Obra Assembly Elections 2015

Obra Assembly Election Candidates List and Results

Name of the Candidate Party Name Results (No. of Votes)
BIRENDRA KUMAR SINHA Rashtriya Janata Dal Winner
CHANDRA BHUSHAN VERMA Rashtriya Lok Samta Party 44646
RAJA RAM SINGH Communist Party of India (Marxist-Leninist) (Liberation) 22801
SOM PRAKASH Swaraj Party (Loktantrik) 10114
RAM AUTAR CHAUDHARI Bahujan Samaj Party 6561
ABHIMANYU SHARMA Nationalist Congress Party 3720
RICHA SINGH Independent 1868
BRINDA SINGH Independent 1828
NEELAM KUMARI Samajwadi Party 1798
SHAILESH KUMAR CHANDRAVANSHI Akhil Hind Forward Bloc (Krantikari) 1691
AKHILESH SHARMA Independent 1487
RAJEEV KUMAR Samras Samaj Party 1004
BINAY KUMAR Independent 942
ANJANI KUMAR Sarvajan Kalyan Loktantrik Party 794
SHIV KUMAR Rashtra Sewa Dal 719
RAMRAJ YADAV Independent 706
JUDAGIR MISTRI Pragatisheel Magahi Samaj 622
NIRAJ KUMAR Socialist Party (India) 609
None of the Above None of the Above 2795

Obra Assembly Elections Schedule

AC No Category Poll Phases Last Date of Nominations Date of Polls Result
220 GEN Phase II Oct 1st 2015 Oct 28th 2015 Nov 8th 2015

About Obra Assembly Election Constituency

Obra is a legislative assembly segment in a part of the Karakat Lok Sabha constituency,. A total of 2,69,274 are eligable voters, out of whom 1,44,753 are men and 1,24,513 are women. It comprise the Daudnagar and Obra community development blocks

Electoral History of Obra Constituency in Bihar

One of the six independent candidate to win in last assembly election to Bihar in 2010, Somprakash Singh is the sitting MLA from Obra, one of the six assembly constituencies located in the Aurangabad district of the sate. In that election, he defeated his nearest Janata Dal (United) rival Pramod Singh Chandravanshi by a slender margin of 802 votes in a multi-cornered contest.

While Somprakash Singh, a former cop who resigned from service as a police sub-inspector to contest the polls, polled 36816 votes, the JDU) nominee received 36014 votes and was followed by former CPI(ML) legislator Rajaram Singh who got 18463 votes.

The sitting Rashtriya Janata Dal (RJD) MLA Satyanarayan Singh was relegated to the fourth place with 16856 votes. Arvind Kumar, who entered the fray as a Congress candidate, secured 13201 votes. Rajaram Singh had unsuccessfully contested the 20104 Lok Sabha polls from Karakat parliamentary seat which elected Upendra Kushwaha of the Rashtriya Lok Samata Party (RLSP), an alliance partner of the BJP in Bihar.

Som Prakash Singh’s election to the Bihar legislative assembly was challenged by Pramod Singh Chandravanshi in the court on the ground that his resignation from the police service was not accepted by the appropriate authority.

Earlier Satyanarayan Singh had both the elections to the Obra assembly seat in 2005. In both occasions his nearest rival was Raja Ram Singh of the CPIML who was elected in 1995 and 2000. CPIML failed to open its account in the last assembly polls in Bihar.

Orba went in favour of the BJP in 1980 when its nominee Virendra Prasad Singh trounced sitting Janata Party MLA Ram Valash Singh who had won the seat in 1977, 1985 and 1990. He emerged victorious from the seat in 1985 on the ticket of the Lok Dal, his win in 1990 came as a member of the Janata Dal.

The Maoist hit Obra assembly constituency is one of the six assembly constituencies that combine to form the parliamentary constituency of Karakat which is currently held by Upendra Kushwaha of the Rashtriya Lok Samata Party RLSP who had defeated RJD nominee Kanti Singh in the last general Lok Sabha elections in 2014.

Other five assembly segments that are part of Karakat parliamentary constituency are Nokha, Dehri, Karakat, Goh and Nabinagar.

Obra Assembly Election News 2015

Its RJD versus RLSP

RLSP has fielded party leader Chandra Bhushan Verma in Obra. He will take on Birendra Kumar Sinha from RJD. A tough fight is on the cards as both have their vote banks and traditional support base. Both candidates are tyring to win supporters from other parties through hectic campaign leading to the second phase of polling in which Obra residents get to vote.

Obra Assembly Election Videos 2015