015 Nov 5th 2015 Nov 8th 2015

About Phulparas Assembly Election Constituency

Phulparas assembly segment is a part of Jhanjharpur Lok Sabha constituency and is in Madhubani district. The assembly segment has 2,81,814 eligible voters of whokm there are 1,47,518 men and 1,34,290 women. The Phulparas assembly constituency consists of Rahua Sangram, Sunder Birajit, Bheja, Matras, Barsham, Tardiha, Bhargawan, Mahisham, Bakwa, Madhepur West, Madhepur East, Bath, Nawada, Bhakrain, Karhara, Garhgaon, Dara, Basipatti, Doalakh and Mahapatia gram panchayats of Madhepur community development block, Mahindwar, Ramnagar, Dharamdiha, Phulparas, Goriari, Siswar Barhi and Mahathour Khurd gram panchayats of Phulparas community development block and Mohd. Zubair Alam Pirozgarh gram panchayats of Ghoghardiha CD blocks.

Electoral History of Phulparas Constituency in Bihar

One of the ten assembly segments located in the Madhubani district of Bihar, Phulparas assembly constituency is currently held by Guljar Devi who won the seat for the Janata Dal (RJD) by defeating her nearest Rashtriya Janata Dal rival Virendra Kumar Chaudhary by a margin of 12344 votes in the last general assembly polls to the Bihar legislative assembly held in 2010. In that election, whereas Guljar Devi polled 36113 votes, Virendra Kumar Chaudhary received 23769 votes. Anita Yadav, who contested on the ticket of the Congress, was relegated to the ninth place with 4677 votes.

In 2010 the JD (U) went to the polls in alliance with the BJP. However, today equations have changed. As things stand now, the BJP and the JD (U) have parted ways and the Lok Janashakti Party (LJP), the ally of the RJD in the last assembly elections, is now a part of the BJP led NDA. The JD (U), the RJD and the Congress have joined forces to fight the BJP.

Earlier, Guljar Devi's husband, Deo Nath Yadav was elected from the Phulparas assembly seat in both the elections in 2005 on the ticket of Samajwadi Party. Bihar went to the assembly polls twice in 2005 because the earlier one held in February threw hung assembly necessitating the holding of the second assembly polls in the month of November of the same year. Deo Nath Yadav was also elected from the seat in 1995 on the ticket of the Congress by virtue of his victory over the sitting Janata Dal MLA Ram Kumar Yadav.

Deo Nath was convicted of murder by a court of law. Dhanik Lal Mandal, former governor of Haryana, was winner of the Phulparas seat in 1967 and 1969. His son Bharat Bhushan Mandal lost to Deo Nath Yadav in 2005.

Phulparas is one of the six assembly constituencies that unite to create the parliamentary constituency of Jhanjharpur which is currently represented by Birendra Kumar Chaudhary of the BJP who won it by defeating his nearest rival and sitting MP and RJD candidate Mangani Lal Mandal in the last Lok Sabha general elections in 2014

Phulparas Assembly Election News 2015

Updated on : Oct-11,2015

Ram Sunder Yadav from BJP is taking on the sitting JD(U) MLA Gulzar Devi in Phulparas. A section of voters in this constituency feel the alliance of Mahagathbandhan as "rank opportunism". There is anger within the Yadav community here which is underlined from the fact that they have launched an intensive campaign against Nitish under the banner of "Yadav Swabhiman Manch" (YSM).
Through this campaign, the fellow Yadav class is being appealed to first go through five major "actions" of the Nitish Kumar government against Yadav before deciding to support him. Phulparas is represented in the assembly by Guljar Devi of JD(U) who defeated RJD's Virendra Kumar Chaudhary in the elections held in November 2010.
Guljar Devi won 36,113 votes as compared to 23,769 votes won by Virendra Kumar Chaudhary. Phulparas segment is a part of Jhanjharpur Lok Sabha constituency though it comes under Madhubani district.

Phulparas Assembly Election Videos 2015