Nalanda Assembly Elections 2015

Nalanda Assembly Election Candidates List and Results

Name of the Candidate Party Name Result
SHRAWON KUMARJanata Dal (United)72596
KAUSHLENDRA KUMARBharatiya Janata Party69600
SANJAY KUMARIndependent1678
DILIP KUMARBahujan Samaj Party1583
MANMOHAN KUMARCommunist Party of India (Marxist-Leninist) (Liberation)1145
DILEEP CHAUDHARYJan Adhikar Party (Loktantrik)1124
SURENDRA KUMARBharatiya Inqalab Party1068
SHYAMPATI DEVIMaanavvaadi Janta Party601
VINOD UGANWIRastriya Insaaf Party476
DEO KUMARJharkhand Mukti Morcha376
PARTIMA DEVIRastriya Sadabahar Party376
None of the AboveNone of the Above6531

Nalanda Assembly Elections Schedule

AC No Category Poll Phases Last Date of Nominations Date of Polls Result
176 GEN Phase III Oct 1st 2015 Oct 28th 2015 Nov 8th 2015

About Nalanda Assembly Elections Constituency

Nalanda is a legislative assembly constituency, a Lok Sabha segment and a district in the state. A total of 2,70,659 people in the Nalanda assembly constituency are eligible voters amongst them, there are 1,43,307 men and 1,27,342 women.

   The Nalanda assembly segment comprises Lodipur, Barnausa, Pathraura, Meyar, Nahub, Bhui, Goraur and Pilkhi gram panchayats of Rajgir community development block; Meghi Nagwan, Biyavani, Ranabigha, Maghra, Pachauri and Dumrawan gram panchayats of Bihar community development block; Ben community development block; and Noorsarai community development block.

Electoral History of Nalanda Constituency in Bihar

The current Bihar Rural development minister Shravan Kumar is the sitting MLA from Nalanda assembly seat which he won as a nominee of the JD(U) by defeating his nearest rival Arun Kumar of the Rashtriya Janata Dal (RJD) by a margin of 21037 votes in the last general assembly elections in Bihar in 2010.

In that election, Shravan Kumar, who has been representing the seat since 1995, polled 58067 votes, the RJD candidate received 37030 votes and was followed by independent candidate Jagdish Prasad who secured 7433 votes. The Congress which had won only four seats in 2010 had nominated Dileep Singh who came fourth with just 3443 votes.

In both the elections in 2005 Shravan Kumar had defeated Ram Naresh Singh of the Forward Block. Ram Naresh Singh had earlier won the seat in 1980 and 1990 as independent. Shyam Sundar Prasad had claimed the Nalanda assembly seat for the Congress in 1977 and 1985. It is worth mentioning that Bihar went to the assembly polls twice in 2005 because the earlier one held in February threw hung assembly necessitating the holding of the second assembly polls in the month of November of the same year.

Nalanda is one of the seven assembly constituencies located in the district of the same name in Bihar. Islampur, Rajgir, Asthawan, Biharsharif, Hilsa and Harnaut are the other assembly seats located in the district. While Rajgir is currently represented by the BJP, the rest are held by the JD (U) MLAs.

Nalanda is one of the seven assembly constituencies that combine to form the parliamentary constituency of Nalanda which is currently represented by Kaushalendra Kumar of the JD (U) who retained the seat in by a close margin of 9627 votes in the 2014 Lok Sabha elections by defeating Satya Nand Sharma of the Ramvilas Paswan led Lok Janashakti Party (LJP) which went to the Lok Sabha polls in alliance with the BJP. The Congress nominee Ashish Ranjan Sinha, backed by the RJD, was relegated to the third place.

Other six assembly constituencies that are parts of the Nalanda parliamentary seat are Biharsharif, Asthawan, Rajgir, Islampur, Hilsa and Harnaut.

Nalanda Assembly Election News 2015

Close fight on cards

Updated on : Sep-29,2015

BJP has fielded Koshalendra Kumar alias Chote Mukhiya for Nalanda seat. He will take on the incumbent Nalanda MLA Shrawan Kumar who is contesting on the JD(U) ticket. In Nalanda, the home district of Chief Minister Nitish Kumar, there is very close fight but NDA with an expected 48 percent votes has a slight edge over the grand alliance which is predicted to get 44 percent votes. While the good works of Nitish Kumar as CM were acknowledged by the voters, his decision to join hands with RJD did not meet the approval of most people in Nalanda.

Nalanda Assembly Election Videos 2015