Parihar Assembly Elections 2015

Parihar Assembly Election Candidates List and Results

Name of the Candidate Party Name Result
GAYTRI DEVIBharatiya Janata Party66388
RAM CHANDRA PURVERashtriya Janata Dal62371
SARITA YADAVJan Adhikar Party (Loktantrik)8005
NILAM YADAVBahujan Samaj Party6794
MOHD. SHAMS SHAHNAWAZSamajwadi Party2822
DEVENDRA THAKURIndependent2631
MD. NAZAMUDDIN ANSARICommunist Party of India2405
JAI NARAYAN MAHTOIndependent1773
GOPAL KUMARRashtravadi Janata Party1393
MD. MAJIBUL RAHMANJanta Dal Rashtravadi1099
SOGARTH PASWANProutist Bloc, India1081
MD. MUSTAFASocialist Party (India)733
MD. ASPHAKLoktantrik Sarvjan Samaj Party635
None of the AboveNone of the Above3618

Parihar Assembly Elections Schedule

AC No Category Poll Phases Last Date of Nominations Date of Polls Result
25 GEN Phase IV Oct 7th 2015 Nov 1st 2015 Nov 8th 2015

About Parihar Assembly Elections Constituency

Parihar is a part of Sitamarhi Lok Sabha constituency. Parihar covers Dostia, Sonbarsa, Bishunpur Adhar, Purandha Rajwara Purvi, Purandha Rajwara Paschimi, Indarwa, Bhaluaha, Singhwahini, Pipra Parsain, Madhiya and Jainagar gram panchayats of Sonbarsa community development blocks and Parihar CD blocks. It is home to 2,68,167 voters of whom 1,40,316 male and 1,27,837 female eligible voters.

Electoral History of Parihar Constituency in Bihar

Ram Naresh Yadav of the BJP is the incumbent MLA from the Parihar assembly seat which he won in 2010 by defeating his nearest rival and the sitting Rashtriya Janata Dal (RJD) MLA from the erstwhile Sonbarsa assembly constituency Dr. Ramchandra Purve by a margin of 4218 votes. In that election to the constituency, which came into being before the 2010 assembly polls following the recommendation of the delimitation commission, while Ram Naresh Yadav polled 32987 votes, Ramchandra Purve received 28769 votes and was followed by Parvej Alam of the Congress who got 20388 votes.

Earlier Dr. Ramchandra Purve was elected from the erstwhile Sonbarsa assembly for three times in a row. Sonbarsa ceased to be an assembly constituency before 2010 Bihar general assembly polls following the recommendation of the delimitation commission. While in the 2005 November election to the Sonbarsa assembly seat Ramchandra Purve won the seat by defeating Amzad Hussain Anwar of the Bahujan Samaj Party (BSP), in the February election to the seat he emerged victorious by defeating Md. Anwarul Haque who entered the fray as a candidate of Lok Janashakti Party (LJP). It has to be noted that Bihar went to the assembly polls twice in 2005 because the earlier one held in February threw hung assembly necessitating the holding of the second assembly polls in the month of November of the same year.

In 2000, Dr. Ramchandra Purve had won the Sonbarsa assembly seat by polling 46590 votes to defeat Md. Hira Khan of the Congress by a margin of 18194 votes. Anwarul Haque had won the seat on the ticket of the Congress in 1980. He was defeated in the next assembly election to the seat in 1985 by former Bihar Chief Minister Kapoori Thakur by a margin of 24947 votes. In that election, while Kapoori Thakur was in the fray as a nominee of Lok Dal, Anwarul Haque contested as an Independent.

Parihar is one of the six assembly constituencies that combine to form the parliamentary constituency of Sitamarhi which is currently represented by Ram Kumar Sharma of the Rashtriya Lok Samata Party (RLSP) who won the seat by defeating his nearest rival Sitaram Yadav of the RJD by a margin of 147965 votes in the 2014 Lok Sabha elections which resulted in the formation of Narendra Modi government at the centre.

Parihar Assembly Election News 2015

Last minute swing is crucial

Updated on : Oct-8,2015

Sitting BJP MLA Ram Naresh Prasad Yadav was awarded 10-year jail term in a case related to an attack on Sitamarhi collectorate and subsequent police firing in which five persons were killed in 1998. However, BJP has fielded Gayatri Devi Yadav in Parihar, which is part of Sitamarhi LS constituency. She will be facing a stiff challenge from Dr Ramchandra Purve of RJD who was runner-up in the last assembly election in 2010.
Ram Naresh defeated RJD's Dr Ramchandra Purve in the assembly elections held in November 2010. Yadav had got 32,987 votes, while Purve managed 28,769 votes. While it will be an interesting contest between the BJP and RJD candidates, the last minute swing in voters' sentiment will play a crucial role in deciding the winner.

Parihar Assembly Election Videos 2015