Narkatiaganj Assembly Elections 2015

Narkatiaganj Assembly Election Candidates List and Results

Name of the Candidate Party Name Result
VINAY VARMAIndian National Congress57212
RENU DEVIBharatiya Janata Party41151
RASHMI VERMAIndependent39200
RAMBHAJU MAHATOIndependent2262
NAUSHAD ALAMBahujan Samaj Party2124
SHAILESH MISHRAIndependent1666
UMESH YADAWSamajwadi Party1359
BHOT CHATURVEDIIndependent1076
RAMESH PASWANIndependent1072
MANISH ALAMNationalist Congress Party967
OM SHANTI BABABharatiya Ekta Dal956
MUKHTAR MIYANCommunist Party of India (Marxist-Leninist) (Liberation)799
VINAY SAHIndependent725
MERAJ AHMADJanta Dal Rashtravadi432
NATHU RAVIBahujan Mukti Party399
None of the AboveNone of the Above740

Narkatiaganj Assembly Elections Schedule

AC No Category Poll Phases Last Date of Nominations Date of Polls Result
3 GEN Phase IV Oct 7th 2015 Nov 1st 2015 Nov 8th 2015

About Narkatiaganj Assembly Elections Constituency

Narkatiaganj assembly constituency is in western Champaran district. It is part of Valmiki Nagar Lok Sabha constituency. It comprises of Dhumnagar, Shikarpur, Hardi Tedha, Semari, Manwa Parsi, Chamua, Nautanwa, Dumaria, Binawalia, Maldahiya Pokhariya, Kehunia Roari, Parorahan, Purainia Harsari, Rajpur Tumkaria, Sugauli, Kundilpur, Bheriharwa, Gokhula, Kesharia, Kukura, Serahwa, Rakahi Champapur, Banwaria, Bhasurari gram panchayats and Narkatiaganj notified area of Narkatiganj community development block; Telpur, Deurawa, Bagahi Basawaria, Dhobini, Gonauli Dumra and Lakar Sisai gram panchayats of Lauriya CD Block.

Electoral History of Narkatiaganj Constituency in Bihar

One of the nine assembly segments located in the Paschim Champaran district of Bihar, Narkatiaganj assembly constituency is currently being represented by Rashmi Verma who retained the seat for the BJP by defeating her nearest Congress rival Fakhruddin Khan by a margin of 15,742 votes in a byepoll held on 21st August in 2014, necessitated due to the election of its sitting BJP MLA Satish Chandra Dubey to the Lok Sabha from the Valmiki Nagar parliamentary constituency. While Rashmi Verma got 64,602 votes, Fakhruddin Khan got 48,860 votes.

Out of the ten assembly seats that went to the polls in the bye-elections which took place after the Lok Sabha elections, the BJP won 6 whereas the RJD and the JD(U) was victorious on 3 and 2 seats respectively. The Congress won one seats.

In 2010, while the congress had won only four seats in Bihar, the BJP which contested the elections in alliance with the JD (U) managed to claim 91 seats, while the latter emerged victorious from 115 constituencies. The RJD put up a dismal performance with only 22 seats. However, as things stand today, the BJP and the JD (U) have parted ways and the Lok Janashakti Party (LJP), the ally of the RJD in the last assembly elections, is now a part of the BJP led NDA, the ruling dispensation at the Centre. The RJD, the JD (U) and the Congress have come together to stop the BJP from coming to power in Bihar.

Earlier Narkatiaganj assembly constituency, which came into being before the last general assembly elections in Bihar in 2010, was won in that year by Satish Chandra Dubey who had defeated Alok Prasad Verma of the Congress by a margin of 20228 votes. While 45022 votes were polled in favour of Satish Chandra Dubey, Alok Prasad Verma, husband of Rashmi Verma, received 24794 votes and was closely followed by Fakhruddin Khan, then an Independent candidate, with 22381 votes. Majhar Alam, who entered the contest on the Lalu Prasad led Rrashtriya Janata Dal (RJD), came fourth with 8243 votes.

Narkatiaganj is one of the six assembly constituencies that combine to form the parliamentary constituency of Valmiki Nagar which is currently represented by Satish Chandra Dubey of the BJP who won the seat by defeating his nearest Congress rival PURNMASI RAM by a margin of 117793 votes in the last Lok Sabha elections in 2014. Other five assembly constituencies are Lauriya, Valmiki Nagar, Ramnagar, Bagaha and Sikta.

Narkatiaganj Assembly Election News 2015

Threat letter to sitting MLA

Updated on : Oct-8,2015

BJP has fielded Renu Kumari in Narkatiaganj in West Champaran district. Rashmi Varma, sitting BJP legislator from Narkatiaganj, has received a letter threatening her and her children if she chose to contest the polls. Varma had won the byelection in August 2014 after the seat fell vacant with the then BJP MLA Satish Chandra Dubey getting elected to the Lok Sabha in May 2014.
However, the BJP this time dropped her from its list of candidates for the ensuing polls. Vinay Verma from Congress is expected to give a tough fight to Rashmi Varma of BJP in Narkatiaganj.

Narkatiaganj Assembly Election Videos 2015