Patna Sahib Assembly Elections 2015

Patna Sahib Assembly Election Candidates List and Results

Name of the Candidate Party Name Result
NAND KISHORE YADAVBharatiya Janata Party88108
SANTOSH MEHTARashtriya Janata Dal85316
NANDU KUMARShivsena2694
VIRENDRA THAKURRevolutionary Socialist Party1857
ANAY KUMAR ALIAS ANAY MEHTACommunist Party of India (Marxist-Leninist) (Liberation)1710
VIJAY SAHIndependent1595
ARSHAD AYUBBahujan Samaj Party1082
MITHILESH KUMARIndependent1019
RAJENDRA MISTRIAll India Forward Bloc738
NANDITA RAJ LAKSHMISarvajan Kalyan Loktantrik Party448
IMRANUL HODASamajwadi Party409
MUNNI DEVIKrantikari Vikas Dal400
OM PRAKASH YADAVRastriya Sadabahar Party329
JITENDRA KUMARGareeb Aadmi Party311
IRSHAD HUSSAINRashtriya Samanta Dal278
None of the AboveNone of the Above1332

Patna Sahib Assembly Elections Schedule

AC No Category Poll Phases Last Date of Nominations Date of Polls Result
184 GEN Phase III Oct 1st 2015 Oct 28th 2015 Nov 8th 2015

About Patna Sahib Assembly Elections Constituency

Patna Sahib legislative assembly segmentis part of the Patna Sahib Lok Sabha constituency. The Patna Sahib assembly segment is home to a total of 3,16,233 eligible voters, out of whom 1,71,877 are men and 1,44,342 are women.

Electoral History of Patna Sahib Constituency in Bihar

Patna Sahib, which came into being in place of Patna East before the last general assembly elections to Bihar in 2010 following the recommendations of the Delimitation Commission, is currently held by the BJP leader Nand Kishore Yadav who won the seat by defeating his nearest Congress rival Parvej Ahmad by a massive of 65337 votes in 2010 in a one sided contest.

In the 2010 election to Patna Sahib assembly constituency, while Nand Kishore Yadav, priestly leader of the opposition in Bihar, polled 91419 votes, Parvej Ahmad received 26082 votes and was followed by Rajesh Kumar of the Lalu Yadav led Rashtriya Janata Dal who got 8271 votes.

Nand Kishore Yadav, a former minister in the Nitish Kumar cabinet, has been representing the Patna East seat since 1995.

In 2010 the Janata Dal (United) did not field its candidate for the Patna Sahib assembly seat because it was in alliance with the BJP at that time. However, since elevation of Narendra Modi was not liked by Nitish Kumar, the JD (U) snapped the ties with the BJP. As things stand today, the Lok Janashakti Party (LJP), previously an ally of the RJD, is now a part of the BJP led NDA, the ruling dispensation at the Centre.

Due to abysmal performance of the JD (U) in the 2014 Lok Sabha polls, the JD (U) and RJD have joined forces with the Congress to stop the BJP from coming to power in Bihar.

In 2010 the BJP had won 91 seats whereas the JD (U) managed to claim 115 seats, becoming the single largest party. While the RJD put up a dismal performance with only 22 seats, the Congress was able to win only four.

Patna Sahib is one of the six assembly constituencies that unite to form the Patna Sahib parliamentary constituency currently represented by Shatrughan Sinha of the BJP who retained the seat by defeating his nearest Congress rival Kunal Singh of the Congress by an impressive margin of 2,65,805 votes in the last parliamentary elections in 2014. The JD (U) candidate Dr. Gopal Prasad Sinha was relegated to the third place.

Digha, Bakhtiarpur, Bankipur, Kumhrar and Fatuha are the other assembly constituencies falling under Patna Sahib Lok Sabha seat.

Patna Sahib Assembly Election News 2015

Banking on Kushwaha community

Updated on : Oct-3,2015

Santosh Mehta of the RJD will try his luck from Patna Sahib which is represented by the BJP's old warhorse and leader of Opposition in the Assembly Nand Kishore Yadav. Santosh's biggest advantage is that he belongs to the Kushwaha community, which has a sizeable population in Patna Sahib. Sitting BJP MLA Nand Kishore won from Patna Sahib by 65,337 votes against his nearest rival in 2010 assembly poll.

Patna Sahib Assembly Election Videos 2015