Patepur Assembly Elections 2015

Patepur Assembly Election Candidates List and Results

Name of the Candidate Party Name Result
PREMA CHAUDHARYRashtriya Janata Dal67548
MAHENDRA BAITHABharatiya Janata Party55087
RATAN LALIndependent4379
RAM KRIPAL PASWANBahujan Samaj Party2011
UPENDRA KUMARIndependent1263
RITA DEVIIndependent1066
PREM PRAKASHSamajwadi Party1060
SANJEEV KUMAR SANJAYJanta Dal Rashtravadi1005
RAJESH PASWANCommunist Party of India (Marxist-Leninist) (Liberation)725
PRAMESH KUMARRashtriya Jankranti Party627
REENA KUMARIGarib Janta Dal (Secular)582
CHHATHU SADAKIsan Shakti Jantantrik Party581
BINDESHWAR RAMIndependent538
RINA RAGNIBahujan Mukti Party510
ANIL KUMARGareeb Aadmi Party454
RANVIJAY KUMARSathi Aur Aapka Faisala Party394
None of the AboveNone of the Above1056

Patepur Assembly Elections Schedule

AC No Category Poll Phases Last Date of Nominations Date of Polls Result
130 SC Phase III Oct 1st 2015 Oct 28th 2015 Nov 8th 2015

About Patepur Assembly Elections Constituency

  Patepur is a legislative assembly constituency is reserved for the candidates coming from the Scheduled Castes (SC). There are 2,45,090 people in the Patepur assembly constituency holding the right to vote. Amongst all the voters, 1,31,668 are men and 1,13,417 are women.

   Patepur assembly segment would cover the Laxmipur Barbatta, Mansinghpur Bijhrauli, Naree Khurd, Kumar Bajitpur, Adalpur and Raghopur Narsanda gram panchayats of the Jandaha community development block as well as the Patepur community development block. The Patepur legislative assembly segment is located in the Vaishali district and a part of the Ujiarpur Lok Sabha constituency.

Electoral History of Patepur Constituency in Bihar

  Located in the Vaishali district in Bihar, Patepur is currently held by Mahendra Baitha of the BJP who had defeated his nearest rival and sitting Rashtirya Janata Dal (RJD) MLA Prema Chaudhary by a good margin of 16667 votes in a bipolar election in the last general assembly elections to Bihar in 2010.

   In that election, while Mahendra Baitha who had ealer won the seat in 1995 and 2005 Februray elections, polled 53762 votes, Prema Chaudhary, the winner of the previous assembly elections in October/November 2005, received 37095 votes and was remotely followed by independent candidate Sanjay Paswan who obtained just 4263 votes. The Congress, which had won only four seats in Bihar in 2010, had nominated BABITA DEVI which finished fourth by securing only 3946 votes.

  In 2010 assembly poll to Patepur, Mahendra Baitha got support from unexpected quarter. Prema Chaudhary’s husband Doman Mahto Tarun had lent his support to Mahendra Baitha who had also defeated her in 2005 February elections. Mahendra Baitha, who contested the seat in both the elections in 2005 on the ticket of Lok Janashakti Party (LJP), was however trounced by Prema Chaudhary in October/November elections. Prema Chaudhary, had also defeated him in 2000. This time Mahendra Baitha was in the fray as a Janata Dal (United) candidate.

  Mahendra Baitha had claimed the Patepur assembly seat in 1995 as a nominee of the Janata Dal by defeating Prema Chaudhary, then a nominee of Samata Party, the earlier avatar of JD(U). Reserved for the candidates belonging to scheduled castes, Patepur was won by former Bihar Chief Minister Ramsundar Das in 1990. In 1991 he was elected from Hajipur parliamentary constituency and was once gain re-elected to the 15th Lok Sabha from the same constituency in 2009 on the ticket of the Janata Dal (United) by defeating Ram Vilas Paswan. He however lost to Ram Vilas Paswan in the last Lok Sabha general electyions in 2014.

  In the byepoll to Patepur in 1991 following Ramsundar Das’ election to the LOk Sabh in 1991, L Mahto of the Janata Dal emerged victorious.Patepur is one of the six assembly constituencies that combine to form the parliamentary constituency of Ujiarpur which is currently represented by Nityanand Rai of the BJP who won the seat in the 2014 Lok Sabha elections by defeating his nearest RJD rival Alok Kumar Mehta by a margin of 60,469 votes.

  Other five assembly constituencies that are parts of the Ujiarpur parliamentary seat are Bibhutipur, Morwa, Ujiarpur, Sarairanjan and Mohiuddinnagar.

Patepur Assembly Election News 2015

Teachers to back Nitish

Updated on : Oct-4,2015

  BJP's Mahendra Baitha will lock horns with Prerna Chaudhary from RJD in this constituency.

  CM Nitish Kumar's decision to concede the demand of nearly 4 lakh contractual schoolteachers to be accorded regular pay scale may have won him some new backers ahead of the assembly election.

  Shabnam Kumari, who teaches at a government school in Patepur block of Vaishali district, expressed the popular sentiment among the community as she showered praise on the chief minister.

  Teachers' vote bank is not limited to four lakh but they actually constitute more than 20 lakh voters along with their family members, said the teacher.

Patepur Assembly Election Videos 2015