Nautan Assembly Elections 2015

Nautan Assembly Election Candidates List and Results

Name of the Candidate Party Name Result
NARAYAN PRASADBharatiya Janata Party66697
RAJ KUMAR PRASADIndependent4287
GALLU CHAUDHARICommunist Party of India4242
SHAILESH KUSHAWAHABahujan Samaj Party3873
PUNYADEV PRASADIndependent2949
SHANKAR CHAUDHARIGarib Janta Dal (Secular)1108
RADHAKRISHNA PRASADJharkhand Mukti Morcha925
PRIYA RANJANIndependent906
HAMID ALIRashtriya Jankranti Party660
None of the AboveNone of the Above2438

Nautan Assembly Elections Schedule

AC No Category Poll Phases Last Date of Nominations Date of Polls Result
6 GEN Phase IV Oct 7th 2015 Nov 1st 2015 Nov 8th 2015

About Nautan Assembly Elections Constituency

Nautan assembly segments is located in the western Champaran district and part of western Champaran Lok Sabha constituency. it comprises of Nautan community development blocks. Nautan has 2,15,597 electorate, out of whom 1,17,759 are men and 97,825 are women.

Electoral History of Nautan Constituency in Bihar

One of the nine assembly segments located in the Paschim Champaran district of Bihar, Nautan assembly constituency is currently held by Manorma Prasad who won the seat as a Janata Dal (United) nominee in the last Bihar assembly polls in 2010 by defeating her nearest rival Narayan Prasad of the Lok Janashakti Party (LJP) by an impressive margin of 22764 votes. While Manorma Prasad polled 40894 votes, the LJP candidate received 18130 votes and was followed by Gallu Choudhary of the Communist Party of India (CPI) who received 15764 votes.

Amar Yadav, who contested on the ticket of the Bahujan Samaj Party, came fourth with 8521 votes. Amar Yadav, son of infamous gangster Bhagar Yadav, was followed by Rameshwar Prasad of the Congress which went to the polls alone. Earlier Sattan Yadav, brother of Bhagar Yadav, was elected from the Nautan assembly seat in 1985 as an independent.

Former JD (U) Baidyanath Prasad Mahto was elected from the Nautan assembly constituency in 2000 and 2005. In the November assembly election in 2005 to the constituency, Baidyanath Prasad Mahto emerged victorious from the seat by trouncing Amar Yadav, then an RJD candidate, by a margin of 5303 votes. In the previous assembly election to the seat held in February that year Baidyanath Prasad Mahto had defeated the same opponent by a margin of 8342 votes.

Bihar went to the assembly polls twice in 2005 because the earlier one held in February threw hung assembly necessitating the holding of the second assembly polls in the month of November of the same year. In 2000 Baidyanath Prasad Mahto was elected from the constituency by virtue of his victory over Amar Yadav by a good margin of 23720 votes.

Nautan is one of the six assembly constituencies that combine to form the parliamentary constituency of Paschim Champaran which is currently represented by Sanjay Jaiswal of the BJP who retained the seat in the 2014 Lok Sabha elections.

Before 1990, Nautan had been a stronghold of the Congress whose candidate Kedar Pandey had emerged victorious from the seat in 1967, 1969, 1972 and 1977. CPI has won the Nautan assembly seat in 1990 when the party nominee Rawakant Diwedi was elected from here.

Nautan Assembly Election News 2015

FIR against JD(U) candidate

Updated on : Oct-8,2015

Police registered an FIR against former Bihar minister and JD(U) candidate Baidyanath Prasad Mahto in Nautan for violating the model code of conduct while filing his nomination papers. A man dressed as woman was dancing on a tractor, part of a fleet of vehicles that Mahto took to the office of returning officer while filing his nomination papers, amid loud music, according to a police officer. A case has been registered under the Representation of People's Act, 1951, against Mahto. However, Mahto, a former Lok Sabha MP from Valmikinagar in West Champaran and former rural development minister of Bihar, pleaded ignorance in the matter. Narayan Prasad is the BJP candidate in Nautan.

Nautan Assembly Election Videos 2015