Nathnagar Assembly Elections 2015

Nathnagar Assembly Election Candidates List and Results

Name of the Candidate Party Name Result
AJAY KUMAR MANDALJanata Dal (United)66485
ABU QAISERJan Adhikar Party (Loktantrik)8725
OM PRAKASH YADAVIndependent7420
MANOHAR KUMAR MANDALCommunist Party of India (Marxist)5682
BIRENDRA PRASAD SINGHBhartiya Jan Hitkari Party2342
SANDIP KUMAR SHARMAGarib Janta Dal (Secular)1873
MOHAMMAD RIJBIBahujan Samaj Party1357
UPENDER MANDALNational Tiger Party1110
UPENDRA PRASAD DASSarvajan Kalyan Loktantrik Party959
None of the AboveNone of the Above7172

Nathnagar Assembly Elections Schedule

AC No Category Poll Phases Last Date of Nominations Date of Polls Result
158 GEN Phase I Sep 23rd 2015 Oct 12th 2015 Nov 8th 2015

About Nathnagar Assembly Elections Constituency

One of the seven assembly segments located in the Bhagalpur district of Bihar, Nathnagar is currently held by the sitting Janata Dal (United) MLA Ajai Kumar Mandal who won the seat by defeating his nearest Rashtriya Janata Dal (RJD) rival Abu Kaishar by a margin of 4727 votes in the last general assembly polls to the Bihar Legislative assembly in 2010.

In that election, while Ajai Kumar Mandal, the winner of the Kahalgaon assembly seat in the previous assembly election in October in 2005, polled 42094 votes, the RJD nominee received 37367 votes and was followed by Parwez Jamal of the Congress who got 16623 votes.

Electoral History of Nathnagar Constituency in Bihar

Former minister in the Lalu and Nitish Kumar-led NDA government. Sudha Shrivastava was elected from Nathnagar in 1977, 1990, 2000, February 2005 and October 2005. While she won in 1977 as a nominee of the Janata Party, her win in 1990 came as a candidate of the Janata Dal. She joined the Samata Party, the earlier avatar of JD (U), and successfully contested the Nathnagar assembly seat in 2000 on the ticket of the party. She managed to win both the elections in 2005.

Earlier Chunchun Prasad Yadav, who had defeated former Bihar Chief Minister and Congress heavyweight Bhagwat Jha Azad in 1989 Lok Sabha poll to Bhagalpur by a massive margin, had emerged victorious from the Nathnagar assembly seat in 1969, 1972 and 1985. He claimed the seat in 1969 on the ticket of the Bhartiya Jana Sangh, the earlier avatar of the BJP.

While he won the seat in the next assembly election in 1972 as a Congress nominee, he was elected in 1985 as a candidate of the Lok Dal of the former Prime Minister Charan Singh. Chunchun Prasad Yadav went on to win the Bhagalpur Lok Sabha seat in 1991 and 1996.

One of the seven assembly constituencies located in the Bhagalpur district, Nathnagar is one of the six assembly constituencies the combination of which goes on to create the parliamentary constituency of Bhagalpur which is currently represented by Shailesh Kumar Mandal alias Bulo Mandal of the RJD who won the seat by defeating Shahnawaz Hussain of the BJP in 2014 Lok Sabha elections by a margin 9,485 votes.

Nathnagar Assembly Election News 2015

JD(U) rebel joins JAP

Updated on : Oct 2,2015

Jan Adhikar Party floated by Madhepura MP Pappu Yadav has fielded JD(U) rebel Abu Kaiser from Nath Nagar constituency. In 2014 Lok Sabha polls, Kaiser had quit the RJD and contested from Bhagalpur constituency on the JD(U) ticket. He was apparently hoping to get the ticket of the grand alliance from any seat in Bhagalpur or Banka district but was left disappointed. Hence, Kaiser shifted his loyalty to Pappu Yadav's Jan Adhikar Party which is part of the Third Front led by Mulayam Singh Yadav.

Nathnagar Assembly Election Videos 2015