Nabinagar Assembly Elections 2015

Nabinagar Assembly Election Candidates List and Results

Name of the Candidate Party Name Result
VIRENDRA KUMAR SINGHJanata Dal (United)42035
GOPAL NARAYAN SINGHBharatiya Janata Party36774
VIJAY KUMAR SINGHIndependent22053
MANJU DEVIBahujan Samaj Party17106
RAM ASHIS RAMCommunist Party of India2659
VIJEET KUMARIndependent1187
YUGAL KISHOR SINGHPragatisheel Magahi Samaj842
SHYAM CHANDRA YADAVBahujan Mukti Party786
ROHAN SINGHSamajwadi Party571
SHWETA DEVIAkhil Hind Forward Bloc (Krantikari)569
None of the AboveNone of the Above1710

Nabinagar Assembly Elections Schedule

AC No Category Poll Phases Last Date of Nominations Date of Polls Result
221 GEN Phase II Sep 21st 2015 Oct 16th 2015 Nov 8th 2015

About Nabinagar Assembly Election Constituency

Nabinagar is a legislative assembly constituency in the Aurangabad district of Bihar. It belongs to the Karakat Lok Sabha constituency. A total of 2,33,151 are eligible voters amongst them 1,27,426 males and 1,05,716 females. The Nabinagar legislative assembly segment comprises the Nabinagar Notified Area and Mahuaon, Tol, Ankorha, Thengo, Sonoura, Pipra, Rajpur, Belayee, Chandragarh, Naoor, Rajpur, Majhiyawan, Kerka, Bariya, Kanker and Simri Dhamni gram panchayats of Nabinagar community development block; and Barun community development block.

Electoral History of Nabinagar Constituency in Bihar

One of the six assembly constituencies in the Aurangabad district of Bihar, Nabinagar is currently held by Virendra Kumar Singh of the Janata Dal (United) who won it in the last assembly elections to the state in 2010 by defeating the sitting Lok Janashakti Party (LJP) MLA Vijay Kumar Singh alias Dabloo Singh by a margin of 11834 votes.

In that election, while Virendra Kumar Singh, a former Lok Sabha MP, polled 36860 votes, Vijay Kumar Singh received 25026 votes and was distantly followed by Archana Chandra of the Mayawati led Bahujan Samaj Party (BSP) who managed to secure 11850 votes.

Mritunjai Singh, who entered the contest on the Congress, was relegated to the eight position with 1868 votes.

Virendra Kumar Singh had earlier won the Nabinagar assembly seat in 1995 when he defeated the sitting Congress legislator Raghuvansh Prasad Singh who had won in 1980 and 1985. Virendra Kumar Singh, however, resigned the seat after his election to the Lok Sabha from Aurangabad Parliamentary constituency in 1996.

In the byepoll to the Nabinagar necessitated due to his resignation, Lovely Anand emerged victorious from the seat Bhim Kumar Singh of the Janata Dal who later went on to win the seat in 2000 and in the February 2005 elections on the ticket of the Rahstriya Janata Dal (RJD). Bhim Kumar Singh was defeated in the next assembly elections in November in 2005 by Vijay Kumar Singh.

Lovely Anand, wife of Anand Mohan, who was convicted for murder and is languishing in jail, had won the famed Vaishali Lok Sabha bypoll in 1994 by defeating Kishori Sinha, wife of a Congress Chief Minister Satyendra Narain Sinha.

In the earlier part of the electoral politics following the Indian independence, Nabinagar had sent Anugrah Narayan Singh and his son Satyendra Narain Sinha to Bihar legislative assembly.

Nabinagar is one of the six assembly constituencies that combine to form the parliamentary constituency of Karakat which is currently held by Upendra Kushwaha of the Rashtriya Lok Samata Party RLSP who had defeated RJD nominee Kanti Singh in the last general Lok Sabha elections in 2014.

Other five assembly segments that are part of Karakat parliamentary constituency are Dehri, Bikramganj, Karakat, Goh and Obra.

Nabinagar Assembly Election News 2015

Caste factor is vital

Gopal Singh from BJP will contest in Nabinagar. But he is facing a tough contestant in Veerendra Singh from JD(U). Initially, Manjhi's party HAM wanted Nabinagar seat for its candidate Lovely Anand. But BJP had already released the candidates which had upset the former Bihar CM Jitan Ram Manji. Caste factor and development issues will play critical role even as candidates hit the campaign trail with renewed vigour.

Nabinagar Assembly Election Videos 2015