Muzaffarpur Assembly Elections 2015

Muzaffarpur Assembly Election Candidates List and Results

Name of the Candidate Party Name Results (No. of Votes)
SURESH KUMAR SHARMA Bharatiya Janata Party Winner
BIJENDRA CHAUDHARY Janata Dal (United) 65855
SAYED MAJID HUSSAIN Samajwadi Party 1719
SURAJ KUMAR SINGH Communist Party of India (Marxist-Leninist) (Liberation) 1356
AJAY KUMAR Lok Awaz Dal 1226
ANAND MAHTO Independent 1038
DHANWANTI DEVI Independent 1007
ANAND KUMAR MAHTO Bahujan Samaj Party 908
RAMDHANI MAHTO Independent 643
SHIVNATH SAH Bajjikanchal Vikas Party 465
DEVANAND SINGH Independent 413
PRIYA RANJAN Sarvajan Kalyan Loktantrik Party 304
RAMESH KUMAR DIPU Garib Janta Dal (Secular) 288
AMAN KUMAR National Janta Party (Indian) 269
MANOJ KUMAR YADAV Gareeb Aadmi Party 264
RAVI RANJAN Rashtriya Samanta Dal 237
BIRJU KUMAR SAH Bahujan Mukti Party 236
AVINASH KUMAR Aap Aur Hum Party 227
ALOK KUMAR Bharti Samudaya Party 200
None of the Above None of the Above 800

Muzaffarpur Assembly Elections Schedule

AC No Category Poll Phases Last Date of Nominations Date of Polls Result
94 GEN Phase IV Oct 7th 2015 Nov 1st 2015 Nov 8th 2015

About Muzaffarpur Assembly Elections Constituency

Muzaffarpur is a district, a Lok Sabha constituency and a legislative assembly constituency. The legislative assembly segment of Muzaffarpur consists of Patahi, Bhagwanpur Majhauli Khetal, Madhubani gram panchayats of Musahari community development block and Muzaffarpur Municipal Corporation. A total of 2,68,689 people have the right to vote of whom 1,45,996 are males and 1,22,679 are female voters.

Electoral History of Muzaffarpur Constituency in Bihar

  One of the eleven assembly constituencies located in the district of the same name in Bihar, Muzaffarpur is currently held by Suresh Kumar Sharma of the BJP who won the seat in the last assembly polls to Bihar in 2010 by defeating Mohammad Jamal of the Ram Vilas Paswan led Lok Janashakti Party (LJP) by a massive margin of 46439 votes.

   In the 2010 election to Muzaffarpur assembly constituency, while Suresh Kumar Sharma, backed by Janata Dal (United), polled 36757 votes, his nearest rival, Mohammad Jamal received 25862 votes and was followed by rebel JD (U) candidate Vivek Kumar who entered the fray as an independent after denied ticket by his party due to the allotment of the seat to the BJP under the seat sharing arrangement and managed to secure a good chunk of 10786 votes.

  The Congress candidate Mayank Kumar was relegated to the fourth place with 3683 votes and forfeited his security deposit .He is allegedly involved in a murder case. Earlier Muzaffarpur assembly seat has been won by Bijendra Chaudhary four times (1995, 2000 and February as well as October/November 2005). While his win in 1995 came as a Janata Dal nominee, he won the seat in 2000 on the ticket of the Lalu led Rashtriya Janata Dal. His next two victories came as an Independent nominee.

  Bijendra Chaudhary, who contested the Kurhani assembly seat in 2010 on the ticket of the LJP, was defeated by Manoj Kumar Singh of the Janata Dal (United) by a close margin of 1570 votes. He unsuccessfully contested the Muzaffarpur Lok Sabha seat in the last parliamentary elections in 2014 on the ticket of the Janata Dal (United).

  Muzaffarpur seat went in favour of the Congress last time in 1990 when its then sitting MLA Raghunath Pandey was elected from the constituency for the third time in a row. Raghunath Pandey was a former Bihar minister.Muzaffarpur is one of the six assembly constituencies that combine to form the parliamentary constituency of Muzaffarpur which is currently represented by Ajay Nishad of the BJP who won the seat by defeating his nearest Congress rival Akhilesh Prasad Singh by a massive margin of 2, 22,422 votes in the 2014 Lok Sabha elections that elected the Narendra Modi government at the centre.

  Other five assembly constituencies that fall under the Muzaffarpur Lok Sabha seat are Aurai, Gaighat, Bochahan, Sakra and Kurhani.

Muzaffarpur Assembly Election News 2015

Voters may press NOTA

Updated on : Oct-9,2015

Vijender Chaudhary from JD(U) will take on the sitting MLA Suresh Kumar Verma from BJP in Muzaffarpur town constituency. Though being a traditional stronghold of JD(U), the electorate is upset over lack of basic amenities in this district with very little development taking place in these villages. Voters of more than a dozen villages in Muzaffarpur district have threatened to press NOTA (none of the above) button this election. They are protesting against lack of roads, bridges, electrification and other facilities in their areas. JD(U) had won seven out of 11 seats in the district in 2010 assembly.
But Nitish has sacrificed eight seats to its alliance partner RJD and fielded candidates only in Muzaffarpur town, Bochaha and Kurhani constituencies. NDA and the Mahagathbandhan are in direct contest in Muzaffarpur district. But the Third Front led by Samajwadi Party is expected to cut into the vote bank of Grand Alliance. The assembly seat of Muzaffarpur currently belongs to Suresh Kumar Sharma of BJP, who won 42,301 votes in the assembly elections held in 2010. He beat his closest competitor, LJP's Mohammad Jamal, by a whopping 46,439 votes.

Muzaffarpur Assembly Election Videos 2015