Paliganj Assembly Elections 2015

Paliganj Assembly Election Candidates List and Results

Name of the Candidate Party Name Result
RAM JANM SHARMABharatiya Janata Party41479
ANWAR HUSAINCommunist Party of India (Marxist-Leninist) (Liberation)19438
CHANDAN KUMARIndependent5145
ALAKH NIRANJAN PALBahujan Samaj Party2424
HARE KRISHN SINGHIndependent1947
PRATIBHA JHAIndependent1806
LAKSHMAN SHARMAIndependent1628
MANISH KUMARShivsena1272
AJAY KUMARIndependent637
SUNIL SANANDHamara Sahara Party446
SHAMBHU KUMAR SHAHRashtriya Pragati Party404
MEJNARAYAN DASSankhyanupati Bhagidari Party319
None of the AboveNone of the Above2524

Paliganj Assembly Elections Schedule

AC No Category Poll Phases Last Date of Nominations Date of Polls Result
190 GEN Phase III Oct 1st 2015 Oct 28th 2015 Nov 8th 2015

About Paliganj Assembly Elections Constituency

Paliganj is a legislative assembly constituency in the Patna district is a part of the Pataliputra Lok Sabha constituency. The Paliganj assembly segment has 2,42,702 voters among them 1,30,167 are men and 1,12,526 women. Paliganj constituency consists of Paliganj and Dulhin Bazar community development blocks.

Electoral History of Paliganj Constituency in Bihar

One of the assembly constituencies located in the Patna district of Bihar, Paliganj is currently held by Usha Vidyarthi of the BJP who won the seat by defeating his nearest Rashtirya Janata Dal (RJD) rival Jai Vardhan Yadav by a comfortable margin of 10242 votes in the last general assembly elections to Bihar held in 2010.

Jai Vardhan Yadav is the grandson of former Union minister Ram Lakhan Singh Yadav who had been elected to the Bihar legislative assembly a num ber of times from the Paliganj seat. Ram Lakhan Singh Yadav was famously known as Sher-e- Bihar. His son and father of Jai Vardhan Yadav, Prakash Chandra Yadav was elected MP from the erstwhile Barh Lok Sabha constituency in 1984.

In that election, while Usha Vidyarthi polled 43692 votes, the RJD nominee received 33450 votes was followed by the outgoing CPI (ML) MLA Nand Kumar Nanda who got 16748 votes. Former RJD MLA Dinanath Singh Yadav who entered the fray as an independent candidate came fourth with 6977 votes and was followed by Dhananjay Kumar, who contested on the ticket of the Bahujan Samaj Party (BSP).

Dharmendra Dhari Singh of the Congress was relegated to the sixth place with just 2785 votes.

Paliganj had elected Nand Kumar Nanda in both the elections in 2005. While he defeated Usha Vidyarthi in October/November assembly polls, his win in February came against the sitting RJD MLA Dinanath Singh Yadav who won the seat in 2000 by trouncing the outgoing BJP MLA Janardan Sharma who was elected to the seat in a byepoll held in 1996 necessitated due to the resignation of Chandradeo Prasad Verma who was elected to the Lok Sabha from Arrah parliamentary constituency.

Earlier Chandradeo Prasad Verma, a former Union minister who along with Lalu Prasad had been convicted by a court of law in the fodder scam, had claimed the Paliganj seat for different parties in 1957, 1967, 1969 and 1995. He had also won the Arrah Lok Sabha seat in 1977, 1980 and 1996.

The RJD had a lead in the last Lok Sabha elections from the Paliganj assembly seat.

Paliganj Assembly Election News 2015

Desperate attempts to get tiket

Updated on : Oct-3,2015

BJP has fielded former MLA Ram Janam Sharma from Paliganj in place of sitting MLA Usha Vidyarthi. The case of the BJP candidate for Paliganj, Sharma, is interesting. He was first elected from neighbouring Bikram in 2000, but lost the seat in February 2005 assembly elections to Anil Kumar of LJP. The state government could not be formed after the February assembly elections, because it resulted in hung assembly. Besides, LJP chief Ram Vilas Paswan refused to go with any of the two political combines - one led by RJD chief Lalu Prasad, and the other of the NDA comprising BJP and JD(U) led by Nitish Kumar

Later, as the government could not be formed, Bikram MLA Ram Sharma joined the BJP and aligned with Dr C P Thakur. Subsequently, in the October-November 2005 assembly elections, the BJP fielded sitting MLA Kumar from Bikram, leaving out Sharma. Party fielded Usha Vidyarthi from Paliganj in 2010 election, even as Sharma had been eyeing for it. Sharma's supporters had even protested at the state BJP headquarters against denial of ticket to him.

This time around, BJP has maintained that only those sitting MLAs have been denied tickets from whose constituencies adverse internal reports came. And instead of sitting MLA Usha Vidyarthi, former Bikram MLA Ram Sharma was chosen by the party. Ram Janam Sharma can expect a tough contest from Jaiwardhan Yadav from RJD in Paliganj.

Paliganj Assembly Election Videos 2015