Nokha Assembly Elections 2015

Nokha Assembly Election Candidates List and Results

Name of the Candidate Party Name Result
ANITA DEVIRashtriya Janata Dal72780
RAMESHWAR PRASADBharatiya Janata Party49782
RAJENDRA SINGHBahujan Samaj Party4101
JAWAHAR LAL SINGHCommunist Party of India (Marxist-Leninist) (Liberation)2783
VIRENDRA SINGHIndependent1802
YASHODA DEVIIndependent1570
SURESH PANDEYIndependent913
ANIL SINGHIndependent856
RAM DAYAL SINGHIndependent772
HIMANSHU KUMARRashtra Sewa Dal430
JAY PRAKASH SINGHSamras Samaj Party352
KANHAIYA SAHNational Youth Party242
None of the AboveNone of the Above2923

Nokha Assembly Elections Schedule

AC No Category Poll Phases Last Date of Nominations Date of Polls Result
211 GEN Phase II Sep 21st 2015 Oct 16th 2015 Nov 8th 2015

About Nokha Assembly Election Constituency

Nokha is a legislative assembly constituency n the Rohtas district and belongs to the Karakat Lok Sabha constituency. A total of 2,52,369 people are eligible voters amongst 1,35,804 are men and 1,16,559 are women. The segment comprises Nokha, Rajpur and Nasriganj community development blocks.

Electoral History of Nokha Constituency in Bihar

One of the seven assembly segments located in the Rohtas district of Bihar, Nokha is currently held by Rameshwar Prasad Chaurasia of the BJP who retained the seat for consecutive fourth time by defeating his nearest the Rashtriya Janata Dal (RJD) nominee Kanti Singh by a margin of 11723 votes in 2010 general assembly polls to the Bihar Legislative assembly.

In that election, while Rameshwar Chaurasia, who has been representing the seat since 2000, polled 39020 votes, Kanti Singh, a former Union minister, received 27297 votes and was followed by Saiyad Kaisar Nehal of the CPIML who got 9295 votes. Ashutosh Ranjan Pandey, who entered the fray as a nominee of the Congress, was placed sixth with 5842 votes.

In 2010 Janata Dal (United) did not field its candidate because it was in alliance with the BJP. However, equations have changed. As things stand today, the BJP and the JD (U) are on the opposite side of the spectrum and the Lok Janashakti Party (LJP) LJP, an ally of the RJD, is now a part of the BJP led NDA, the ruling political formation at the Centre.

Rameshwar Prasad Chaurasia had been elected from Nokha assembly constituency in 2000 and in both the elections in 2005. All his wins came as a nominee of the BJP. In 2000 and 2005 November elections, his nearest rival was Anand Mohan Singh of the RJD. Anand Mohan Singh had emerged victorious from the Nokha assembly seat in 1995 on the ticket of the Janata Dal.

He is not to be confused with his namesake who is cooling his heels in jail after he was convicted for the murder of an IAS officer.

Nokha assembly seat was won by the Congress last time in 1985 when its nominee Sumitra Devi trounced the sitting Janata Party MLA Jangi Singh Choudhary.

Former Bihar BJP president Gopal Narayan Singh had claimed the Nokha assembly seat in 1977 when he won on the ticket of the Janata Party.

Nokha is one of the six assembly constituencies that combine to form the parliamentary constituency of Karakat which is currently held by Upendra Kushwaha of the Rashtriya Lok Samata Party RLSP who had defeated RJD nominee Kanti Singh in the last general Lok Sabha elections in 2014.

Other five assembly segments that are part of Karakat parliamentary constituency are Dehri, Karakat, Goh, Nokha and Nabinagar.

Nokha Assembly Elections News 2015

RJD fields housewife

The RJD has allotted party ticket to a housewife who has never contested any election from Nokha seat. After the death of former minister and two-time MLA Anand Mohan, the party asked his schoolteacher wife Anita Chaudhary to resign and contest the election from this seat. She is locked in what is considered a direct fight with four-time MLA and BJP candidate Rameshwar Chaurasia.

Nokha Assembly Election Videos 2015